mission is to prevent commercial motor vehiclerelated fatalities and injuries.

2001: On January 25, Norman Mineta became the fourteenth Secretary of Transportation.

2001: On November 19, President George W. Bush signed law the Aviation and Transportation Security Act, which, among other things, created the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) within DOT. TSA subsequently became part of the new Department of Homeland Security.

2003: On June 10, Secretary Mineta announced the selection of Russell G. Chew as the FAA's first air traffic organization (ATO) chief operating officer.

2003: The Coast Guard formally transferred from DOT to the newly-created Department of Homeland Security.

2004: DOT established the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration with DOT.

2004: On January 27, Secretary Mineta announced plans for a new, next generation air transportation system with expanded capacity to relieve congestion, prevent gridlock, and secure America's place as global leader in aviation's second century.

2005: DOT established the Research and Innovative Technology Administration within the Department of Transportation. The new organization incorporated the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, the Office of Research, Development and Technology, the Office of Intermodalism, the John A. Volpe National Transportation System Center, the Transportation Safety Institute, and the Intelligent Systems Joint Program Office.

2006: On October 17, Mary Peters became the fifteenth Secretary of Transportation.

2007: In the spring 2007, DOT moved into its new headquarters in Southeast Washington, DC.

2008: FAA issued a launch site license to the New Mexico Spaceport America. The 16,000-acre site is the first launch facility built for passenger space flights.

2009: On January 23, Ray H. LaHood became the sixteenth Secretary of Transportation.

2013: On July 2, Anthony R. Foxx became the seventeenth Secretary of Transportation.

Department of Transportation

Celebrating 50 Years of Service to the American Public



U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20590 855-368-4200

www.transportation .gov

"This Department of Transportation that we are establishing will have a mammoth task – to untangle, to coordinate, and to build the national transportation system for America that America is deserving of."

Lyndon B. Johnson

Key Dates in DOT History

1966: President Lyndon B. Johnson announced his intention to create a Department of Transportation in the January 12, State of the Union address.

1966: On October 15, President Johnson signed the Department of Transportation Act, which created the new cabinet-level Department of Transportation (DOT) with five operating elements: the Federal Aviation Administration (previously the independent Federal Aviation Agency); the Federal Highway Administration; the Federal Railroad Administration; the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation; and the U.S. Coast Guard.

1967: Alan S. Boyd became the first Secretary of Transportation.

1967: On April 1, the new DOT began full operations.

1968: The President signed the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act (P.L. 90-461), which authorized the creation of the Office of Pipeline Safety within DOT.

1968: DOT created the Urban Mass Transit Administration to carry out the mandates of the 1964 Urban Mass Transportation Act.

1969: On January 22, John A. Volpe became the second Secretary of Transportation.

1970: The Highway Safety Act authorized the creation of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration within DOT to improve motor vehicle and highway safety.

1971: DOT created the Transportation Safety Institute to assist DOT modal administrations in accomplishing their mission-related training requirements.

1973: On February 2, Claude S. Brinegar became the third Secretary of Transportation.

1973: Legislation ended the Coast Guard's Women's Reserve as a separate entity, allowing women to be eligible for active duty in both the regular Coast Guard and the reserves. The Coast Guard also opened up its officer candidate program to women, the first service to do so.

1973: President Richard Nixon signed the Federal-Aid Highway Act, which provided funding for existing interstate and new urban and rural primary and secondary roads in the United States. It also funded a highway safety improvement program and allowed, for the first time, states to use Highway Trust Fund money for mass transit.

1975: On March 7, William T. Coleman, Jr., became the fourth Secretary of Transportation.

1975: The Hazardous Materials Transportation Act expanded the range of hazmat regulation.

1975: Legislation signed by President Gerald Ford required that women be admitted to the service academies. The Coast Guard Academy accepted its first women for the class entering in July 1975.

1977: On February 1, Brock Adams became the fifth Secretary of Transportation.

1977: DOT established the Research and Special Programs Administration to oversee hazardous materials transportation, pipeline safety, transportation emergency preparedness, safety training, and transportation research and development activities. The organization received statutory authority on October 24, 1992.

1978: On October 12, the Inspector General Act established twelve federal offices of Inspector General (OIG), including DOT.

1979: On August 15, Neil E. Goldschmidt became the sixth Secretary of Transportation.

1981: On August 15, Drew Lewis became the seventh Secretary of Transportation.

1981: The Maritime Administration moved from the Department of Commerce into DOT.

1983: On February 7, Elizabeth Dole became the eighth Secretary of Transportation.

1991: The Urban Mass Transit Administration became the Federal Transit Administration within DOT.

1982: Among other things, the Surface Transportation Assistance Act authorized the creation of the Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program (MCSAP).

1987: On December 3, James H. Burnley, IV, became the ninth Secretary of Transportation.

1989: On February 6, Samuel K. Skinner became the tenth Secretary of Transportation.

1991: DOT's Urban Mass Transit Administration was renamed the Federal Transit Administration.

1992: On February 24, Andrew Card became the eleventh Secretary of Transportation.

1991: Among other things, the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act (ISTEA) authorized the creation of the Bureau of Transportation Statistics and the Office of Intermodalism within the Department of Transportation.

1991: DOT created the Intelligent Transportation System Joint Office within the Federal Highway Administration to oversee DOT's multimodal intelligent transportation research systems initiatives.

1993: On January 21, Federico Pena became the twelfth Secretary of Transportation.

1997: On February 14, Rodney E. Slater became the thirteenth Secretary of Transportation.

2000: DOT created the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Formerly part of the Federal Highway Administration, the new organization's