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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

A. Background 

This is the fourth in a series of reports on investigations of the laws that target the 
vehicles of driving-under-the-influence (DUI) offenders in an effort to reduce impaired 
driving, particularly while their drivers' licenses are suspended. Driving while suspended 
(DWS) by DUI offenders has become a major problem as more and more of these drivers 
fail to reinstate their licenses when they become eligible to do so. This has led to an 
increased interest in using vehicle sanctions as a way to deter or control the driving of DUI 
offenders. The first report covered the results of a survey on the use of impoundment and 
forfeiture laws by the states. The second report evaluated license plate sticker laws in the 
States of Washington and Oregon. The third report evaluated a vehicle impoundment law 
in California. This report evaluates the simultaneous implementation of an administrative 
license suspension (ALS)1 law and a vehicle immobilization law in Ohio. 

Ohio was selected for this study because it simultaneously strengthened two 
programs in September 1993 to help curb drinking and driving. The first program 
strengthened an existing immobilization law: vehicles were immobilized for 90 days for 
second DUI offenders and 180 days for third DUI offenders. In addition to those 
immobilization penalties for DUI offenders, the vehicles of individuals apprehended for 
DWS were immobilized for 1 to 2 months. The second program applied the ALS law more 
stringently by providing for immediate license suspension on the day of arrest for all DUI 
offenders. 

The simultaneous implementation of these two laws presented both an evaluative 
challenge and an evaluative opportunity. The challenge was to determine an analytic 
procedure that could separate the effects of these two laws. The simultaneous 
implementation was also an opportunity to evaluate the effects of both the ALS law and 
the immobilization law. This resulted in a three-phase study. The first phase analyzed the 
historical effects of the license suspension program that was in place before initiation of 
the new laws. The second phase evaluated the impact of the ALS law, and the third phase 
evaluated the vehicle immobilization law in two large suburban counties in Ohio. 

B. Research Design and Analysis 

Ohio's ALS and immobilization laws were both implemented on September 1, 1993. 
To evaluate these two pieces of legislation, the full driving record of every operator with a 
DUI or implied consent conviction between September 1, 1990, and August 31, 1995, was 
obtained from the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles' (BMV) driver files. This provided a 5­
year file of 43,718 drivers' records with 58,490 DUI offenses for analysis: 3 years before and 
2 years after implementation of the ALS and immobilization laws. These driving records 
contained the license status of the offender and four types of offenses: DUI and implied 
consent convictions, DWS convictions, moving traffic violations, and crash involvements. 
Three basic analyses were conducted: 

' The term "ALR" is typically used to describe this type of law although Ohio, like most states, suspends (ALS) rather than 
revokes the drivers' license. The Ohio term "ALS" is used in this report. 
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(1)	 Offenders were separated into two groups-those with licenses and those 
with suspended licenses-and monthly offense rates for each group was 
calculated and compared across months by paired sample tests. 

(2)	 Tarone-Ware and Cox Regression Survival Analyses were used for studies to 
compare recidivism of offenders before and after the application of the new 
laws. 

(3)	 A time series analysis was conducted to detect changes in offense rates 
before and after implementation of the new laws. 

C.	 Effectiveness of Traditional License Suspension Program 

Before implementing the new laws in September 1993, Ohio's laws provided for a 
typical suspension sanctioning program based on court-conviction information forwarded 
to the BMV. Comparing the date of suspension with the date of apprehension showed that 
suspension action was frequently delayed, often up to 4 months. Further, 40% of first 
offenders and 15% of multiple offenders were not suspended within 2 years of their offense. 
The relatively low rate of suspension actions for first offenders appeared to be related to 
the Ohio mandatory 3-day jail sentence, which became the basis for the locally developed 
weekend intervention program. Some courts used this to allow limited driving privileges as 
a probation requirement instead of traditional license suspension through the BMV. A 
comparison of the mean monthly offense rates for suspended offenders compared to fully 
licensed first offenders demonstrated that those who were suspended had significantly 
lower DUI, moving violation, and crash rates during the 36 months before initiation of the 
new laws. DUI rates were between 32% and 43% lower (from 1.80% to 1.12% for those with 
one prior DUI; from 2.95% to 1.67% for those with two prior DUIs; from 4.37% to 2.98% for 
those with three or more prior DUIs), and crash rates were 24% to 35% lower (from 1.30% 
to 0.99% for those with one prior DUI; from 1.29% to 0.93% for those with two prior DUIs, 
from 1.23% to 0.80% for those with three or more prior DUIs) for suspended offenders 
compared to fully licensed offenders. 

D.	 Effect of the ALS Law 

Ohio's ALS law has several strong features. First, it moves the date of suspension 
forward to the day of arrest so that there is an immediate loss of the driver's license subject 
to a hearing within 5 days. Second, it provides for significant additional suspension time 
for refusal of the breath test. First offenders who refuse a breath test receive a 1-year 
suspension compared to a 90-day suspension for having a BAC greater than the .10 limit. 
Second offenders who refuse a breath test receive a 2-year suspension instead of a 1-year 
suspension for having a BAC greater than the .10 limit. Finally, in separate legislation but 
concurrent with the implementation of the ALS law, a provision was made to allow the 
courts to add suspension time on top of the ALS suspension. 

Implementation of the ALS law in September 1993 significantly changed the timing 
and comprehensiveness of the imposition of the license suspension penalty. After 
implementation of the ALS law, 95% of both first and second offenders received the license 
sanction within a few days of their arrest. 

To determine the effect of immediate penalty and the increased comprehensiveness 
of its application, recidivism rates were compared for first and multiple offenders, 
beginning with the date of arrest before (September 1990 through August 1993) and after 
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(September 1993 through August 1995) implementation of the ALS law. Before the law, 
15% of the first offenders received a second DUI within 24 months of their arrest. After the 
law, only 5% of the first offenders received a DUI within 24 months of their arrest. 

For multiple offenders, the corresponding recidivism levels were 25% before and 7% 
after the law. Reductions were also observed in the number of offenders with moving 
violations. Before the ALS law, 20% of the first offenders had a moving violation within 24 
months of their arrest compared to only 9% after implementation of the ALS law. For 
multiple offenders, the corresponding figures were 28% and 15%, respectively. Finally, and 
most significantly, a reduction in crash frequency was observed for both first and multiple 
offenders. Before the law, 12% of first offenders and 14% of repeat offenders were involved 
in a crash within 2 years of their DUI offense. After September 1993, only 5% of first 
offenders and 7% of repeat offenders were involved in a crash during that period. 

A study was conducted of those in the general driving public who were arrested for 
a DUI for the first time. These drivers were not subject to license suspension or vehicle 
immobilization before their arrest. The number of such first-time arrests and convictions 
should reflect (1) the level of DUI enforcement and (2) the rate of DUI convictions or the 
general deterrent effect of the ALS law. The number of such first-time DUI convictions 
declined slowly over the 5 years (September 1990 to September 1995) but long-term trend 
was not affected by the implementation of the ALS and immobilization laws in September 
1993. This suggests that the reductions in recidivism noted following that date were not 
due to the level of DUI enforcement or conviction rate. No conclusion regarding the general 
deterrent effect is possible because the data for this study included only the driving records 
of individuals with DUI offenses. 

E. Effectiveness of Immobilization or "Vehicle Action" Law 

The Ohio Immobilization or "Vehicle Action" (VA) law2-which governs both vehicle 
impoundment and vehicle immobilization and license plate confiscation-was implemented 
on September 1, 1993, to be applied to multiple DUI offenders or DWS offenders who have 
been suspended for a DUI charge. Other license suspensions imposed by the BMV are also 
eligible for a sanction; however, these were not evaluated in this study. 

In some locations (e.g., Hamilton County, Cincinnati), the vehicle remains in the 
impoundment lot for the total length of the immobilization period. In other locations (e.g., 
Franklin County, Columbus), the vehicle may be released from the impoundment lot and 
immobilized with a club device on the offender's property. In these cases, the penalties 
imposed upon offenders-either pretrial or posttrial-can be impoundment only or a 
combination of impoundment followed by immobilization. 

Several elements of the law contribute to the overall impact of the legislation on 
DUI offenders. 

•	 Substantial vehicle immobilization (or impoundment): 30 days for the first 
and 60 days for the second DWS offenses, and 90 days for the second and 180 
days for the third DUI offense. 

2 In Ohio, the law is commonly referred to as the "immobilization" law, although it provided for vehicle impoundment, 
license plate confiscation, and vehicle immobilization. For brevity, it will be referred to as the Vehicle Action (VA) law in 
this report. 
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•	 Vehicle forfeiture penalty for the third DWS offense and the fourth DUI 
offense. 

•	 Immediate seizure of the vehicle upon arrest and holding the vehicle pending 
a hearing that must be held within 5 days of seizure. 

•	 Seizure of vehicle plates upon conviction. The plates are forwarded to the 
BMV and destroyed. 

•	 Prohibiting the sale (an amendment to the law) of the "offending" vehicle 
during the time between arrest and trial. Violators are blocked from registering 
another vehicle for 2 years. 

•	 A $100 immobilization fee, which is collected by the BMV and reimbursed to 
the police agency, the city, or the county government to help offset the cost of 
implementing the program. 

The specific deterrent effect of the VA law was evaluated in two large urban 
counties-Franklin County and Hamilton County-which presented contrasting methods 
of implementing the law. With minor exceptions, Hamilton County impounded offenders' 
vehicles for the full period provided by the law, and Franklin County transferred a 
majority of vehicles from a storage lot to immobilization on the offenders' property after an 
initial period of impoundment. Vehicle sanctions were not imposed on 25% to 50% of the 
eligible offenders in both counties, and DWS and DUI offenses were recorded on each 
offender's driving record. Therefore, it was possible to construct comparison groups to 
determine the effect of the temporary vehicle loss. Neither county had enough offenders 
whose vehicles were forfeited to permit an analysis. 

1. Franidin County Results 
The court-based immobilization coordinator in Franklin County provided data on 

the impoundment and immobilization periods. The driving records of 2,784 offenders 
eligible to receive these penalties between September 1,1993, and August 31, 1995, were 
analyzed to determine the effect of vehicle actions on DUI and DWS recidivism. Four 
periods were considered: the 30, 60, 90, and 180 days during which the offender's vehicle 
was impounded or immobilized and up to 23 months following return of the vehicle. The 
driving records of eligible offenders who received the vehicle penalties were compared with 
offenders who were eligible but did not receive a vehicle sanction. Both groups received the 
same driver's license and vehicle sanctions. In Franklin County, about one in four of the 
eligible offenders received the sanction generally losing access to the vehicle for the full 
time (30 to 180 days) provided by the law. 

•	 DUI AND DWS OFFENSES OF SUSPENDED DRINKING DRIVERS DURING IMPOUNDMENT/IMMOBILIZATION. DUI 

offenders as a group had a lower frequency of DUI and DWS offenses while their 
vehicles were sanctioned-that is, the vehicles were unavailable to them-than 
did comparable offenders who did not have their vehicles sanctioned. While the 
vehicles they were driving when arrested were inaccessible to them, the offense 
rates of the 820 DUIs with impounded vehicles were reduced: 65% (p=.002) for 
DWS offenses and 58% (p=.009) for DUI offenses, compared to similar offenders 
with no vehicle action. 

•	 DUI AND DWS OFFENSES OF DRINKING DRIVERS AFTER THE SANCTION . The frequency of DUI and DWS 
offenses was lower for the combined group of sanctioned offenders for up to 23 
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months after release of their vehicles from impoundment or immobilization.3 The 
DUI offense rate was reduced by 35% (p=.014) and the DWS rate by 42% 
(p=.028). 

2.	 Hamilton County Results 
In Hamilton County, the records of 3,582 DUI and DWS offenders eligible for a 

vehicle sanction between September 1, 1993, and August 31, 1995, were divided into two 
groups. One group had received the impoundment penalty, and one group had not. As in 
Franklin County, two periods were considered: (1) the during-sanction period, that is, 
while the vehicle was impounded and (2) after-sanction period, that is, after the vehicle 
was returned or at the end of the sanction period. 

•	 DUI AND DWS OFFENSES OF SUSPENDED DRINKING DRIVERS DURING IMPOUNDMENT. DUI and DWS offenses 

were 60% lower (p=.001) among the 880 offenders whose vehicles were 
impounded during the sanction period than comparable offenders whose vehicles 
were not impounded. 

•	 DUI AND DWS OFFENSES OF DRINKING DRIVERS AFTER THE SANCTION . Sanctioned offenders had 56% 
fewer (p=.001) DUI and 39% fewer DWS offenses (p=.047) following the return of 
their vehicles' than did comparable offenders whose vehicles were not 
sanctioned. 

F.	 Major Findings 

Overall, there were three major findings in this study: 

1.	 License suspension compared to full license privileges for DUI offenders was 
found to reduce the rate of DUI offenses, moving violations, and crashes. DUI 
rates were 38% to 43% lower and crash rates were 24% to 35% lower for 
offenders whose licenses were suspended compared to offenders who had full 
license privileges. 

2.	 Ohio's ALS law resulted in an earlier license suspension and a significant 
increase in the number of offenders receiving license suspension. Overall, once 
the license suspension law was in place, 95% of both first and multiple DUI 
offenders received a license action within a few days after their arrest. 

3.	 A significant portion of the reduction in offense and crash rates for multiple DUI 
offenders may be attributed to the vehicle sanctions. Though shorter than the 
license suspension period (90 days for second offenders and 180 days for third 
offenders), these sanctions were found to reduce recidivism while vehicles were 
impounded or immobilized by as much as 50% to 60%. However, in both 
counties, only 30% to 50% of the multiple offenders received vehicle sanctions. 
The extent of use elsewhere in the State is unknown. The data from Franklin 
and Hamilton Counties, however, indicate that a more significant reduction in 
multiple offender recidivism could be achieved if the VA law were applied to all 
offenders as specified in the law. 

'Some vehicles in both counties were not returned because they were abandoned by their owners. The end of the specified 
sanction period was used to compare the after-sanction period with the during-sanction period. 
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G.	 General Recommendations 

1.	 License suspension effectively reduces offenses and crashes among convicted 
DUIs. It should be applied as broadly as possible to all drivers convicted of 
driving while impaired. 

2.	 Immediately after an arrest for a DUI is a high-risk period for impaired driving. 
Therefore, the period between an arrest and a license suspension should be 
minimized. 

3.	 ALS is an important way to achieve recommendations 1 and 2. An effective ALS 
law should have two important features. 

(a) The suspension should begin as soon as possible after an apprehension. 

(b) The suspension period for a breath-test refusal should be considerably 
longer than for a breath-test that is greater than the limit. 

4.	 Vehicle impoundment and immobilization greatly enhance the effectiveness of 
license suspension and should be applied to multiple offenders and those who 
drive while suspended because of a DUI offense. To be most effective, vehicle 
impoundment and immobilization should: 

(a) be initiated at the time of arrest when the vehicle is normally taken into 
custody to avoid a transfer of title or a situation where the police must 
search for the vehicle to apply the sanction after a court hearing; and 

(b) provide for holding a vehicle belonging to a nonoffender owner who knew 
or should have known that the driver was unlicensed (up to half of the 
offenders drive vehicles belonging to a third party at the time of their 
arrest), and, the offender found driving that vehicle again, the non-
offender owner should pay storage and towing costs and sign a quit claim 
deed forfeiting the vehicle to the local government. 

H.	 Summary Description of the Implementation of Ohio Vehicle Action Law 
(Appendix A) 

1.	 Inhoduciion 
The main body of this report evaluates the effect of Ohio's VA law on recidivism of 

DWS and DUI offenders. This evaluation indicates that impounding or immobilizing the 
vehicles of offenders reduces DUI and DWS recidivism both while vehicles are held by the 
state and, to a lesser extent, after vehicles are returned to the owners. Appendix A 
provides a more detailed description of the VA law-how it was applied in Hamilton and 
Franklin Counties-and recommendations for implementing the laws growing out of the 
Ohio experience. 

Implementation of the VA law varied between the two counties selected for study. 
In Hamilton County, vehicles were impounded for the full period provided by the law. In 
Franklin County, some offenders experienced a short period of impoundment after which 
the vehicle was immobilized on their property; others had their vehicles impounded for the 
full period provided by law. In both counties, the law was not uniformly applied to all 
eligible offenders for several reasons, some of which are discussed in the course of this 
study. 
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2. Implementation Issues 
NONOFFENDER OWNERS. Several issues arose for the implementation of the VA law in 

Franklin and Hamilton Counties. The law originally provided for immediately seizing and 
immobilizing vehicles owned by nonoffenders. Further, if it could be demonstrated that the 
owner knew or should have known that the offender was not licensed, yet gave the offender 
permission to use the vehicle, the law provided for impoundment of the vehicle's plates. 
Ultimately, the law's seizure provision for nonoffender owners was not enforceable because 
it was ruled unconstitutional by a U.S. District Court. A subsequent Ohio Supreme Court 
ruling upheld the District Court's decision but did not prohibit immobilization or forfeiture 
after conviction of the offender. 

VARIATIONS IN APPLICATION OF THE LAW. At the time of arrest, officers in some jurisdictions have 
the discretion to charge offenders under several local or State codes. Therefore, officers can 
charge an offender under a code that does not require the time-consuming procedure of 
towing and impounding that is required under the VA law. Further, delays in entering 
offenses on driving records may cause some eligible multiple offenders to be missed. Also, 
prosecutors sometimes reduce or dismiss cases to ease caseloads. Some prosecutors and 
judges interpret nonoffender owner involvement very narrowly while others do not. 

WORKLOAD ISSUES. The VA law creates extra work for those in law enforcement and 
vehicle administration positions. Police officers, for example, do a significant amount of 
extra work to seize and impound and then, later, club and unclub vehicles. Tracking the 
status of vehicles on "immobilization hold" in the police impound lots is also time-
consuming, though the $100 in immobilization fee helps to offset the cost of the extra 
personnel hours needed to implement the law. Another example is the court's staff. Not 
only are the prosecutors, bailiffs, and judges affected because immobilization cases require 
additional courtroom time for hearings, but also all court staff as these hearings create 
additional paperwork. Checking the computerized driver record system is also time-
consuming. The BMV staff also does additional work to collect and disburse the $100 in 
immobilization fee. An "immobilization coordinator," such as the one in Franklin County, 
can help with some of the administrative work. For example, a coordinator can track the 
status of offenders and their vehicles and communicate with the various police 
departments that carry out court orders on immobilization. Without such a coordinator, 
much of the additional paperwork falls to the clerks of courts and the staff in the police 
departments. 

COMMUNICATION IssuES. The logistics of implementing a VA law such as Ohio's can be 
cumbersome and confusing. The lines of communication and the flow of paperwork must be 
clearly defined. Also valuable are a task force or committee of key participants, a court-
based immobilization coordinator or an assigned immobilization police officer, standardized 
forms, and a technical handbook. 

VEHICLE STORAGE. The abandonment of impounded vehicles of low dollar value was a 
problem for both privately owned and police-operated impoundment lots in both counties. 
This problem was somewhat alleviated when pretrial or posttrial immobilization was 
allowed in Franklin County. Also helpful was an amendment that shortened the time from 
60 to 20 days for vehicle forfeiture if an owner failed to retrieve a vehicle. 

3. Recommendations for Implementation of Vehicle Sanction Laws 
•	 Vehicle sanction laws should include provisions for seizing the vehicle at time of 

arrest and holding it subject to a hearing and trial. This eliminates two 
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problems-locating the vehicle later and disposing of the vehicle by the owner 
before the trial. The court can provide credit for the time the vehicle was 
impounded before the trial. 

•­ Vehicle plates should be impounded and the vehicle should be either impounded 
or immobilized to help ensure that the vehicle will not be moved during the 
sanction period. A simpler system in which only plates would be impounded, 
rather than the vehicle, merits study. 

•­ The offender should be charged a fee to cover the extra work done by the police 
to immobilize the vehicle and by the courts to do the record keeping associated 
with vehicle immobilization. 

•­ Provisions should be made for expedited notice of vehicle seizure to nonoffender 
owners. This should be a requirement if the vehicles of nonoffender owners who 
knew or should have known that the offender was unlicensed are to be 
impounded. 

•­ Release of a vehicle to a nonoffender owner should be based on the signing of a 
quit claim that allows the vehicle to be forfeited to the State if the owner per­
mits the offender to drive it again before his or her license is reinstated. 

•­ Provisions should be made for recording the impoundment and immobilization 
dates of the vehicle on the offender's driving record so that the effectiveness of 
these laws can better be evaluated. 

•­ Immobilization and impoundment appear to be equally effective in reducing 
recidivism. The choice between these two methods appears to depend principally 
on the administrative and cost problems faced by the local government: 

- When large city or county impound lots are available, impounding may be 
the best sanction since towing and holding vehicles in a single location 
generally involves the least administrative complexity. 

- When holding facilities are limited, immobilization on the offender's 
property may be the least expensive approach for the locality despite the 
additional administrative burden of managing the transfer of the vehicle. 

•­ The offender's driver license status and record of prior offenses must be readily 
and easily available to police officers so they can determine whether to seize a 
vehicle at the time of arrest. 

•­ Only some offenders who are eligible for a vehicle sanction receive a penalty. 
Therefore, officials in each locality should determine whether the law is being 
applied uniformly at all levels of the system in their jurisdictions. 

•­ States implementing VA laws should establish rules in motor vehicle depart­
ments to prevent owners from transferring titles to their vehicles to avoid the 
penalty. 

•­ Motor vehicle department registration blocks for failure to pay fees should be 
placed on the offender as well as the vehicle owner. 
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•	 Jurisdictions implementing VA laws should create clear and direct lines of 
communication and paperflow using committees of key players, standard forms, 
and a technical handbook. 

This report contains five sections. Section 1 provides the background for this study 
and an overview of the Ohio administrative license suspension and vehicle action laws. 
Section II focuses on the importance of license suspension before the new law and shows 
how the ALS law increased the use of this sanction. Section III describes a comparison of 
DUI recidivism and moving violation rates and crashes of DUI before and after the ALS 
law's implementation in September 1993. Section IV addresses the effectiveness of 
different implementations of the VA law by two large urban counties in Ohio-Franklin 
(Columbus) and Hamilton (Cincinnati). Finally, Section V discusses the significance and 
limitations of the results of the studies and the implications of these findings. 

Supplementing this report are several informative and practical appendices that 
jurisdictions can use as guides to implement vehicle action programs. Appendix A 
describes the features of the VA law in Ohio in detail and the amendments that were later 
needed for smoother operations at the local level and for the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. 
This appendix also discusses other issues arising from implementation of the law including 
variations in application of the law, lines of communication, abandoned vehicles, increased 
workload, and public awareness. Case flow charts are included for each county to 
illustrate the logistics required for the impoundment and/or immobilization of vehicles 
when the order must come from a court. Table A-3 contrasts the different implementation 
procedures used in Franklin and Hamilton Counties when initiating their vehicle action 
programs. Other appendices include immobilization program forms (Appendix B), court 
entry forms (Appendix C), and informational brochures and materials (Appendices D and 
E.) 
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EFFECTIVENESS OF THE OHIO VEHICLE ACTION AND ALS LAWS 

1. INTRODUCTION 

This section summarizes previous studies of ALS and VA laws in Ohio. 

A. Background 

The participants at Traffic Safety Summit II (NHTSA, 1991) recommended 
investigating methods to make license suspension more effective by reducing the 
incidences of driving with a suspended license. To date, INCAPACITATION through license 
suspension has proven to be the most practical and effective sanction for protecting the 
driving public. Suspension has been shown to reduce the instances of driving under the 
influence (DUI) and, more importantly, crashes (Peck, Sadler, & Perrine, 1985). 
DETERRENCE through incarceration and fines has largely failed to reduce crash 
involvement of convicted DUI offenders because the severity of sanctions imposed by the 
courts on drivers who have not caused serious injury to others is limited (Voas & Lacey, 
1990). REHABILITATION through alcohol treatment programs has reduced DUI recidivism 
and alcohol-related crashes (McKnight & Voas, 1991; Wells-Parker, Bangert-Drowns, 
McMillen, & Williams, 1995). However, rehabilitation has less impact on overall crash 
involvement than license suspension that reduces both non-alcohol-related and alcohol-
related collisions (Peck, Sadler, and Perrine, 1985). DUI offenders are a greater risk to the 
public as has been demonstrated by their overinvolvement in alcohol-related crashes 
(Simpson, Mayhew, & Beirness, 1996; Hedlund, & Fell, 1995). Incapacitation through 
license suspension remains the most effective way to protect the public against the higher 
risk presented by those drivers who have been apprehended for DUI. 

The effectiveness of license suspension has been limited in two ways. First, a 
significant proportion of offenders have delayed or avoided suspension when imposed by 
the courts, either through delaying the adjudication process or through plea bargaining. 
This has led to the passage of administrative license revocation (ALS) laws that allow 
arresting officers to confiscate licenses at the time of apprehension. The police then 
forward them to the motor vehicle department where the process leading to license 
suspension begins immediately and is generally independent of the outcome of the judicial 
process. 

The enforcement of license suspension is a second problem. Police officers cannot 
determine if a driver is unlicensed unless they can stop a vehicle and require the driver to 
present a valid license. Under the Fourth Amendment to the Constitution, stopping the 
vehicle is a form of seizure requiring a reasonable suspicion that an offense has been 
committed. Thus, unlicensed drivers are apprehended only when they commit another 
offense or are caught at a checkpoint. Partially due to the low probability of apprehension, 
it has been estimated that up to 75% of DUI offenders drive to some extent while 
suspended (Hagen, McConnell, & Williams, 1980; Ross & Gonzales, 1988). 

Evidence that driving while suspended (DWS) is related to a perceived lack of 
enforcement comes from research in the States of California (Peck, Sadler, & Perrine, 
1985), Oregon and Washington (Voas & Tippetts, 1994), and New Jersey (Voas & 
McKnight, 1986). Clearly, despite the inconvenience associated with license suspension, at 
least half of those who receive suspensions for a drunk-driving offense do not reinstate 
their licenses when they become eligible to do so. In fact, many of them do not reinstate 
their licenses for some years (Voas & McKnight, 1986; Voas & Tippetts, 1994). Thus, 
suspended offenders continue to drive with relative impunity. This has led to passage of 
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legislation that attempts to separate the offenders from their vehicles by labeling their 
license plates or impounding their vehicles, thus preventing or limiting use of the vehicles 
(Voas, & Lacey, 1990). 

B. Prior Studies of Administrative License Suspension 

Currently, 39 states have ALS laws to protect the public by suspending the driver's 
license of a DUI suspect who refuses the BAC test or provides a test over the State's BAC 
limit. Two national studies and several State-level studies demonstrated that these laws 
have a general deterrent effect on the driving public as a whole, which reduces the number 
of alcohol-related ' fatal crashes in states. For example, Zador, Lund, Fields, and Weinberg 
(1988) found a 9% reduction in the number of drivers involved in fatal crashes during 
nighttime hours in eight States that had enacted ALS laws. Klein (1989) also reported a 
decrease of 6% in alcohol-related crashes in 17 States after they implemented ALS laws. 
Further, Ross (1987) reported a reduction of 5% to 9% (depending on measure used) in 
nighttime crashes in New Mexico after enactment of an ALS law; similar reductions were 
found in Minnesota and Delaware. The largest reduction of 41% in alcohol-related fatalities 
related to introduction of an ALS law was found in Oklahoma (Johnson, 1986). 

Though there is a large body of evidence that license suspension effectively reduces 
recidivism of DUI offenders, less evidence is available on the specific effect of adminis­
trative, as compared to court-ordered, suspensions for DUI recidivism. Stewart and 
Ellingstad (1989) studied the effect of 30-day-ALS suspensions on DUI recidivism in three 
States and found that the law reduced recidivism in two of the three States. More recently, 
in the Canadian Province of Manitoba, Beirness, Simpson, Mayhew, and Jonah (1997) 
found that an ALS law providing for a 90-day suspension reduced recidivism from 22.7% to 
12.8% over a 4-year period after a DUI offense. They also found that other traffic offenses 
were reduced and that the period between offense and trial was shortened as the offenders 
could no longer delay license suspensions by delaying adjudication of their offenses. 

C. Prior Studies of Vehicle Sanctions 

There is little information on the effectiveness of VA laws for reducing the 
occurrences of DUI or DWS when suspensions were related to a DUI conviction. A review 
of the use of these laws (Voas, 1992) indicated that States with impoundment and 
forfeiture laws have not actively enforced them or have applied them only to a small 
number of offenders. There are too few cases, however, to permit an adequate evaluation of 
this approach. It is probable that, in most States with such laws, drivers are unaware that 
they risk losing their vehicles for a DUI or a DWS conviction. However, the four VA studies 
of VA laws that have demonstrated positive reductions on offender recidivism are described 
below. 

1.­ Oregon and Washington Study. The States of Oregon and Washington 
enacted the "Zebra Tag" law that allowed law enforcement officers to take the 
driver's vehicle registration when apprehending a driver without a valid license. 
In each case, the driver was given a temporary registration certificate, and a 
striped ("Zebra") sticker was placed over the annual sticker on the vehicle 
license plate. This Zebra' Tag law was applied to about 7,000 offenders in 
Washington and 31,000 in Oregon, a large enough number to evaluate both the 
general and specific deterrent effects of these laws on illegal driving by convicted 
DUI offenders. In Oregon, suspended DUI offenders at risk of being "tagged" if 
caught driving were found to have fewer moving violations and accidents under 
the Zebra Tag law than were reinstated DUI offenders not at risk for DWS or 
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being tagged. In addition, those DWS offenders in Oregon who had their vehicle 
plates tagged had lower rates of DUI offenses, moving violations, and repeat 
DWS offenses than similarly eligible offenders whose vehicle plates were not 
tagged. This suggests that tagging the vehicle had a specific deterrent effect that 
reduced illegal driving. The law did not have a significant impact in Washington 
where it was applied to fewer motorists and was not as strongly enforced by the 
police (Voas & Tippetts, 1994). 

2.­ Minnesota Study. For several years, a Minnesota law allowed judges to 
confiscate the license plates of third-time DUI offenders, but relatively few of 
them used this method for controlling the driving of these offenders (Ross, 
Simon, & Cleary, 1995). Consequently, in 1991, the law was changed to provide 
for administrative confiscation of the license plates at the time of arrest. 
Rodgers (1994) evaluated this law and found that it reduced recidivism over a 2­
year period by 50% when comparing third-time DUI violators whose plates were 
confiscated with similarly eligible offenders who did not lose their plates. 

3.­ Canadian Province of Manitoba Study. Beirness, Simpson, Mayhew, and 
Jonah (1997) evaluated a 30-day (first-offense), 60-day (second-offense) DWS 
vehicle impoundment program and an ALS law in the Canadian Province of 
Manitoba that went into effect in 1989. The vehicle was seized at the time of 
apprehension for DWS and held for 30 days. The offender was required to pay 
the $264 (Canadian) towing and storage fee. They found evidence that DWS 
offenses during the 30-day impoundment period were reduced from 10.3% before 
the law to 6.3% after the law. Over the 4-year period following arrest, DWS 
recidivism was reduced from 40% to 29%. In addition, during the 30-day 
impoundment period, other traffic offenses were reduced from 8% to 3.2%. 

4.­ California Study. As part of the current series of NHTSA-funded studies of 
vehicle sanctions, DeYoung (1997) evaluated the deterrent effect of a 30-day 
vehicle impoundment law for unlicensed driving implemented in California in 
January 1995. Drawing records of DWS offenders from four cities (Riverside, 
San Diego, Stockton, and Santa Barbara), he compared the subsequent driving 
records of offenders whose vehicles were impounded with similar offenders 
whose vehicles were not impounded. He found a significant reduction in DWS 
offenses during the subsequent year for offenders whose vehicles were 
impounded: 18% for first offenders and 47% for multiple offenders. He also 
found substantial reductions during the subsequent year in traffic convictions 
(18% and 22% reductions) and crashes (25% and 38%) for first and repeat 
offenders whose vehicles were impounded, but these numbers did not quite 
reach the level of statistical significance. 

D. Overview of Current Study 

This is the fourth report in a series of NHTSA studies on vehicle action laws for 
DUI and DWS offenses. The first report was a national review of impoundment and 
forfeiture laws (Voas, 1992), which indicated that States were not actively enforcing these 
laws or were applying them only to a limited number of offenders. The second report 
(described above) studied the effectiveness of Zebra Tag programs in Oregon and 
Washington. The third evaluated the deterrent effect of California's impoundment law that 
went into effect in January 1995 (also described above). 
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This, the fourth report, covers ALS and VA (vehicle action) legislation in the State 
of Ohio. In September 1993, Ohio simultaneously implemented two laws to increase the 
effectiveness of license suspension to reduce the risk posed by those convicted of impaired 
driving (see Table I-1). The ALS1 law provided for the immediate suspension of the driver's 
license of a driver apprehended for DUI. The suspension began on the day of arrest and 
continued for 6 months for first offenders and 1 to 3 years for multiple offenders. The 
length of time a driver's license was suspended increased for some offenders under the new 
ALS law: for first offenders, from 90 to 180 days; for third offenders, from 1 to 2 years. The 
length of suspension for second offenders, however, was not changed. The VA2 law provided 
for license plate impoundment and immobilization of a vehicle driven by a multiple DUI 
offender or by a driver under suspension for DUI (see Table I-1 for additional applications 
of the law). 

This report describes an evaluation of both the ALS and VA laws with an emphasis 
on the effect of the vehicle immobilization law. To conduct this evaluation, the full driving 
record of every operator with a DUI conviction recorded between July 1, 1990, and August 
30, 1995, was drawn from the Ohio BMV license files. This yielded an analysis file of 
43,718 drivers with 58,490 DUI or implied consent convictions. These were separated into 
two groups: 31,231 drivers with 40,305 convictions offending before and 16,494 drivers with 
18,185 DUI or implied convictions offending after the September 1993 implementation date 
of the two laws. Included in these two groups were 4,007 drivers who committed DUI or 
implied consent offenses in both periods. Using this data, the effects of these new laws on 
DUI recidivism, moving violations, and crashes were determined by contrasting the driving 
records of DUI offenders apprehended before and after the new laws were implemented. 

1 The term "ALR" is typically used to describe this type of law though Ohio, like most states suspends (ALS)

rather than revokes the drivers license. The more common term ALS is used in this report.


2 In Ohio, this law is typically known as the "immobilization" law. However, since it provides for impoundment

of the vehicle and license plates as well as vehicle immobilization, this legislation covering vehicle actions will

be called the "Ohio vehicle action" (VA) law in this report.
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Table I-1

Highlights of Ohio Senate Bill 275 (ALS) and 62 (Impoundment)'


ADMINISTRATIVE DRIVER LICENSE SUSPENSION (ALS) PROCEDURE: 

•	 Officer makes an OMVI4 arrest and offers a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) test. 
•	 If the results exceed the legal limit of.10% or the violator refuses the test, then officer takes the offender's 

driver's license and suspension begins immediately. (If BAC is less than .10%, then no ALS.) 
•	 The Bureau of Motor Vehicles automotically suspends the driving privileges for: 

Refusal of Test Suspension Suspension Test .10% BAC or more 
let 1 year 90 days 1st offense 
2nd in 5 years 2 years 1 year 2nd offense in 5 years	
3rd in 5 years 3 years 2 years 3rd offense in 5 years 
4th or more in 5 years 5 years 3 years 4th or more in 5 years 

•	 This administrative suspension is independent of any jail term, fine or other criminal penalty imposed in 
court for an OMVI offense. Effective September 30, 1993, Sub. H.B. 377 increases the judicial license 
suspension for first-time OMVI offenders from 90 days to a minimum of six months upon conviction. 

APPEAL PROCESS: 

The court will hold a hearing within 5 days of arrest. If appeal is requested, it is heard at the time of the initial 
court appearance. The scope of the hearing is confined to four issues: 

•	 Was the arrest based on reasonable grounds? 
•	 Did the officer request the person to take a test? 
•	 Was the violator told what would happen if he/she refused or failed the test? 
•	 Did the person refuse or fail the test? 

LICENSE PLATE IMPOUNDMENT AND VEI-HICLE IMMOBILIZATION: 

Upon convictions, the court is required to order the impoundment of the license plates and immobilization of 
the vehicle that the OMVI offender was operating at the time of the offense. The penalities are as follows: 

OMVI	 Immobilization DUS6 for OMVI or FRA 
let offense no impdmt./immob. 30 days (immob. & impdmt.) 
2nd in 5 years 90 days (immob. & impdmt.) 60 days (immob. & impdmt.) 
3rd or more in 5 years 180 days (immob. & impdmt.) forfeiture 

VEHICLE FORFEITURE PROCEDURE (WITHIN 5 YEARS): 

Vehicle forfeiture shall be ordered by the court for: 
•	 Fourth offense of OMVI 
•	 Third offense or more of Driving Under Suspension (DUS) for OMVI or DUS for financial responsibility 

(FRA) 
•	 Second offense (ever) of owner knowingly permitting a person who is under suspension to drive a vehicle 

they own 
• First offense of driving a vehicle that is immobilized and plates impounded 
There is a provision for a court review to protect an innocent owner of a vehicle from vehicle forfeiture or 
immobilization/plates impoundment. 

3 Source: Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles ALS Handbook. 

4 Ohio uses the term "Operating a Motor Vehicle While Impaired" (OMVI) rather than the more commonly used term "DUI." 
DUI is used in this report.

5 Although not noted here, vehicle impoundment was required upon arrest pending trial, with credit given for days served

(see Appendix).


6 The term "DUS" (driving under suspension) is used in Ohio; however, in this report, we use the more common term "DWS"

(driving while suspended).


7 The vehicle forfeiture component of the program was not evaluated because there were too few cases for evaluation.
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II. Effect of License Suspension in Ohio 

This section evaluated the impact of driver license suspension in Ohio before the new 
laws and shows how the application of license suspension increased under the ALS law. 

Though up to 75% of DUI offenders continue to drive while suspended, this does not 
mean that license suspension ineffectively reduces recidivism and crash involvement of 
these high-risk drivers. In a survey of these drivers (Ross, & Gonzales, 1988), they reported 
driving less and more carefully. This was borne out by the lower recidivism rates 
demonstrated in studies comparing license suspension with other DUI sanctions (Nichols, 
& Ross, 1989; Peck, Sadler, & Perrine, 1985). Therefore, suspension apparently reduces the 
risk to the public presented by these offenders. Nonetheless, there is a potentially 
important limitation to this penalty. Many suspended drivers may be uninsured since they 
must demonstrate financial responsibility-an expensive process given that insurance 
companies normally increase premiums for DUI drivers-to have the license restored. 

An ALS law is effective with individual offenders only if license suspension reduces 
driving risk. In the present study, the extent of reduction in the driving risk due to license 
suspension was determined by comparing the DUI, traffic citation rates, and crash 
frequencies for two groups of DUI offenders. The first group comprised those suspended for 
an offense, and the second group comprised those not suspended (or those reinstated) for 
an offense. At any given time in Ohio and other states, thousands of motorists have recent 
(within last 5 years) DUIs on their records. Some are suspended, many of whom have 
chosen not to reinstate their driving permits even though they are eligible to do so (Voas & 
Tippetts, 1994). Several thousand offenders also hold valid licenses, either because they 
avoided license suspension or because they paid the fees and increased insurance cost to 
have their licenses reinstated. 

A. Delay and Limited Application of Suspension Sanction 

In Ohio (as in other States), before implementing ALS laws, traffic courts had the 
principal authority to suspend the driver's license. Drivers were given a ticket on which 
they could drive until the court acted. The court established the length of license sanction 
following case disposition and notified the BMV, and then they did the administrative work 
to suspend the licenses. The suspension period during the 3 years before the ALS law was 
as follows: for first-time offenders, 90 days; for a second- or third-time offenders, 1 year. 

Because license suspension depended upon court action, there was considerable 
delay between arrest for a DUI offense and implementation of the suspension sanction. 
Further, a sizeable portion of convicted offenders avoided license suspension through court 
programs that applied treatment and other sanctions instead of license suspension. The 
upper two lines of Figure II-1 illustrates the effect of using license suspension as a court 
sanction in Ohio for the 3 years (September 1, 1990 to August 31, 1993) before 
implementing the ALS law. This figure also displays the proportion of offenders who were 
not suspended by the end of each month following the day of their arrest for DUI. The 
Figure was constructed by determining the date of arrest for each person apprehended for 
DUI or an implied consent refusal for the 3 years (September 1990 to August 30, 1993). 
Then, the date upon which a corresponding license suspension was recorded was 
ascertained. The licenses of DUI offenders were picked up by the officers and forwarded to 

the court. 
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Figure II-1
Proportion of first and multiple offenders not suspended following apprehension

for DUI before and after ALS law
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Figure 11-2 indicates that some cases proceeded to trial within a month of the arrest
date; however, by the sixth month, just over half of the first offenders had received a
suspension. Even after 24 months, four in ten of these offenders had not received a
suspension. Apparently, some courts chose not to suspend first offenders as other sanctions
were being imposed (e.g., Ohio has a 3-day mandatory jail sentence for first offenders). In
some cases, limited driving privileges were made a part of the probation requirements,

 * 

even when no suspension was ordered. Since only those cases in which the driver is*

ultimately convicted of the offense are recorded on the driving record, those cases receiving
limited licenses but not convicted of DUI do not appear in this data set.

Suspensions were more likely for second offenders of whom eight in ten received *

their suspension within 6 months. Even here, however, 15% of the arrested offenders
avoided suspension during the 2 years following their arrest for DUI. Thus, license

 **

suspension was not applied to a significant segment of those apprehended for impaired
driving between July 1990 and July 1993. Moreover, for most DUI offenders who were
ultimately suspended, there was a significant delay of 1 to 6 months from the date of arrest
to the date on which the suspension became effective.

First DUI offenders were only suspended for 90 days; nonetheless, many of them did
not reinstate their licenses when eligible. Consequently, the actual mean length of
suspension was 862 days over 2 years. The significance of imposing even the relatively
short 90-day suspension on first offenders is shown in Figure 11-2 and Table II-1. In the 2
years following their arrest, first offenders receiving a suspension had fewer DUls than
first offenders not receiving a suspension. Thus, failure to suspend the licenses of first DUI
offenders increased the likelihood that they would become second offenders.
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Figure 11-2
Comparison of DUI survival curve for the 60% of first DUI drivers who were suspended

with the survival curve for the 40% who were not suspended
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Table II-1
Comparison of DUI survival curve for the 60% of first DUI drivers who were suspended

with survival curve for the 40% who were nQt suspended

Licensed Number Number Percent Tarone-
status Total Events Censored Censored Ware Sig

Not 11234 1864 9370 83.41 266.93
suspended
Suspended 14928 1243 13685 91.67 .000

Totals 26162 3107 23055 88.12

The drivers falling within these two groups-suspended and unsuspended-are
heterogeneous. Self-selection factors also play a significant role in the forming of group
membership. Nonetheless, comparing the offenses and crash rates of the two groups does
provide the State with a measure of the effectiveness of its VA laws and their application
in the two counties studied. Further, this information provides a tool to support allocating
resources to license suspension enforcement and vehicle immobilization and impoundment
programs.

B. Overall Effectiveness of License Suspension Before ALS

A subset of Ohio's driving records of licensed drivers convicted of a DUI offense **

 * 

between July 1, 1990, and July 1, 1993, was used to analyze the overall effectiveness of
license suspension in Ohio before the ALS law was implemented. The analysis included
only the offenses and crashes of drivers within 3 years of their index DUI offense. For this
study, drivers were entered into the analysis file in the month in which they had their first
DUI. Each month, all drivers in the analysis file were classified into one of two groups
depending on whether they were suspended or unsuspended (fully licensed) during that
month. When the license status changed, the driver was moved to the opposite group in the
following month.
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The percentage of each license status group-suspended and unsuspended-
committing a DUI or a moving traffic offense or being involved in a crash during each
month was determined. As the number of license record entries varied based on the prior
driving record, offenders in the two groups were analyzed separately by the number of
prior DUI offenses. The three DUI subgroups were those with one, with two, and with
three or more prior DUIs. The period from July 1, 1990, to July 1,1993, provided 36 paired
monthly samples for licensed versus suspended drivers for each of the three DUI
subgroups. These data where analyzed using a paired sample test for each of the three
dependent variables: DUI offenses, moving traffic offenses, and crashes. The use of the
paired sample test controlled for seasonal and long-term linear trends in the data.

Figure II-3 and Table II-2 present the results of the comparison of the monthly
percentage of drivers in the licensed and suspended groups committing a DUI or implied
consent offense. The results are presented separately by number of priors. As can be seen,
the average monthly rate of DUI offenses for the suspended first, second, and third
offenders is significantly (p<.001) below that of the DUI offenders who have full driving
privileges. The mean reduction in percentage of offenses (Table II-1) is 32% to 43% of the
mean level of offense for the licensed offenders. As would be expected, the average monthly
percentage of DUI or implied consent offenses is greater for the groups with more DUIs on
their records.  *
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 ** Figure 11-3
Average monthly DUI offense rate for licensed (dark bars) and suspended eight bars)

for DUI offenders with one, two, or three-plus prior offenses
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Table 11-2
Mean differences between licensed and suspended DUI offenders in 36 monthly DUI rates,

September 1990 through August 1993 before the implementation of ALS and VA laws In Ohio

Paired Differences in DUI offenses

Licensed-
Suspended
by # of DUIs

Mean
Difference over

36 Months

Std. Error
Mean

t df Sig.
(2-tailed)

1 DUI .00673 .00036 18.652 35 <.001

2 DUIs .01274 .00119 10.693 35 <.001

3 or more DUIs .01390 .00268 5.189 35 <.001

 * 

Figure II-4 shows the moving violation rates for the suspended compared to the
fully licensed DUI offenders and Table II-3 provides the results of the analysis of these

*

data. As with DUI offenses, the suspended offenders have a smaller (p<.001) average
monthly proportion of moving violations. They also have a smaller (p<.001) proportion of

 *

drivers involved in crashes as shown in Figure II-5 and Table II-4.

Figure 11-4
Monthly moving violation rate averaged over 36 months for licensed (dark bars)

 **

and suspended eight bars) for DUI offenders with one, two, or three-plus DUI offenses
 *

.0270 -w
La .o^ status

.0240 --------- - ------------------ • licensed-
® suspended

82 - ------------------------------0 .0210 -- Am ........................
U)  * .osos
c
0 .0180 - -----------
t+^0 .o^n -
0
.5 .0150 -----------
rn
c 35

.0120 -
E

.0090 -
c
0
E .0060
0
CD
L .0030 - -
T
f0 0.0000

1 DUI 2 DUIs 3+ DUIs

10



EFFECTIVENESS OF THE OHIO VEHICLE ACTION AND ALS LAWS 

Table 11-3 
Mean differences between licensed and suspended DUI offenders in 36 monthly moving violation rates,


September 1990 through August 19?3, before Implementation of ALS and VA laws In Ohio


Paired Differences in

moving violation frequencies


Licensed-­ Mean Std. Std. Error t df Sig. 
Suspended Difference Deviation Mean (2-tailed) 
by # of DUIs 

1 DUI .00590 .00383 .00064 6.112 35 .000 

2 DUIs .00645 .00464 .00077 8.339 35 .000 

3 or more DUIs .00700 .00866 .00144 4.846 35 .000 

Figure 11-5

Monthly crash rate averaged over 36 months for licensed (dark bars) and


suspended eight bars) for DUI offenders with one, two, or three-plus DUI offenses
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Table 11-4

Mean differences between licensed and suspended DUI offenders in 36 monthly crash rates, September


1990 through August 1993, before Implementation of ALS and VA laws in Ohio


Paired Differences In 
crash frequencies 

Licensed- Mean Std. Std. Error t df Sig. 
Suspended Differences Deviation Mean (2-tailed) 
by # of DUIs 

1 DUI .00312 .00243 .00040 7.714 35 .000 

2 DUIs .00354 .00355 .00059 5.979 35 .000 

3 or more DUls .00431 .00698 .00116 3.706 35 .001 

Figures II-3, 11-4, and 11-5 demonstrate that despite the fact DUI offenders continue 
to drive while suspended, they present a lower risk to the public than if they are allowed to 
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retain their full driving privileges. The effect is most marked, as should be expected, for 
impaired driving offenses; however, the reduction in DWSs also appears to result in fewer 
moving violations and crashes. The reduction in crashes, while not as large as for DUI 
offenses, is substantial, ranging from a fourth to a third. Given this apparent safety 
benefit, it would seem to be important to ensure that this sanction is applied uniformly to 
all DUI offenders. 

C. ALS Law Made License Suspension More Certain 

The Ohio ALS law is designed to reduce the lag in applying a license suspension by 
moving the suspension date forward to the day of arrest. It is also intended to make the 
suspension more certain by avoiding problems in Court prosecution and recordkeeping that 
can result in a failure to suspend the license of a DUI offender. The Ohio ALS law 
dramatically accomplished this purpose is clearly shown in the lower two lines of Figure II­
1. These two lines show the proportion of drivers convicted of first and multiple DUI 
offenses who remained unsuspended following their arrest after the ALS law was 
implemented in September 1993. During this "after" period, 95% of the arrested first and 
multiple offenders were suspended on the day of their arrest and 99% were suspended 
within 6 months of their arrest. Particularly interesting in these "after" ALS law curves is 
the suspension probability, which is essentially the same for first and repeat DUI 
offenders. Thus, after September 1993, the probability of being suspended if one were 
arrested for drunk driving was significantly increased, and the date of suspension was 
moved closer to the day of arrest. Section III evaluates the impact on this change in the 
timing and assurance of a license suspension. 
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III. Effect of ALS Law


This section evaluates the impact of the ALS law on DUI and moving traffic offenses 
and crashes of first and multiple DUI offenders. 

The previous section demonstrated that before implementing the ALS law in 
September 1993, many drivers arrested for DUI escaped license suspension. Even for those 
who received this sanction, there was frequently a delay of up to 6 months after the 
impaired driving arrest before their licenses were suspended. Implementation of the ALS 
law clearly changed this situation. After September 1993, 95% of both first and multiple 
DUI arrestees received a license suspension beginning on the day of apprehension, and 
99% were ultimately suspended (see Figure II-1). This section reports on a study using 
survival analysis to determine the specific deterrent effect of the ALS law on DUI offenses, 
moving citations, and crashes of first and multiple DUI offenders. 

A major reason most proponents have supported enacting an ALS law is for its 
general deterrent effect on the driving public as a whole rather than simply its specific 
incapacitation effect on DUI offenders. Both the studies by Klein (1989) and Zador, Lund, 
Fields, and Weinberg (1988) demonstrated such a general deterrent effect in statewide 
alcohol-related fatal crash reductions in States enacting ALS laws. This report does not 
assess the general deterrent effect of the combined ALS and VA laws. The data set used for 
this study is limited to drivers committing DUI offenses between September 1, 1990, and 
August 30, 1995, and does not include information on total alcohol-related crashes for the 
State during that period. 

Evaluation of the effect of the ALS law on offenses by convicted DUI drivers 
required a comparison of recidivism rates before and after implementing the law. 
Therefore, for this study, it was established that no other important changes in the law or 
criminal justice procedures that might effect recidivism rates were made. Three potentially 
confounding factors were identified that might contribute to differences in recidivism 
before versus after September 1993. First was the level of DUI enforcement. Second was a 
proposed change in the locus of adjudication of multiple DUI offenders. Third was a related 
piece of legislation: a new subsection to Ohio House Bill 377, implemented on September 
30, 1993, that enabled the Court to add a 3 months of suspension to the 3 months ALS 
suspension for first DUI offenders, for a total of 6 months suspension. Suspension time for 
third DUI offenders was also lengthened from 1 to 2 years. 

A. Level of DUI Enforcement 

As noted in Section I, all (58,490) DUI or implied consent convictions were extracted 
from the Ohio BMV between September 1990 and August 1995 for this study. The trend 
over those 60 months in statewide total monthly DUI convictions is shown in Figure III-1. 
There is a significant drop in the total DUI convictions between 1990 and 1993 (when 
monthly DUI convictions were between 1,000 and 1,300) and in the 2 years after 
implementing the ALS and VA laws (when DUI monthly convictions were between 700 to 
900). The question posed for the present research is "Does this change represent a 
reduction in the level of DUI enforcement effort or a change in the proportion of arrested 
drivers convicted by the courts?" Alternatively, "Can this be attributed to a reduction in 
impaired driving by drivers affected by the new law?" 

A partial answer to this question is provided by Figures 111-2 and 111-3, which show 
the number of arrests for drivers without a previous DUI separately from arrests of drivers 
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with one or more prior offenses. The two series show distinctive trends, with respect to the
time when the new laws were implemented in the fall of 1993. The trend in arrests of new
offenders without a prior offense shows a long-term downward trend over the 5 years of
data displayed. There is no indication of change when the new laws were implemented as
is confirmed by the data shown in Table III-1. The time series analysis using an interrupt
at September 1, 1993, shows no indication of a significant change for these first-time
offenders associated with the new legislation.

The lack of change in the first-time DUI offender monthly trend provides evidence
that the enforcement level and the conviction rate for DUI offenders did not change
significantly at the time that the ALS and VA laws were implemented. The incapacitation
effect of the ALS suspension occurs only after the individual has been apprehended.
Similarly, the VA law affected only offenders who were already suspended because of a

 * 

prior DUI or who were convicted of a second impaired driving offense. Only the general
deterrent effect (that is, the fear of immediate loss of license) inherent in the ALS law
would be expected to effect drinking drivers who have not yet committed a DUI offense.*

This lack of change suggests that the new laws did not have a major general deterrent *

effect on impaired driving by the public as a whole. However, this cannot be determined *

from the present data that include only the records of DUI offenders. Alcohol-related
 *

crashes of drivers without DUIs in the general public may have been reduced following the
ALS and VA laws.

The monthly conviction totals for drivers with one or more DUI offenses in Figure
111-3 shows a distinctly different trend. It rises during the 3 years (between September
1990 and August 1993) before implementing the new laws, and then falls sharply after the
fall of 1993. The increased incapacitation sanctions of the license suspension and vehicle
immobilization laws applied to these multiple offenders. Multiple offenders also showed a
significant reduction in monthly DUI offenses when the new laws were implemented. This
change is not likely to have been caused by a change in enforcement or in court procedures
as shown by the lack of change in the level of apprehension and prosecution of first-time
offenders.

Figure III-1
Monthly total DUI convictions In Ohio
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Figure 111-2
Monthly convictions for a first DUI offense of individuals from the general driving public
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Figure 111-3
Monthly convictions of all repeat DUI offenders In Ohio
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Table III-1
Results of time series analysis of monthly DUI convictions of first compared to multiple DUI drivers

 * 

raw 2-fall
b(coef) effect se(b) tval prob

first-time DUI drivers -0.0791 -7.6 0.0723 -1.094 .273

multiple DUI drivers -0.3599 -30.2 0.0356 -10.106 .000

2-tail
diff(b) effect se(diff) tval prob

multiple DUls relative to first-time offenders -0.2808 -24.5 0.0806 -3.485 .000
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B. Venue Change in Court Procedures

The new ALS and VA laws also changed the venue for adjudication of multiple DUI
offenders that could account for some of the decrease after September 1993. For example,
one element of the new legislative no longer allowed the Mayor's Courts (lower courts) in
Ohio to handle multiple DUI offenders. This change would be expected to result in a drop
in the number of multiple offender prosecutions in the Mayor's Courts after September 1,
1993, and, consequently, an increase in such prosecutions in the Municipal Courts (higher
courts). Another possibility is that cases could be delayed or plea bargained to a lessor
offense in the process. If this occurred, it might account for an apparent decline in multiple
DUI cases.

Fortunately, the State driver record data identified which Court adjudicated the
DUI conviction. By using these data, it was possible to study the trend in multiple DUI
convictions in both types of courts before and after September 1, 1993. As shown in Figure
111-4 and Table 111-2, during the 2 years from September 1993 to August 1995, there was
only a marginal, insignificant drop in the number of multiple DUI cases heard in the **

Mayor's Courts. At the same time, the Municipal Courts, which should have shown an
increase in multiple DUI cases, actually showed a significant drop in adjudicating multiple
DUI cases. This suggests that the transfer of cases from the Mayor's Courts to the
Municipal Courts did not effect the number of multiple DUI convictions from September 1,
1993, to August 30, 1995, the period covered by this study.

Figure 111-4
Venue of trials of multiple DUI offenders before and after Implementing ALS and VA laws
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1. Extended Suspension Time 
In addition to providing for a 3-month administrative license suspension for first 

DUI offenses, a follow-up House Bill 377 (effective September 30, 1993) allowed judges to 
suspend the licenses of first-time offenders for 90 days up to a minimum of 6 months if 
convicted. Effectively, this allowed the court to add a 3-month license suspension to the 
automatic 90-day suspension that first offenders received under the new ALS law, thus 
doubling the suspension period to 6 months. The length of the suspension period for 
second, third, and fourth DUI offenders did not change as a result of the ALS law; however, 
the length of suspension for third offenders was lengthened from 1 to 2 years. 

C. Effect of ALS on DUI Recidivism 

To measure the effect of the ALS law on the driving records of DUI offenders, the 
period beginning with DUI arrest and ending up to 2 years following arrest was compared 
for offenders arrested between 1990 and 1993 (the period before the ALS law) and 
September 1993 to August 30, 1995 (the period following the implementation of the ALS 
law). To help separate the effects of the ALS law from the effects of the VA law, first 
offense DUIs who were incapacitated only by the ALS law were analyzed separately from 
multiple offenders affected by both laws. Kaplan-Meier survival analysis, the most effective 
method for comparing reoffense rates before and after implementing the ALS and VA laws, 
was used. 

Table 111-2 
Time series analysis of conviction trends for multiple offenders in regular and Mayor's Courts 

Unstandardized Standardized

Coefficients Coefficients


Model B	 Std. Beta t Sig. 
Error 

REGULAR COURTS 

1(Constant) 398.044 10.818 36.795 .000 
month # .510 .501 .203 1.017 .314 
law -61.382 16.729 -.733 -3.669 .001 

MAYOR'S COURTS 

1(Constant) 58.471 2.951 19.814 .000 
month # -.102 .137 -.166 -.746 .459 
law -5.620 4.564 -.273 -1.231 .224 

Figure 111-5 and Table 111-3 provide separate survival curves and results of the 
Tarone-Ware Survival Analysis for individuals with one DUI offense and those with two or 
more DUI offenses before and after the law. From 1990 to 1993, first DUI offenders 
demonstrated an approximate 15% attrition rate during the 24 months following their 
arrest. After implementation of the ALS law, this attrition rate was reduced by almost two-
thirds, 5% over 24 months. The probability that such a large change could occur by chance 
is less than one in one thousand. For multiple offenders, the change was even greater. 
Before the law, during the 2 years following arrest, multiple offenders had a DUI 
recidivism rate of 25%. This was reduced to 7% after implementation of the ALS law. The 
curves in Figure 111-5 show that before the ALS law was implemented, relatively large 
numbers of first and multiple offenders committed other offenses in the 6 months between 
the arrest and the court conviction for the DUI offense. During this period, many of those 
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who were ultimately suspended remained fully licensed and free to drive (see Figure 11-4).
This freedom to continue to drive apparently resulted in high DUI reoffense rates.
Following application of the ALS law when the license was suspended on the day of arrest,
this early drop in the survival rate disappears for both the first and multiple offenders, and
reoffenses occur more gradually over 2 years.

Figure 111-5
DUI survival curves for first and multiple offenders before and after the ALS and VA laws

(Note rapid reoffense rates during first 6 months for the before-law groups corresponding to delay in
application of suspension shown In Figure 11-4.)
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Table 111-3
Tarone-Ware Survival Analysis for DUI offenses before versus after Implementation of ALS law

Number Number Percent Tarone- P
Offender Group Total Events Censored Censored Ware

Before law-1st DUI 28546
 * 

3441 25105 87.95 462.55 .000
After law-1st DUI 11028 472

*
10556 95.72

Before law-repeat DUI 5999  * 1226 4773 79.56 314.85 .000
After law-repeat DUI 3031 183 2848 93.96

Totals 48604 5322 43282 89.05

The issue arises as to whether the difference between the before and after
recidivism records is accounted for principally by this early 6-month period during which,
before the law, most offenders were free to drive or whether, if one considers only the
period following the initial 6 months, there is still a significant difference in recidivism
rates. Figure 111-5 shows that in the period beyond the initial 6 months, the curves for the
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"before" and "after" groups continue to diverge. A test of the significance of the differences
in survival rates after the initial 6 months was done using the Kaplan-Meier analysis
procedure. It demonstrated that the ALS and VA laws resulted in lower recidivism during
this 6- to 24-month postperiod after these laws were implemented.

D. Effect on Moving Violations

The driving records of DUI offenders apprehended before and after the ALS and VA
laws were also examined to determine whether the change in the timing and
comprehensiveness of suspension impacted the numbers of moving violations committed by
DUI offenders. Figure 111-6 provides survival curves for first and multiple offenders before
and after implementing the new laws in September 1993. Before, 20% of first DUI
offenders had a moving violation on their records during the 24 months following their DUI
arrest. After, only 9% of first offenders were cited for a moving violation within 24 months
of their DUI arrest. For multiple offenders, the moving violation rate in the 24 months
following arrest before the law was 28% compared to 15% after implementing the ALS and
VA laws. The Tarone-Ware Survival Analysis procedure demonstrated that these
differences were statistically significant beyond the one in one thousand level (see Table
111-5).

Figure 111-6
Survival curves for moving violations for first and multiple offenders before and after ALS and VA laws
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Table 111-4
Tarone-Ware Survival Analysis for moving violations before versus after Implementation of ALS law

Total Number Number Percent Tarone- P
Offender Group Events Censored Censored Ware

Before law-1 st DUI 28546 6144 22402 78.48 292.00 .000
After law-1st DUI 11028 1309 9719 88.13

Before Iaw-repeat DUI 5999 851 5148 85.81 97.39 .000
After law-repeat DUI 3031 199 2832 93.43

Totals 48604 8503 40101 82.51
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E. Effect on Crashes

In addition to moving violations, the records of individuals committing DUI offenses
before and after implementing the new laws were also examined to determine the number
of crash involvements during the 2 years following the initial DUI arrest. Figure 111-7
presents the survival curves for crash involvement for offenders apprehended before and
after September 1993. Before the law, 12% of first offenders and 14% of repeat offenders
were involved in crashes during the 2 years following their DUI offense. After September
1993, only 5% of first offenders and 7% of repeat offenders were involved in crashes during
that period. Once again, these differences were highly significant based on the Tarone-
Ware Survival Analysis with the probability of such differences being found by chance
being less than one in one thousand (see Table 111-6).

Figure 111-7
Survival curves for first and multiple DUI offenders before and after ALS and VA laws
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Table Ili-5
*

Tarone-Ware Survival Analysis for crashes before versus after implementation of ALS law
 *

Total Number Number Percent Tarone- P
Offender Group Events Censored Censored Ware

Before law-1st DUI 28545 3021 25524 89.42 121.48 .000
After law-1st DUI 11028 639 10389 94.21

Before law-repeat DUI 5999 480 5519 92.00 62.45 .000
After law-repeat DUI 3031 99 2932 96.73

Totals 48603 4239 44364 91.28

F. Discussion

This section has demonstrated that DUI recidivism, moving violation rates, and
crash involvements decreased for DUI offenders after implementing Ohio's ALS and VA
laws. These relative decreases were quite large, running from one-third to two-thirds of the
prelaw rates. In every comparison, the reduction in the offense or crash rate is significant
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at beyond the one in one thousand level. The offense and crash reductions observed for first 
DUI offenders can probably be attributed principally to the ALS law because the VA law 
did not apply to first DUI offenders. However, the VA law may have had some effect on 
these first offenders based on their perceived risk of having their vehicles impounded if 
they received a second DUI or were apprehended driving while suspended. The proportions 
of offense and crash reductions for multiple offenders were slightly larger, perhaps because 
these offenders were subject to the VA law as well as the ALS law. For neither first nor 
multiple offenders is it possible to completely separate the effects of the two laws. 

In comparing the attrition rates for DUI offenses with the rates for moving 
violations and crashes (see Figures 111-5, 111-7, and 111-8), multiple offenders have lower 
DUI survival rates but higher moving violation and crash survival rates than first 
offenders. This is probably a reflection of the more severe drinking problem status of the 
multiple DUI offenders that makes DUI offenses more likely. Moving violations and 
crashes, on the other hand, are a more direct result of driving exposure. Since first 
offenders were suspended for a shorter period and were not affected by the VA law, some 
were probably reinstated and, thus, were free to drive more than multiple offenders in the 
2 years following their DUI arrest. 

The ALS law moved the date of suspension forward for these offenders and reduced 
from 15% to less than 2% the proportion remaining unsuspended at the end of 2 years. 
However, as described in the following sections, the VA law was also applied at the time of 
arrest. The vehicle was seized and held for a minimum of 5 days pending a hearing. 
Further, the vehicle could continue to be held under the VA law until a trial. The results 
indicate that the VA law had an effect on recidivism of the multiple offenders who received 
the sanction. However, only some offenders who were eligible for sanction actually had 
their vehicles impounded or immobilized. An important factor in considering the evidence 
in Section V on the effectiveness of vehicle immobilization is that all multiple offenders 
receiving that sanction had suspended licenses because the minimum suspension for 
multiple offenses was 1 year. Further, after implementing the new laws, 98% of multiple 
offenders received that suspension. The vehicle sanction, 90 to 180 days for DUI offenders, 
occurred within the 1-year suspension, so this penalty was in addition to the suspension 
imposed under the ALS law. 
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IV. EFFECT OF OHIO VA LAW


This section describes a comparison of DUI recidivism and moving violation rates 
and crashes of DUI before and after the ALS law's implementation in September 1993. 

Under the new laws implemented September 1, 1993, drivers arrested for DUI not 
only lost their driving privileges immediately under the ALS law, but some offenders also 
had their vehicles towed and impounded or immobilized at the time of arrest. Those subject 
to the VA law were multiple DUI offenders and, if suspended for DUI, first and multiple 
DWS offenders (see Figure II-1). The vehicle was held for at least 5 days pending a 
hearing. Following the hearing, the vehicle might be released pending trial, but in most 
cases continued to be impounded or was immobilized for the period provided by law. Since 
all of the drivers eligible to receive this sanction were suspended for at least 1 year, the 
vehicle action occurred during the time the offender's license was suspended. 

A significant impediment to studying the effect of the Ohio VA law was that, while 
the notice of the offense was recorded, the vehicle impoundment sanctions were not 
recorded on the State driver's file. Therefore, whether the offender was sentenced to a 
vehicle action sanction had to be obtained from local court records. Then, the record had to 
be traced to the local police department to determine if the sanction was carried out and, if 
so, the dates of immobilization. Because these local data were required, a statewide study 
was beyond the resources of this research project; therefore, the evaluation was limited to 
two large urban counties. 

Studies were conducted in two Ohio counties, Franklin (Columbus) and Hamilton 
(Cincinnati), on the effect of that law.8 This section evaluates the results of those two 
studies. Each study was independent-Hamilton County served as a replication of the 
study in Franklin County. As described in the Appendix A, the two counties implemented 
the VA law using different methods. Hamilton County used only vehicle impoundment, and 
Franklin County initially impounded and then transferred the vehicle to immobilization on 
the offender's property. The effect on the offenders whose vehicles were impounded or both 
impounded and immobilized was essentially the same: loss of the use of the vehicle for 30 
to 180 days. 

In court systems, the application of law varies to some extent among prosecutors 
and judges. In Franklin and Hamilton Counties, some offenders who were eligible for a 
vehicle penalty under the VA law were not sanctioned (see Appendix A). Further, 
personnel limitations and backlogs in the data system sometimes resulted in failure to 
impound eligible vehicles at the time of arrest. Finally, after a U.S. District Court decision 
in April 1995, many vehicles registered to someone other than the offender did receive the 
VA sanction (see Appendix A). 

Because not all eligible offenders received the vehicle sanction, it was possible to 
compare eligible offenders whose vehicles were impounded or immobilized with similarly 
eligible offenders who escaped this sanction. Since the offenders were not assigned to these 
two groups at random, it was necessary to use demographic and driving record data to 
equate the groups through covariate analysis. 

8 Court and police data were collected only on offenders processed by the larger municipal courts in each 
counties. Eligible offenders processed through the lower "Mayor's" Courts of small communities within the 
county were not included. 
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A. Research Methods 

As noted in Section I, through the cooperation of the Ohio BMV, the driving records 
of State residents who were cited with DUI offenses between January 1, 1990, and 
September 1, 1995, were extracted from the State's driver record file for analysis. Studies 
of the VA law made use of the pool of records of the 16,494 drivers who committed a total of 
18,185 DUIs in the 2 years following the implementation of the ALS and VA laws. From 
this data set, drivers' records in Franklin and Hamilton Counties were matched with court 
records obtained for Franklin and Hamilton County residents who were charged with a 
second or third DUI or with a first or second DWS offense between September 1, 1993, and 
September 1, 1995. Where the court record indicated that an offender's disposition 
included a vehicle sanction, the police department record of the impoundment or 
immobilization was obtained. 

DUI offenders who were subject to vehicle forfeiture were not included in the study 
because there were insufficient cases to provide the statistical power needed for a valid 
analysis. Financial Responsibility Assurance (FRA) and wrongful entrustment offenders 
were also subject to having their vehicles impounded. Here again, however, there were too 
few cases to study. Thus, the State driver's record for each subject in Franklin or Hamilton 
Counties was merged with his or her court record. Where a VA law order was issued, the 
case was merged with the local police records to verify that the vehicle driven by the 
offender had actually been impounded and/or immobilized. (In Franklin County, the 
records of the court-based immobilization coordinator were used to verify immobilization.) 

Data for this study were collected over 2 years-from September 1, 1993 (the date 
the law went into effect) to September 1, 1995. The length of time that postoffense driving 
records could be followed varied with the date of offense. Those who offended in the fall of 
1993 were tracked for 2 years, up to 23 months or more after the sanction period. Those 
who offended late in the study did not complete their sanction periods by the September 1, 
1995, cutoff date. Driver records were not drawn from the BMV until November 1995 so 
that court actions occurring through August of that year could be posted to the drivers' 
records. 

The proportion of eligible offenders in each county who received a vehicle sanction is 
shown in Tables IV-1 and IV-2. In Franklin County, only one in four of the DWS offenders 
who were eligible to receive a penalty actually had their vehicles impounded and/or 
immobilized. The proportion of DUI offenders receiving the penalty was somewhat 
higher-between 30% and 40%. Compared to Franklin County, Hamilton County DWS 
offenders were almost three times more likely to receive a vehicle sanction, while a 
somewhat larger portion of the DUI offenders had their vehicles impounded. 

In each county, a large majority of the vehicles seized under the VA law were held 
for the full period provided by the law. One exception to this generalization was first DWS 
offenders in Hamilton County. Nearly a third of the first DWS offenders served less than 
half the 30-day impoundment period. Despite this, the average length of the exposure 
period (shown in the next to last line of Table IV-2) for these first offenders was 29.6 days, 
almost equal to the minimum 30-day sentence, because many offenders delayed retrieving 
their vehicles beyond the 30 days. 
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Table IV-1

DUI and DWS offenders receiving the vehicle impoundment/immobilization (VIII) sanction


in Franklin County between September 1, 1993, and September 1, 1995


1 2Ad DYA 2 d .Ui 3rd Dul 

Eligible 589 90 1,649 456 

Received sanctions 136 21 685 134 

% sanctioned (23.1) (23.3) (41.5) (29.4) 

Period of sanction 30 days 60 days 90 days 180 days 

Served < 1/2 1 0 23 9 

Served '/2 to 3/4 4 2 18 10 

Full Period 131 19 644 115 

Avg. exposure 
during sanction 

29.5 days 58.0 days 87.3 days 167.5 days 

Avg. exposure after 
sanction 

360 days 421 days 367 days 329 days 


Table IV-2
DUI and DWS offenders receiving the vehicle Impoundment sanction In

Hamilton County between September 1, 1993, and September 1, 1995


Eligible 1129 275 1503 675 

Received 
sanctions 

675 205 533 347 

% sanctioned 59.8 74.5 35.5 51.4 

Period of sanctions 30 days 60 days 90 days 180 days 

Served < 1/2 206 38 95 72 

Served '/2 to 3/a 57 17 11 34 

Full Period 412 150 427 241 

Avg. exposure 
during sanction 

29.6 days 61.2 days 94.7 days 180.9 days 

Avg. exposure 
after sanction 

400 days 361 days 345 days 334 days 

The average length of driving exposure when the vehicle was impounded or 
immobilized and the average period of exposure after the offender retrieved his or her 
vehicle is shown in the lower two lines of Tables IV-1 and IV-2. These are the periods 
during which repeat DUI and DWS offenses were analyzed for each offender group using 
survival analysis. The power of these analyses depended upon both the number of 
offenders in each group studied and the average length of time in which a subsequent 
offense could occur. Thus, for example, the shorter impoundment periods (30 and 60 days) 
for DWS offenders made it less likely that reductions in recidivism would be detected than 
for those with longer impoundment periods (90 to 180 days) imposed DUI offenses. 
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The average period of exposure while the vehicle was impounded or immobilized 
was about equal to the sentence length (30, 60, 90, or 180 days) in both counties. Thus, the 
statistical power to detect a change in the offense rate during the sanction period was a 
function of both the length of the sanction period and the number of offenders receiving the 
penalty. On the other hand, the average period of exposure following the return of the 
vehicle was relatively even for all groups in both counties (about 1 year). Therefore, the 
most important determinant of power for detecting change during the after-sanction period 
was the number of cases in the group. 

B. Data Analysis 

Survival analysis is the method of choice for determining differences in recidivism 
(Lee, 1992). It uses all the subject days available for analysis in the study database, 
thereby generally providing the greatest statistical power to detect change. It also allows 
comparison of rates as they change over the entire length of exposure, as opposed to one 
discrete, fixed period of exposure. In the recidivism example, one can test the survival (or 
hazard) rates of groups given different sanctions or against the rates of a baseline 
comparison group. 

Two survival analysis procedures were used in the present study: Cox Regression 
and the Kaplan-Meier (1958). Both analytic techniques allowed for separate baseline 
survival/hazard functions for each of the four sanction groups (first DWS, second DWS, 
second DUI, third DUI) or strata, and the effect of the action (impoundment and/or 
immobilization versus neither) can be tested-either pooled across the four separate groups 
or separately within groups. 

The Kaplan-Meier method has one limitation. Unlike Cox Regression, it does not 
permit the use of covariates beyond a single stratification to adjust for prior differences 
between groups or to explain individual variation within groups in survival times or rates. 
Because random assignment was not possible, Cox Regression was used, in addition to the 
Kaplan-Meier procedure, to permit the application of covariates for age, gender, and prior 
record. In the current study, these two analytical methods yielded similar results. 

Kaplan-Meier is an analysis of the difference between or among survival 
distributions across time. Unlike Cox Regression, it does not assume that the distribution 
for one group (or level of a factor) is a constant proportion of the survival distribution of 
another group throughout the period analyzed. The Kaplan-Meier test only determines if 
they are different. The two curves being compared may actually cross, with one having 
lower survival rates at first but then higher survival rates later, yet they still test out as 
statistically different. As such, it is analogous to a nonparametric test for categorical 
differences in that a significant result does not necessarily indicate that one is consistently 
or even generally higher than the other. 

For this reason, it is difficult to produce an estimate of effect size or a summary 
measure of the difference in survival over time. A Kaplan-Meier result that shows the two 
survival curves as different does not provide a measure of how much higher (or lower) one 
group is than another despite a significant result. To provide comparable measures that 
are frequently reported in traffic safety literature, the cumulative recidivism rate at a fixed 
point in time into the survival distribution, rather than across-time summaries (such as a 
ratio of areas under the recidivism curves), are reported in the present study. 

In choosing the time point at which to `slice' into the survival functions to compute 
the rates, it is important to ensure that a relatively high percentage of the cases of that 
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group have not yet been censored since the standard error (and volatility) of the functions 
increases toward the end of the functions as fewer cases remain. For the period of vehicle 
impoundment or immobilization, most cases had available exposure at least as long as the 
prescribed length of the sentence for that group. Therefore, at the end of these survival 
functions (30, 60, 90, and 180 days), the cases with exposure are still very high (80-90%). 
Within a few days of that point, nearly all sanctioned offenders came off the sanction, so all 
subjects were censored at 30, 60, 90, or 180 days. Therefore, the rates for recidivism during 
the sanction period are based upon the cumulative survival functions at these termination 
points of the sanction periods. 

For the period after the sanction, the deterioration of group sample size began early, 
and the attrition rate increased over time. Approximately half of the subjects in each group 
ran out of exposure by 12 months. By 18 months, only 5% to 20% of the subjects remained, 
making the curves increasingly susceptible to large changes caused by single events. For 
this reason, the rates reported in Tables IV-3 and IV-4 are based on the point in time 12 
months after the end of the vehicle sanction. 

There are three test statistics available for Kaplan-Meier analysis, which differ 
primarily in how they weight the time points of the survival functions. The Log-Rank 
statistic weights all time points equally, and the Breslow and Tarone-Ware statistics 
weight each time point relative to the proportion of cases in the group that are uncensored 
at that time point. This method is preferable when the number of sample size changes so 
much as to make later time points less reliable, as happens in the postsanction period in 
this study. The Tarone-Ware statistic, which we used in our analysis, weights each time 
point by the square root of the number of uncensored cases remaining at the beginning of 
that time point. 

Cox Regression uses models that assume the groups (or factor levels) being 
compared are based on a single underlying baseline survival function and vary among 
themselves in proportions of this baseline function, which proportions are constant over 
time. In other words, the relationship between two groups' (vehicle sanction/no vehicle 
sanction) recidivism rates are assumed to be the same over time. Because of this 
assumption, Cox Regression is able to produce a single summary measure that estimates 
how much higher (or lower) the survival rates are over time than those of another group, in 
a form similar to an odds ratio. Cox Regression also allows for the inclusion of other factors 
and covariates in the model, to explain more of the between-subject variation in survival 
time and to render groups equivalent via covariate adjustment, if necessary. The 
significance of each parameter coefficient in the Cox Regression model is tested via the 
Wald statistic. The effect sizes reported in the tables are derived from the antilogs of the 
coefficient (eB) for the vehicle sanctioned group, which estimate the proportional 
relationship over time to the comparison group's function. 

Both Cox Regression and Kaplan-Meier analyses are important in this study. The 
former is necessary because some comparison groups appear to be different from the 
vehicle sanction groups historically in terms of prior DUI and DWS offenses. Because prior 
offenses are the best predictors of recidivism, it is important to control for this factor so 
that differences between these groups that are attributable to differences in group 
composition are partialed out and not wrongly attributed to the sanction effect. The 
Kaplan-Meier approach is necessary as well because the assumption of proportionality may 
not be appropriate for some groups, or at least across all time periods. 

In both counties, four sentence lengths were analyzed: 30 and 60 days applicable to 
DWS offenders and 90 and 180 days applicable to DUI offenders. In Franklin County, the 
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sanction period consisted of the time when the vehicle was impounded combined with the 
period when the vehicle was immobilized. This was analyzed separately from the period 
following the sanction when no vehicle action was in effect. In Hamilton County, the 
sanction period consisted of the time the vehicle was impounded (immobilization was not 
used by this county), followed by the period after the vehicle was returned. Two dependent 
measures were evaluated: DWS and DUI convictions. The relatively few fourth-time DUI 
offenders and third-time DWS offenders who were subject to vehicle forfeiture were not 
entered into the analysis. 

In each county, the comparison group consisted of DUI or DWS offenders who were 
eligible for a vehicle sanction but did not receive the penalty. In comparing their recidivism 
rates with those who did receive a sanction, the period for each comparison group was set 
to be equal to the average time of the sanction for the equivalent experimental 
(impounded/immobilized) group. For the analysis of the period following release of the 
vehicles, the origin of the survival curves for both groups was set to correspond to the dates 
when the experimental group offenders retrieved their vehicles to avoid any carryover from 
the sanction period. 

C. Results 

1. Franklin County 
POOLED RESULTS FOR ALL DRIVERS. Table IV-3 shows that for both first and second DWS drivers 

pooled together, impounding and/or immobilizing the vehicle marginally reduced the 
number of DWS offenses but not the number of DUI offenses during the sanction period. 
This marginal effect may be due to the relatively short time (30 or 60 days) during which a 
DWS offender's vehicle was normally impounded or immobilized. The notable feature of the 
upper portion of this table is that these DWS drivers experienced zero repeat offenses 
during the time their vehicles were not available to them. Despite this, the number of cases 
in the sanctioned group was so small, and the amount of exposure time available was so 
short, that the 100% differences between the vehicle sanctioned and no-vehicle sanctioned 
groups were, with two exceptions, not statistically significant. 

This may be a case where more attention should be given to the effect size to avoid a 
"type two error." The effect sizes displayed in Tables IV-3 through IV-6 are a measure of 
the relative difference between the sanctioned group's rate of reoffense and the comparison 
group's rate of reoffense, using the latter group's rate as the baseline or denominator. 
Thus, if the comparison group's rate were 0.20 and the sanctioned group's rate were 0.12 
(i.e., 60% of the baseline rate), the relative difference would be -40%. Obviously, the largest 
reduction possible is necessarily bounded at 100%, when the sanctioned group's rate is 
zero, but the largest increase is not bounded at +100% (which would represent a doubling-
in rate). 

In the lower section of Table IV-3, which gives the results for the DUI driver groups 
(where, as above, the total period of vehicle action is evaluated by combining the 
impoundment and immobilization periods), the relative differences are large: above 50% for 
both DWS and DUI offenses. DWS and DUI offenses are significantly reduced during the 
sanction period in both the Cox Regression and Kaplan-Meier analyses. Figure IV-1 shows 
the cumulative DUI offense hazard (recidivism) rates during sanction using the overall Cox 
Regression model fit based on the two DWS and two DUI driver groups pooled, which 
demonstrates a clear separation between those DWS and DUI offenders who actually 
received a vehicle action (solid line) and comparison drivers who were eligible but avoided 
the sanction (dashed line). 
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The upper section of Table IV-4 gives the results of the analysis of the DWS groups 
up to 2 years following the return of the vehicle to the offender. With the exception of DWS 
offenses for second DWS drivers, all of the relative differences are in the right direction, 
but none are significant. It appears that in the case of the DWS drivers, the sanction had 
no impact on DWS or DUI offenses after the vehicle was returned. 

In contrast to the DWS drivers, the DUI drivers whose vehicles were impounded or 
immobilized for longer periods demonstrated significant reductions in DUI and DWS 
offenses after the vehicles were returned. The recidivism rate for DUI offenses of second 
DUI offenders following return of the vehicle was 22% to 38% lower than for offenders who 
were eligible but did not receive a vehicle sanction. These differences in rates are corrected 
for variations in age and prior driving record through the entry of these factors as 
covariates in the Cox Regression analysis (right-hand columns of Table IV-4). 

Figure IV-2 shows the pooled cumulative hazard rates for the DUI offense after 
sanction across both DWS and both DUI driver groups, using the overall Cox Regression 
model fit. The solid line shows the accumulation of new offenses by the sanctioned group, 
while the dashed line shows the cumulative rate of DUI offenses for the comparison 
drivers. The origin of the graph is set at the time when the experimental group had their 
vehicles returned. The origin for the comparison group is set at the average time after 
conviction when the sanctioned group had their vehicles returned. The experimental group 
of drivers who received the vehicle sanction clearly had fewer DUI convictions than similar 
offenders not sanctioned in the months following return of their vehicles. 
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Table IV-3
Offenses during sanction period for DWS and DUI drivers In Franklin County

'^ -,.^i ^ & ®^ ^ ^^ ^ .^ :. m. ^^^^. ,-^^^. ^^ ^ m _ .^^6^ ^: as s• • Wald Prob.

Driving-while-suspended (DWS) offenders

DWS offenses

1 It DWS 30 136 132 0 454 444 16 0.0% 3.5% 100% 4.68 .031* 100%

2nd DWS 60 21 40 0 70 133 5 0.0% 7.1% 100% 1.48 .223 100%

Pooled DIMS groups 157 172 0 524 577 21 0.0% 4.0% 100% 5.64 .018* 100%

DUI offenses

1 It DWS 30 136 132 0 454 447 3 0.0% 0.7% 100% 0.87 .352 100%

2"d DWS 60 21 40 0 70 136 2 0.0% 2.9% 100% 0.59 .443 100%

Pooled DWS groups 157 172 0 524 583 5 0.0% 1.0% 100% 1.26 .262 100%

Driving-under-the-Influence (DUI) offenders

DWS offenses

2nd DUI 90 686 1953 8 970 2831 34 1.2% 3.5% 66% 8.05 .005* 39% 6.42 .011*

3`d DUI 180 134 724 4 328 1884 20 3.1% 6.1% 49% 1.42 .233 22% 0.85 .357

Pooled DUI groups 820 2677 12 1298 4715 54 1.5% 4.2% 65% 9.45 .002* 34% 6.78 .009*

DUI offenses

2nd DUI 90 686 1937 12 970 2813 36 1.8% 3.7% 52% 4.90 .027* 29% 4.14 .042*
 * 

3`d DUI 180 134 729 3 328 1877 21 2.4% 6.4% 63% 2.81 .094 37% 2.28 .131
*

Pooled DUI groups 820 2666 15 1298 4690 57 1.8% 4.4% 58% 6.93 .009* 30% 5.72 .017*
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Table N-4

Offenses after sanction period for DWS and DUI drivers In Franklin County


Impound group C P Kaplan-Meter Cox Regression 
exposure ^gw __^l e 

Driver Penatty Subjects (Man- Re- Subjects Re Vitt on-W1 Relative Tarone- Prob. Relative Wald Prob. 
group days . tins offend s of#en s -duff. Ware d . 

Driving-while-suspended (DWS) offenders 

DWS offenses 

1st DWS 30 134 1486 14 431 3962 50 f13.2% 1 17.1% 23% 0.76 .382 8% 0.32 .570 

2"d DWS 60 19 235 3 58 494 6 17.6% 14.7% -20% 0.12 .733 -43% 0.88 .347 

Pooled DUI groups 153 1721 17 489 4456 56 13.8% 16.7% 18% 0.67 .415 3% 0.07 .793 

DUI offenses 

1 11 DWS 30 135 1568 6 444 4363 21 5.1% 6.4% 21% 0.11 .735 19% 0.77 .380 

2r'd DWS 60 19 274 0 61 572 3 0.0% 3.1% 100% 1.91 .167 100% --- ---

Pooled DUI groups 154 1842 6 505 4935 24 4.4% 5.6% 26% 0.22 .639 24% 1.42 .234 

Driving-under-the-influence (DUI) offenders 

DWS offenses 

2nd DUI 90 671 7800 48 873 8827 75 6.8% 11.0% 38% 3.33 .068J_11% 1.49 .222 

3rd DUI 180 125 1333 5 242 2005 20 4.3% 11.8% 63% 4.27 .039* 33% 2.53 .112 

Pooled DUI groups 796 9133 53 1115 10832 95 6.4% 11.1 % 42% 4.86 .028* 13% 2.67 .102 

DUI offenses 

2"d DUI 90 669 7922 33 871 8877 63 5.0% 8.0% 38% 6.27 .012* 1 22% 5.03 .025* 

Yd DUI 180 126 1309 9 243 2030 15 7.3% 9.4% 23% 0.02 .901 -3% 0.02 .899 

Pooled DUI groups 795 9231 42 1114 10907 78 5.3% 8.2% 35% 6.08 .014* 18% 4.13 .042* 
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Figure N-1

Proportion of drivers committing a DUI offense during sanction period in Franklin County


(Pooled Model Fit, Cox Regression Analysis)
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Figure N-2

Proportion of drivers committing a DUI offense after sanction period in Franklin County


(Pooled Model Fit, Cox Regression Analysis)
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2. Hamilton County 
POOLED RESULTS FOR ALL DRIVERS. In the Hamilton County recidivism analysis, there was no 

need to consider combining vehicle immobilization and vehicle impoundment since, with 
few exceptions, vehicles were simply impounded for the length of the sanction period. The 
two upper sets of rows of Table IV-5 present the Cox Regression and Kaplan-Meier 
analyses of recidivism rates for DWS drivers during the sanction period. These analyses 
found significant reductions in DWS offenses, but not DUI offenses, for the combined 
groups of drivers. The effect sizes for DWS offenses was large, running between 45% and 
75%. The reductions "in DWS and DUI offense rates for the experimental group of DUI 
drivers are generally larger than those demonstrated by the DWS drivers whose vehicles 
were impounded for a shorter time. Pooled effect sizes for both DWS and DUI offenses 
varied from 40 to 60%. Figure IV-3 shows the pooled cumulative hazard rates for DUI 
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offenses across the two DWS and two DUI driver groups during the sanction period using 
the overall Cox Regression model fit. 

Table N-6 provides the results of the analysis for DWS and DUI offenses in the 
postsanction period. The Kaplan-Meier analysis shows some differences in the DWS 
recidivism for the DWS drivers; however, this was not confirmed in the Cox Regression 
analysis. In any case, the effects sizes were too small to be of interest. Both the Cox 
Regression and the Kaplan-Meier analytical procedures detected significant reductions 
during the postsanction period in both DWS and DUI offenses for the DUI drivers. The Cox 
regression yielded an effect size of 30% for DUI offenses. Figure IV-4 shows the pooled 
cumulative hazard rates for DUI offenses across the two DWS and two DUI driver groups 
after the vehicles were returned to the offenders, using the overall Cox Regression model 
fit. 
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Table IV-5

Offenses during sanction period for DWS and DUI drivers in Hamilton County


Impound group p Offense rote Kaplan-Meier Cox Regression 
exposure 

Driver Penalty Subjects (Man- Re- Subj Re- VVI Non- Relative Tarone Prob. Relative Wcid Prob. 
group days months) offenders ) ff dit . W .e diff 

Driving-while-suspended (DWS) offenders 

DWS offenses 

1 n DWS 30 676 497 3 454 444 10 0.6% 2.2% 71% 4.22 .040* 47% 3.65 .056 

2"d DWS 60 205 326 3 70 133 5 1.8% 7.1% 74% 4.39 .036* 50% 3.67 .055 

Pooled DUI groups 881 823 6 524 577 15 1.0% 3.8% 74% 6.97 .008* 45% 5.89 .015* 

DUI offenses 

1 n DWS 30 676 497 3 454 447 2 0.6% 0.4% -42% 0.14 .713 -19% 0.14 .707 

2nd DWS 60 205 328 0 70 136 2 0.0% 2.9% 100% 4.91 .027* 100% --- --­

Pooled DUI groups 881 825 3 524 583 4 0.4% 1.2% 67% 0.07 .792 26% 0.63 .427 

Driving-under-the-influence (DUI) offenders 

DWS offenses 

2nd DUI 90 533 1340 2 970 2831 29 0.5% 3.0% 84% 9.18 .002* 61% 6.80 .009* 

3°d DUI 180 347 1582 8 328 1884 18 3.1% 5.5% 44% 2.39 .122 45% 4.22 .040* 

Pooled DUI groups 880 2922 10 1298 4715 47 1.7% 4.1% 60% 11.47 .001 * 41% 8.94 .003* 

DUI offenses 

2nd DUI 90 533 1335 3 970 2813 31 0.7% 3.2% 80% 8.92 .003* 56% 7.18 .007* 

3`d DUI 180 347 1587 7 328 1877 16 2.7% 4.9% 44% 2.59 .108 28% 2.06 .152 

Pooled DUI groups 880 2922 10 1298 4690 47 1.6% 4.0% 60% 11.51 .001* 41% 9.34 .002* 
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Table IV-6

Offenders after sanction period for DWS and DUI drivers in Hamilton County


Impound group Comparison group Offense rate Kaplan-Meier Cox Regression 
exposure exposure 

Driver Penalty Subjects (Man- Re- Subjects (Man- Re- WI Non-WI Relative Tarone- Prob. relative Wald Prob. 
group days months) offenders months) offenders dtff. Wars cliff. 

Driving-while-suspended (DWS) offenders 

DWS offenses 

1 " DWS 30 639 7707 90 431 3976 50 8.6% 15.7% 46% 4.44 .035* 1 % 0.03 .869 

2nd DWS 60 185 2070 28 58 476 6 12.5% 13.7% 9% 0.26 .611 3% 0.01 .905 

Pooled DUI groups 824 9777 118 489 4452 56 9.3% 15.3% 39% 4.69 .030* 3% 0.14 .713 

DUI offenses 

1" DWS 30 637 7892 29 445 4378 22 4.4% 6.4% 32% 1.67 .197 8% 0.35 .557 

2nd DWS 60 190 2229 5 61 554 3 2.2% 3.0% 28% 1.64 .200 46% 2.55 .110 

Pooled DUI groups 827 10121 34 506 4932 25 4.0% 5.8% 31% 2.07 .150 10% 0.66 .417 

Driving-under-the-influence (DUI) offenders 

DWS offenses 

2"d DUI 90 490 5395 47 888 9146 79 7.2% 10.8% 33% 1.92 .166 4% 0.23 .635 

3`d DUI 180 288 2875 22 260 2178 22 5.6% 11.8% 53% 4.17 .041 * 20% 3.32 .068 

Pooled DUI groups 778 8270 69 1148 11324 101 6.8% 11.1% 39% 3.95 .047* 9% 1.28 .257 

DUI offenses 

2"d DUI 90 489 5418 19 885 9195 66 3.6% 8.0% 56% 9.15 .003* 30% 7.51 .006* 

3`d DUI 180 290 2886 9 264 2206 20 4.0% 9.5% 58% 7.97 .005* 33% 3.63 .057 

Pooled DUl groups 779­ 8304 28 1149 11401 86 3.7% 8.4% 56% 14.71 .001 * 31% 11.35 .001 * 
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Figure N-3
Proportion committing DUI during Immobilization sanction In Hamilton County

(Pooled Model Fit, Cox Regression Analysis)
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Figure W-4
Proportion committing DUI after Immobilization sanction In Hamilton County

(Pooled Model Fit, Cox Regression Analysis)

.0701

+.J

.060
Comparison Group

t------------------- ----- --- ----------------

-
040 -------------------------------

 *

 *

.030 -------------- ---- ---------------r.

 **

020 ------------- ..- f --------
': \ ------

Impound Group
----------------------------------------010

.1.:..i^.
0nnn

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
months after end of sanction

D. Discussion

LIMITATIONS IN 1HESE STUDIES . The principle limitation in these results is that the sanctions
could not be assigned to offenders at random. The imposition of the vehicle penalty
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occurred or did not occur as a result of several factors. Some factors such as administrative 
problems or lack of resources for the police and courts may have had a minimal impact on 
subject characteristics and, therefore, probably did not bias the group comparisons. Other 
factors-offender's choice (retaining a lawyer, pleading guilty, etc.) and differences between 
judges' sentencing practices-may have produced significant differences between the 
experimental group of offenders whose vehicles were held under the VA law and the 
comparison group whose vehicles were not held. 

Table IV-7 shows the differences in age and history of driving offenses between the 
drivers whose vehicles were impounded and not impounded in both Franklin and Hamilton 
Counties. These two measures-age and prior driving offenses-were available for use as 
covariates for reducing any bias produced by the many factors that entered the selection of 
those actually impounded or immobilized. (Gender information was also available, but 
there were too few females to make this factor a useful covariate.) The upper portion of 
Table V-7 shows that Franklin County's sanctioned driver group had mean values for the 
two age categories and the two types of prior-offense categories that were generally similar 
to those for the comparison driver group. The one exception was the second DWS offenders 
(60-day group) where the sanctioned group was almost twice as likely to have had one prior 
DWS offense. 

The age and prior record variables for Hamilton County appear in the lower portion 
of Table IV-7. As can be seen, there is somewhat more variability between the sanctioned 
driver group and the comparison driver group in this county. The comparison group of 
DWS drivers appears to have had more prior DWS and DUI offenses than the sanctioned 
group. The potential effect of these differences between groups in Hamilton County were 
reduced by the use of these variables in the Cox Regression analysis, which generally 
provided the same results as the Kaplan-Meier analysis. 

Driver's license status (shown in Section II as an important factor in determining 
DUI offense rates) was not a factor in the observed differences in recidivism during the 
vehicle sanction because all DWS and DUI offenders were suspended during the vehicle 
action period. In the later part of the after-impoundment period, some second DUI drivers 
may have been reinstated. However, the relatively few reinstated cases and the relatively 
small number of drivers followed beyond one year suggest that driver's license status had 
little effect on the results reported' in this Section. 
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Table IV-7
Means for comparison and sanctioned groups of drivers in Franklin and Hamilton Counties

30

covartat+es cmisn m n

FRANKLIN COUNTY

Age 30.8 29.8 30.1 31.9 33.6 33.2 35.4 34.0

Age >25 0.348 0.383 0.286 0.286 0.168 0.212 0.090 0.128

Age 40+ 0.141 0.119 0.190 0.214 0.199 0.193 0.256 0.201

*prior DUIs 0.513 0.404 0.688 0.694 0.834 0.872 1.240 1.271

*prior DWS 0.479 0.451 0.673 1.115 0.210 0.268 0.272 0.388

HAMILTON COUNTY

Age 29.5 31.8 32.4 30.0 33.0 34.4 34.0 35.5

Age >25 .383 .278 .286 .360 .212 .184 .128 .112

Age 40+ .119 .168 .214 .140 .194 .247 .201 .256

*prior DUIs .404 .245 .694 .103 .872 .635 1.271 .807

*prior DWS .451 .287 1.115 .780 .268 .262 .388 .350

*Within the most recent 3-year period only. Number of priors were log-transformed due to highly
skewed distributions.
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V. DISCUSSION 

This section presents the major findings of the study and describes the strengths and 
weaknesses of the research. 

A. Major Findings 

1. License suspension reduces recidivism and protects the public 
The study in Section II on the effect of license suspension in the 3 years before Ohio 

implemented ALS and VA laws demonstrated that suspended DUI offenders had 38% to 
43% fewer DUI convictions and 24% to 35% fewer crashes than did similar DUI offenders 
who were fully licensed. Before implementing new laws in Ohio, as in many States, a 
license suspension occurred only after conviction by the court and notification by the BMV. 
Consequently, initiating a suspension following an arrest was significantly delayed, and a 
large number of offenders received no suspension., The evidence presented in Section II, 
points particularly to the significance of the delay in application of the license sanction 
because the period immediately following arrest, up to the third or fourth month, was a 
time when additional DUI offenses were most likely to occur. 

2. ALS reduces delays and increases comprehensiveness of sanction program 
After implementing the ALS law, 95% of both first and multiple offenders were 

suspended within a few days of their arrest date, thereby reducing the 4-month delay in 
imposing this sanction, which.had been typical before the ALS law. Further, whereas many 
as 40% of the first offenders never received a license suspension, 98% of the arrested 
drivers were suspended after the ALS law. Of particular significance was the fact that the 
suspension rate following ALS was essentially identical for first and multiple offenders. 

Comparison of reoffense and crash rates of DUI offenders before and after 
implementing the ALS law demonstrated that DUI offense rates were reduced by at least 
two-thirds for both first and multiple offenders, and moving offense rates and crashes were 
reduced by half. These large reductions can be attributed only in part to ALS, because of 
other legislation implemented at the same time as ALS. The other legislation doubled the 
license suspension period from 3 to 6 months for, first offenders and subjected multiple 
offenders to vehicle immobilization in addition to driver license suspension. Nonetheless, 
the ALS law clearly had a significant impact in reducing overall offense and crash rates by 
moving the suspension date forward into the high-risk recidivism period immediately 
following the arrest and by increasing the comprehensiveness with which license 
suspension was applied to offenders. 

3. Impoundment/Immobilization reduces the recidivism of suspended multiple DUI offenders 
Simultaneously implementing the ALS and the VA laws ensured that multiple 

offenders were suspended for at least 1 year since the vehicle sanctions were usually 
applied on the date of arrest or, at the latest, on the date of court conviction and extended 
for 3 to 6 months. All DUI offenders were suspended during the impoundment period. A 
comparison of these fully suspended offenders who had their vehicles immobilized or 
impounded with similar fully suspended offenders who escaped a vehicle action 
demonstrated that DUI recidivism was reduced while the vehicle was impounded. Further, 
evidence that reduced recidivism continued to a lesser extent during the period following 
the release of the vehicle. This is an important finding because it normally might be 
assumed that, since the offender was fully suspended, impounding or immobilizing the 
vehicle would have little impact on the offender's driving record. However, there is strong 
evidence from the research literature that up to 75% of the suspended drivers continue to 
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drive to some extent. It appears from the present results that impounding or immobilizing 
the vehicle reduces illicit driving, which reduced DUI offenses during both the 
impoundment and the post-impoundment periods. 

B. Study Limitations 

This study has a number of significant limitations that should be considered when 
interpreting the results. First, this research does not attempt to determine whether the 
simultaneous implementation of the ALS and VA laws had a general deterrent effect on 
the driving public. This would best be measured by a time series analysis of alcohol-related 
crashes before and after the implementation of the law. In the present instance, data for 
the entire State of Ohio was not available. Only the driving records of DUI offenders were 
obtained from the BMV because the objective of this study was to determine the effect of 
incapacitation on offenders receiving sanctions because of ALS and VA laws. This study 
was not designed to study the effect on the public. 

Second, vehicle forfeiture, a potentially important sanction, which applied only to 
fourth DUI and third DWS offenders was not evaluated in this study. With the sample of 
offenders available, there was insufficient data to determine whether this sanction was 
effective in reducing offenses and, crash involvements of drivers whose vehicles were 
forfeited. Third, this study is limited to the effect of the immobilization law on DWS 
offenders whose suspensions resulted from a DUI conviction. DWS offenders whose 
suspensions were for failure to maintain financial responsibility (insurance payments) 
were also subject to vehicle immobilization, but these individuals were not included in this 
study. 

A particularly important limitation in the present study is disentangling the effects 
of the ALS law from the effects of the VA law. Both were implemented on the same date; 
therefore, a time series does not provide a method of separating their effects. The two laws, 
however, varied in their application to different groups of offenders in three ways: 

1.	 Members of the general driving population receiving a DUI for the first time 
were not subject to any of the incapacitating effects of either law unless arrested 
although they could have been deterred by the fear of being suspended. 

2.	 First DUI offenders following their arrest were affected only by the ALS law, 
which insured that their incapacitation through license suspension occurred 
earlier and more comprehensively than had been the case before the law. 

3.	 Multiple DUI offenders and first DUI offenders who were also apprehended for 
driving while suspended were affected by both the ALS and the VA laws. 

Thus, the general deterrent effect of the ALS law could be studied by determining 
whether the number of first offenders (Group 1) was reduced. There was no evidence of 
this. The incapacitating effect of the ALS law could be studied using the first DUI offenders 
(Group 2) by comparing their recidivism rates before and after the law. However, a portion 
of the reduction in recidivism observed could be the result of the extension from 3 to 6 
months of the license suspension period for first offenders. Finally, it was possible to study 
the effect of the VA law by comparing the multiple offenders (Group 3) whose vehicles were 
impounded with those who were similarly eligible but received no sanction. Essentially all 
of the multiple offenders who were subject to vehicle action were suspended for at least 1 
year so that both those who-received the vehicle sanction and the comparison group were 
fully suspended. Therefore, the ALS license action was the same for both groups. 
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A major limitation in the studies reported was the inability to assign the vehicle 
action penalties at random to eligible offenders. It is clear that the combination of 
administrative and personal factors that determine sanction versus nonsanction group 
membership resulted in some differences between groups that may have effected this 
study's outcomes. For example, the DUI offenders who were in the nonsanction group in 
Hamilton County were more likely to have a prior DUI offense than the sanction group 
whose vehicles were impounded (Table IV-10). Though the Cox Regression analysis used 
prior offenses as a covariate, this procedure may not fully correct for the relationship 
between priors and recidivism or other factors not measured produced the differences 
observed. 

It was not possible to study the effect of the VA law statewide because of the lack of 
data on vehicle immobility in the BMV drivers' record files. This is a general problem with 
most State record systems-one that must be remedied if studies of State VA laws are to 
be fully evaluated. In this case, the observed statewide reductions in DUI convictions for 
multiple DUI drivers following the implementation of the ALS and VA laws must be 
interpreted with caution because information on actual immobilization was not available. 
Another reason for caution is that, based on the Franklin and Hamilton Counties results, 
only about a quarter to a half of the DUI offenders received a vehicle sanction. Finally, 
other law and court administrative changes occurred at the same time as implementation 
of the VA law. Although there was no evidence that these factors effected the number of 
DUI cases, these or other unrecognized changes occurring at the time the VA law was 
implemented may have also contributed to the observed reductions in DUI offenses. 

C. Strengths of These Studies 

An important strength of the current study is the large differences found in the 
recidivism rates for all three dependent variables: DUI offenses, moving violations, and 
crashes between offenders before and after the implementation of the ALS and VA laws. 
The relatively large number of subjects followed over significant periods (up to 2 years) 
adds to the credibility of the overall results. The Kaplan-Meier Survival Analysis procedure 
provides a powerful method for making maximum use of the variable exposure periods 
available for offenders in the before-law and after-law groups. Further, the credibility of 
the finding of reduced recidivism rates following the implementation of the new laws is 
strengthened by the evidence that arrests and prosecutions of the general driving public 
committing first DUI offenses were relatively unaffected by the ALS and VA laws. Finally, 
the fact that all three dependent measures-DUI offenses, moving violations, and 
crashes-decreased strengthens the conclusion that the ALS law and, for multiple 
offenders, the VA law reduced overall driving exposure. The reduction in crashes is 
particularly impressive given that this measure involved all crashes. Though alcohol is 
involved in approximately 40% of fatal crashes, its role in less severe crashes is 
significantly smaller and well under 10% for the routine fender-bender crashes that make 
up 90% of all crash events recorded on State motor vehicle files (NHTSA, 1997, p. 29). 

An important feature of the two county-level impoundment/immobilization studies 
is that they represent independent replications of the implementation of the same law in 
two different contexts. In Franklin County, vehicle immobilization served as the major 
vehicle action; in Hamilton County, only vehicle impoundment was used. Each county had 
to develop procedures that fit its own application of the State law. In this process, there 
were differences in the proportion of offenders who received the vehicle sanction penalty. 
Despite these differences, the effect of the vehicle action on offender recidivism was 
essentially the same. It reduced offenses while the vehicle was not available to the offender 
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and, to a lessor extent, following the vehicle's return. This independent replication of the 
study in the two localities strengthens the confidence in these results. Moreover, the fact 
that each community implemented the law in a different manner suggests that the results 
can be extrapolated to other locales, which may apply still other procedures in 
implementing an immobilization or impoundment law. 

The results of the two-county study are further strengthened by the outcome of the 
ALS study that demonstrated that, after the ALS law was in place, 99% of second and 
third DUI offenders were suspended. Thus, both the offenders who had their vehicles 
impounded and the comparison group of offenders who escaped this sanction were fully 
suspended during the period of the vehicle action study. Therefore, license status appeared 
not to be a factor in the observed differences between the offenders who suffered a vehicle 
penalty and the comparison group of similar offenders who escaped the vehicle action. It 
also provides an indication that the effect of this VA sanction is in addition to the effect of 
the ALS sanction. 

As expected from the results in the two county-level study, there appears to be a 
statewide reduction in DUI offenses involving suspended multiple offenders who were at-
risk or actually experienced a vehicle sanction following implementation of the VA law in 
Ohio on September 1, 1993 (Figure 111-3). The reduction was greater for the multiple 
offenders with more priors who faced more serious vehicle sanctions, but the difference was 
not significant. 

D. Significance of These Results 

In this study, a vehicle sanction was coupled with license suspension. Thus, the 
offense reductions demonstrated generally occurred to offenders who were suspended and 
should not have been driving. Thus, this study demonstrates that vehicle impoundment or 
immobilization reduces the risk to the public over and above that achieved by license 
suspension alone. Driver license suspension was shown to reduce offenses and crash 
involvement of convicted drinking drivers by 25% despite the fact that many continue to 
drive. The use of a VA law seems to provide an additional margin of public safety beyond 
license suspension. The combined effect of the two sanctions appeared to reduce the 
reoffense rate of DUI offenders compared to the traditional court-ordered suspension 
system by more than 50%. 

The evidence that the effect of impoundment and immobilization on DWS and DUI 
offenses may persist beyond the length of the penalty period is particularly significant. It is 
not clear whether this is a deterrent effect (the cost and inconvenience of having their 
vehicles impounded or immobilized is so painful that offenders are motivated to avoid 
being caught again) or whether it is an incapacitation effect. Incapacitation could result 
from the lack of a vehicle because some offenders whose vehicles were sanctioned did not 
reclaim them, possibly because the vehicle was worth less than the towing and storage 
costs. Those drivers whose apprehension resulted in the impoundment or immobilization of 
an employer's or spouse's vehicle may have also been denied access to it after it was 
released.9 In contrast, there is no evidence that the incapacitation effect of license 
suspension extends beyond the time the driver's license is reinstated (McKnight & Was, 
1991). The finding that the effect of the vehicle sanction persists beyond the penalty period 
is unexpected. If future studies confirm this finding, this effect would significantly add to 

9 Note that nonoffender owners were required to sign a quit claim agreement that their vehicles would be 
forfeited to the government if the offender was caught driving it while suspended. Also, Ohio law provides that 
a second offense for permitting a person with no legal right to operate a vehicle is grounds for forfeiture. 
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the value of vehicle sanction programs. Overall, preventing the use of the vehicle by the 
offender for 1 to 6 months appears to be a promising sanction for DWS and DUI offenses. It 
assists in enforcing driver license suspension, reduces drunk-driving offenses, and protects 
the public from these high-risk drivers. 
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APPENDIX A


DESCRIPTION AND IMPLEMENTATION

OF OHIO VEHICLE ACTION LAW


The main body of this report has evaluated the impact of the Ohio Vehicle Action 
(VA) law on the recidivism of DWS and DUI offenders. This evaluation indicated that 
impounding and/or immobilizing the vehicle of such offenders reduces their DUI and DWS 
recidivism both during the period when the vehicle is held by the state and, to a lesser 
extent, following the return of the vehicle to its owner. The purpose of this appendix is to 
provide a more detailed description of the VA law and how it was applied in Hamilton and 
Franklin Counties. 

Vehicle action laws tend to be more complex in their application than laws that 
provide for license suspension. Experience has demonstrated that approximately one-half 
of the individuals who commit DUI or DWS offenses are operating vehicles in which 
another individual has an ownership interest. Impounding vehicles belonging to non-
offender owners may not be appropriate or possible in many instances. In such cases, the 
state must make a provision for returning the vehicle while attempting to ensure that the 
offender does not have access to that vehicle again while under suspension. Similarly, 
seizing and suspending the driving permit is relatively easy and straightforward, while 
seizing the vehicle involves towing, storage in a safe facility and, if it is to be immobilized 
on the owner's property, arrangements must be made by the police department to club the 
vehicle and then remove the club at the end of the sanction period. 

Because of these and other complexities, the current study made an effort to 
determine the issues that arise in the implementation of a vehicle action law such as 
Ohio's. This appendix is divided into three sections. The first section describes the Ohio 
Vehicle Action law in detail. The second, describes the implementation and case now 
process in Franklin and Hamilton Counties, which were studied intensively in the current 
research program. The third section reviews issues that arose for the police and courts in 
the two counties and for the Bureau of Motor Vehicles in implementing the VA law. 

Appendix B includes forms developed by the immobilization coordinator in Franklin 
County used to coordinate with law enforcement. Appendix C includes court entry and 
other forms from Franklin County that are required for vehicle immobilization and 
forfeiture. Appendix D includes informational brochures used in Ohio to publicize the new 
DUI laws and a standard BMV form used by the police for ALS and VA actions which also 
served to inform offenders about the risk of immobilization. Appendix E contains a copy of 
a poster and leaflet about the law which were used in Franklin County. 
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A-1. THE OHIO VEHICLE ACTION LAW


For several years, an. Ohio law permitted the courts to impose a vehicle 
immobilization penalty for motorists caught driving while suspended (DWS) for driving 
under the influence (DUI). This penalty was only used in a few smaller Ohio counties. In 
September 1993, the law was changed to include immobilization for second and subsequent 
offenses of DUI and certain DWS offenses (see Table A-1). The law requires the immediate 
impoundment of the vehicle upon arrest in these cases until the courts can order the 
immobilization and license plate impoundment upon conviction. The length of the 
immobilization period is 30 days for a first DWS, and 60 days for a second DWS, and 90 
days for a second and 180 days for a third DUI offense within 5 years. 1 The court has the 
option to "immobilize" the vehicle at: (1) a commercially owned or government operated 
storage lot; (2) a location owned by the offender or immediate family; (3) a public street 
when parked in accordance with the law; or (4) a place owned by a private person when 
express written consent is obtained. A third DWS offense or a fourth DUI offense within 5 
years can lead to confiscation and forfeiture of the vehicle. Moving a vehicle that has been 
ordered immobilized by the court results in criminal forfeiture of the vehicle. 

Table A-1

Elements of the Ohio Vehicle Action (VA) Law


Elements of the law included in this study 

First DWS for DUI 30-day immobilization/plate impoundment 

Second DWS for DUI 60-day immobilization/plate impoundment 

Second DUI within 5 years' 90-day immobilization/plate impoundment 

Third DUI within 5 years' 180-day immobilization/plate impoundment 

Elements of the law not included in this study (too few cases) 

Third DWS for DUI Vehicle forfeiture 

Fourth DUI within 5 years' Vehicle forfeiture 

DWS for first offense FRA* 30-day immobilization/plate impoundment 

DWS for second offense FRA* within 5 60-day immobilization/plate impoundment 
years 

DWS for third offense FRA* within 5 Vehicle forfeiture 
years 

Permitting a person with no legal right 30-day immobilization/plate impoundment 
to operate, first offense (state offense 
only) 

Permitting a person with no legal right Vehicle forfeiture 
to operate, second offense (state 
offenses only) 

*Financial Responsibility Assurance (FRA) 

1 The law was changed in 1996 (after this study) to apply to prior DUI offenses within 6 years. 
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A. Immediate seizure 

Section 4507.38 (DWS) and 4511.195 (DUI) of the Ohio statute embodies the law 
and provides for immediate seizure of the vehicle upon arrest. This permits the vehicle to 
be towed and stored in an impound lot, pending a hearing that must occur within 5 days to 
determine whether the vehicle should continue to be held, released, or moved to the 
offender's property or some other suitable location for pretrial immobilization with a club 
device which locks the steering wheel to prevent use of the vehicle. A previous study of 
state vehicle impoundment laws (Voas, 1992) indicated the importance of taking action 
against the vehicle at the time of arrest. The combination of impoundment in a government 
or commercial lot and eventual immobilization (either pre- or post-trial) permits seizing the 
vehicle at the time of arrest while still providing for the less expensive (for the offender) 
immobilization procedure after a short bridging period of impoundment. Initially, some 
offenders in Ohio tried to circumvent the law by selling or transferring the vehicle before 
trial. This problem was alleviated with a legislative amendment that penalized the pretrial 
sale or transfer of the offending vehicle. If this occurs, the vehicle owner is blocked from 
registering another vehicle for 2 years. 

B. Provisions for innocent owners 

The VA law states that, "The arresting officer... shall seize the vehicle that the 
person was operating at the time of the alleged offense or that was involved in the alleged 
offense and its identification plates. Except as otherwise provided in this (law), the officer 
shall seize the vehicle and license plates under this (law), regardless of whether the vehicle 
is registered in the name of the person who was operating it or in the name of another 
person." 

Section 4503.235, Protection of the Rights of Innocent Vehicle Owners, of the Ohio 
code provides that "a vehicle shall not be immobilized and its identification license plates 
shall not be impounded ... if all of the following apply.. .if (1) the person who is convicted or 
pleads guilty to the DUI/DWS violation... is not the vehicle owner; (2) the vehicle owner 
prior to the time of the issuance of the order of immobilization and impoundment or 
forfeiture files a motion to the court requesting that the order not be issued because the 
vehicle owner was innocent of any wrong-doing relative to the offense and violation in 
question; and (3) the prosecutor fails to establish at trial that the vehicle owner knew or 
should have known that the vehicle was to be used or involved or likely to be involved in 
the offense, or the vehicle owner or his agent expressly or impliedly consented to the use or 
involvement of the vehicle in the offense or violation." 

Thus, the law intended that completely innocent owners would have their vehicles 
returned while those who should have known that the driver was unlicensed and 
knowingly allowed the person to drive would have their vehicles impounded and 
immobilized. This feature of the law was overturned in April 1995 by a U.S. District Court 
judge who found that the innocent or nonoffender owners were not receiving adequate 
notice of the impoundment and forfeiture sections of the law at the time their vehicles were 
seized; as a result, they were in danger of having their vehicles held for at least 30 days 
pending trial of the offender. To date, the legislature has taken no action to pass a law that 
would meet the constitutional requirement of adequate notice to nonoffender vehicle 
owners established in the U.S. District Court decision (Kutschmach vs. Davies). 
Consequently, after this court decision, police agencies in Ohio stopped seizing vehicles not 
owned by the offender. The Supreme Court of Ohio upheld the District Court decision and 
noted that the court was not prohibited from immobilizing non-offender owned vehicles 
upon conviction of the offender (Ohio vs. Hochhausler). It is difficult for the prosecutor to 
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establish the vehicle owner "should have known" in DUI cases, but not so difficult in DWS 
cases when the owner is a spouse of the offender. 

C. Impounding vehicle plates 

The original legislation provided that, in addition to impounding the vehicle upon 
arrest, the license plates and registration would also be seized. In practice, the plates were 
usually not removed until the vehicle was ordered immobilized by the court. The law was 
later amended to authorize impoundment of the registration and plates at the time of 
sentencing. At that time, the plates are usually removed from the vehicle and sent to the 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) where they are destroyed. 

The provision in the law for both vehicle immobilization and seizure of the license 
plates is unusual. In some states-notably in Minnesota-the vehicle is incapacitated or 
rendered "immobilized" by a plate impoundment process without using either a boot or a 
club device. The provision in the Ohio law that authorizes the use of both an immobilizing 
device and confiscation of the plates appears to provide double assurance that the vehicle 
will not be moved during the sanction period. Another benefit of plate confiscation is it 
prevents using the plates on another unregistered vehicle. 

D. Amendments to the law 

Several major amendments have been made to 'the Ohio law since it was passed in 
September 1993. 

•	 The amount of time allowed to claim a vehicle after deimmobilization was 
shortened from 60 to 20 days. 

•	 Vehicles that are leased or rented for less than 30 days are not subject to 
immobilization. 

•	 The Court must obtain written permission from apartment building 
managers before ordering a vehicle to be immobilized on the property of an 
apartment building. 

•	 A vehicle owner transferring or selling the "offending" vehicle during the 
time between arrest and trial is blocked from registering another vehicle for 
2 years. 

•	 At the initial hearing, held within 5 days after arrest, the court is now 
required to advise the vehicle owner that (1) if the vehicle is not claimed 
within 7 days of the deimmobilization date, they will be notified in writing 
that the vehicle will be forfeited within 20, days if not claimed; (2) prior to 
issuance of new plates and release of an immobilized vehicle, the $100 
immobilization fee and all towing and storage fees must be paid. 

• If the $100 immobilization fee is not paid, the vehicle owner will be blocked 
from registering another vehicle. (Prior to this amendment, a title block was 
placed on the vehicle if the immobilization fee was not paid.) 

Appendix A-4 



        *

A-2. IMPLEMENTATION PROCESSES IN
FRANKLIN AND HAMILTON COUNTIES

A. The Two Counties

Franklin and Hamilton Counties both encompass large metropolitan cities in Ohio,
and, as illustrated in Table A-2, are similar demographically. The level of police
enforcement is slightly higher in Hamilton County than in Franklin County (7.1 vs 6.1 DUI
arrests per thousand).

Table A-2
Characteristics of Franklin and Hamilton Counties

Jurisd iction

h ristics11
I as

Franklin County H

^Wl JAI
Population 961,437

82% White
16% Black

866,200
77% White
21 % Black

Per capita income $ 14,907 $15,354

DUls (1993) 5,875 6,184

DUI arrests (per thousand) 6.1 7.1

Police force 33 agencies 46 agencies

# of registered vehicles 893,613 719,065

Road mileage 3,949 3,153

Fatal crashes 71 64

Injuries 19,885 15,878

Injuries (per thousand
population)

20.7% 18.3%

Sources: Ohio Department of Public Safety and the U.S. Bureau of the Census, 1994 County and City
Databook.

 * 

B. Impoundment/Immobilization Procedures

The Ohio law calls for the immediate impoundment and then immobilization of
vehicles at a location owned by the offender or his or her family (usually a home) or at
government or private storage lots. Franklin and Hamilton Counties chose to implement
the law using different methods of immobilization. Franklin County uses a combination of
impoundment and immobilization with a club device on eligible vehicles while Hamilton
County uses vehicle impoundment only for the entire length of the sanction period to
enforce the law.

1. Case flow in Franklin County
In Franklin County, typically the vehicle of an eligible offender is impounded

immediately upon arrest. Within 5 days, a judge or magistrate holds a hearing to
determine if the vehicle was seized appropriately and whether it should remain impounded
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until trial (see Figure A-i for case flow). Some judges allow impounded vehicles to be 
moved out of the storage lot for pretrial immobilization. The vehicle is then moved by court 
order to the offender's home or other location for immobilization with a steering wheel club 
device which prevents the vehicle from being driven. The vehicle owner is required to make 
arrangements for transfer of the vehicle and with the police department (designated in the 
court order) to have the vehicle clubbed. This saves the offender the daily storage lot fees 
that would have accumulated before the trial date. Some judges do not allow pretrial 
immobilization. They believe that the courts should be involved in this process, but that 
the legislative language permits police departments to do so before the trial. The police 
departments, however, generally believe that a court order is required. After passage of the 
law, some judges allowed the vehicles of innocent owners to be released pretrial because 
proving that an owner knew that the offender/driver had a suspended license or a history 
of impaired driving was often difficult. On the other hand, some judges denied an innocent 
owner's request for release of a vehicle on the presumption that an owner should have 
known the offender's license status, especially when the offender was a relative. However, 
as previously described, a District Court decision has basically eliminated the seizure of 
vehicles upon arrest that are registered to someone other than the offender. 
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Figure A-I
Franklin County

Vehicle Impound/Immobilization Process

Eligible
arrest

Police de not Police charge
pursue and impound

Hearing within 5 days

Release to Remains in Released to Dismissed
innocent owner impound lot defendant owner or reduced

I

Im mobilization
pretrial

TRIAL

Vehicle of innocent
owner impounded

or immobilized Moved

r
(in some cases)

Remain in
Immobilization

impound lotVehicle at residence Time served- Dismissed

L
forfeited if under immob-

or elsewhere/ fees paid- or
eligible ilization

plate. vehicle redo cud
"hold"/plates

confiscated released
confiscated

Eligible for
deimmobilization

 * 

1
Vehicle abandoned atVehicle forfeited Deimmobilized Notification paper-

lot-fees not paidafter notification- after $100 and work to gain title
fees not paid storage fees paid (approx. 23% by lot owner

abandoned)

Credit is given for time served by the vehicle from date of the offender's arrest and
seizure of the vehicle. If the offender is incarcerated upon arrest, initially the vehicle was *

not given credit for the days the offender was in jail. A subsequent amendment in the law
now gives credit for days in jail. Upon conviction in Franklin County, if the "offending"
vehicle has not already been immobilized pretrial, it can then be moved from the storage
lot to the offender's home or another location and immobilized by the police agency
designated in the court order. Towing and storage fees must be paid before a vehicle can be
removed from the storage lot. If the vehicle owner does not cooperate with the installation
of a club device (which requires access to the vehicle's interior), a boot device can be
attached to the wheel. Some offenders fail to make arrangements with the police
department for immobilization of their vehicle at another location and abandon the
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vehicles to the storage lot. Accordingly to the coordinator's records, approximately 23% of 
vehicles are abandoned. Consequently, some police departments will immobilize the vehicle 
at the storage lot or simply leave it at the lot on a court-ordered "hold" until the 
immobilization period has expired. Vehicle license plates are removed after conviction and 
forwarded to the BMV where they are destroyed. 

Offenders must pay a $100 immobilization fee to the BMV (which, in turn, 
reimburses the police department or other government agency) before a vehicle that has 
"served its time" can be released. After payment has been verified, the police department 
arranges with the offender to deimmobilize the vehicle and remove the club device. For 
those vehicles that "serve their time" in the storage lot, the vehicle can be released upon 
payment of the $100 immobilization fee and all storage and towing fees. If the vehicle is 
not claimed within 7 days after the immobilization period ends, the police agency is 
required to notify the vehicle owner that if it is not claimed within 20 days, the vehicle will 
be forfeited. If the law enforcement agency does not want the vehicle, the impound lot 
owner may obtain the vehicle's title under abandoned vehicle statutes. As of this writing, 
there is some question about whether abandoned vehicle statutes in Ohio are applicable to 
immobilized vehicles. 

2. Logistics and paperflow in Franklin County 
A grant from the Ohio Department of Public Safety initially supported a court-based 

vehicle immobilization coordinator in Franklin County to assist the court and law 
enforcement agencies in implementing the law and to maintain records needed for 
implementation and evaluation. In addition, funds were provided through NHTSA to fund 
a half-time data entry assistant to collect information needed for evaluation. The city of 
Columbus has now funded both of these positions. 

In Franklin County, after a vehicle has been ordered immobilized by the court, the 
vehicle immobilization coordinator receives the court order and then faxes it, along with 
identifying information (offender name, address, phone numbers; vehicle identification 
information; current location of the vehicle; and the effective dates and length of 
immobilization), to the police jurisdiction in which the offenders lives. (See Appendix B for 
forms developed by the immobilization coordinator to coordinate with law enforcement.) 
Although offenders are instructed by the court to contact the police agency within a week, 
often they do not. Therefore, the police must track down the offender to make 
arrangements for immobilization. For this purpose, keeping accurate records of the 
offender's home and work telephone numbers is essential. The court bailiffs are charged 
with recording this information for the immobilization coordinator to transmit to the police 
departments. (See Appendix C for court entry and other forms that are required for the 
disposition of vehicle immobilization forfeiture orders.) 

After contacting the offender, the police department arranges to meet at his or her 
home or another suitable location (e.g., the home of a friend or relative) to immobilize the 
vehicle. An apartment building is usually not suitable since the Columbus Apartment 
Owners Association complained about having vehicles without license plates on their 
properties for extended periods. The VA law was subsequently amended to require written 
permission from apartment managers to immobilize vehicles on their properties. If 
permission is not obtained, the offender must find another location. Depending on parking 
regulations, a city street is not usually a suitable location as the license plates have been 
removed. After meeting with the offender, the police officer identifies the vehicle by color, 
make, model, and identification number. Subsequently, a club device is locked onto the 
steering wheel, the mileage is noted, and a large sign warning that the vehicle should not 
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be moved by order of the police department is placed in the vehicle's front windshield. The 
police department must establish a system for matching the club device keys with each 
immobilized vehicle. The police agency then faxes confirmation of immobilization to the 
vehicle immobilization coordinator. The coordinator completes and forwards a BMV form 
that the court is required to send to the BMV on all vehicles subject to this law (see 
Appendix D). When processed, this form triggers notification to the vehicle owner of the 
$100 immobilization fee and a potential registration block if the fee is not paid. As the 
offender and vehicle owner may not be the same, the immobilization coordinator has 
recommended that a registration block be place on the offender as well. 

There is an additional series of tasks associated with deimmobilization. The police 
must again contact the offender to arrange a meeting for removal of the club device. Prior 
to this, the offender must show proof that the $100 immobilization fee has been paid. After 
deimmobilization, the police fax a form to the immobilization coordinator to verify that the 
vehicle has in fact "served its time." 

3. Case flow in Hamilton County 
As in Franklin County, the vehicle of an eligible offender is impounded immediately 

upon arrest and a court hearing is held within 5 days to determine if the vehicle was seized 
appropriately and should remain impounded until trial (see Figure A-2 for case flow). 
Hamilton County enforces the Ohio law by keeping the eligible vehicle in a city, county, or 
private storage lot for the duration of the vehicle sanction. Officials chose this method over 
immobilization with a club device because there were concerns about liability, the expense 
of clubbing, access by emergency vehicles-since a clubbed vehicle cannot be moved 
quickly-and the apparent ease with which offenders can unclub their vehicles. As in 
Franklin County, Hamilton County judges held varied opinions on the release of vehicles to 
innocent owners. 
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Figure A-2
Hamilton County

Vehicle Impoundment Process

Eligible arrest

1
Police do not Police charge

Pursue and impound

Hearing within 5 days

4
Release to Remains in Diem seed

innocent owner impound lot reduced

TRIAL

11

le
Remains in

Vehicle Time served- Dismissed
impound lot under

forfeited fees paid- or
"immobilization hold"/

if eligible released reducod
plates confiscated

I
Eligible for release
from impound lot

Vehicle
Notification paperwork

Vehicle forfeited Release from impound abandoned at lot-  * 

to gain title by lot
after notification- after $100 and fees not paid

owner-court order
fees not paid storage fees paid (approx. 33% required

abandoned)

After conviction in Hamilton County, the Clerk of Traffic Courts fills out an
immobilization or forfeiture order that includes the names of the offender and vehicle
owner (if different) and faxes it to, or holds it for, the arresting police agency, which is then
responsible for carrying out the order. To release a vehicle that has "served its time" from
an impound lot, vehicle owners must show proof that the $100 immobilization fee has been
paid to the BMV; storage and towing fees must also be paid. Impound lot operators can
gain title to abandoned vehicles, but the owner must be notified of the impending
procedure by certified mail as in Franklin County. In Hamilton County, a court order must
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be obtained to secure the title of an abandoned vehicle. The Cincinnati Police Impound 
Unit estimates that approximately 33% are abandoned to the impound lot. 

4. Logistics and paper flow in Hamilton County 
Most of the burden of the additional paperwork created by the Ohio VA law falls to 

the Clerk of Courts and to the police agencies that operate the impound lots. The Clerk 
must prepare hundreds of immobilization orders and transmit them to the arresting police 
agency. All immobilization cases are heard in the same courtroom to ease vehicle tracking. 
The Cincinnati City Prosecutor's office has a "no plea bargain" policy for these cases since 
the city would be left paying the towing and lot storage fees if a case is reduced or 
dismissed. If, for some reason, a vehicle is released pretrial and is subsequently ordered 
impounded, the arresting police agency attempts to locate the vehicle by determining an 
address through BMV records. If a vehicle has already "served its time" by the time of 
conviction, an immobilization order must still be entered into the record so that there can 
be a release order. This is also necessary so that the BMV has a record that enables the 
collection of the $100 fee. Vehicle license plates are generally removed after conviction and 
forwarded to the Clerk of Courts who sends them to the BMV. 

The impound units of the City of Cincinnati Police and Hamilton County Sheriffs 
Department handle a majority of the county immobilization cases. They have computerized 
records systems that track the sentences of vehicles in their impound lots. One particularly 
vexing problem for the police impound unit is determining the court disposition of 
approximately one-third of the vehicles in their lots at a given time. The majority are "no 
shows" in court or cases that have been continued. The city impound lot charges $8 per 
day, while the county sheriffs department charges $6 per day with a half price discount on 
immobilization cases after the first 5 days of impoundment. To some extent, this discount 
reduces the problem of low-value vehicles that are abandoned. Those that are abandoned 
are of little value and often not worth the effort to sell them at auction. The police agencies 
in Hamilton County did not have the option of selling abandoned vehicles to salvage yards 
at the time this study was completed. 

For the few impounded vehicles of value being financed by their owners, lien­
holders must provide a repossession title, sign an affidavit stating that they will not 
release the vehicle to the owner, and that they will pay the storage costs and the $100 fee. 
These documents must be taken to the prosecutor's office to verify that the vehicle is not 
subject to forfeiture. A judge then signs a release order which is faxed to the arresting 
agency for release to the lien-holder. 

In addition to the release requirements to pay the $100 fee and storage costs after 
the immobilization period has been served in the impound lot, the Hamilton County 
Sheriffs Department uses a civil code to deny the release of vehicles whose owners have no 
vehicle insurance. Although this practice adds to the abandoned vehicle problem, there is a 
concern about liability when releasing an uninsured vehicle from their impound lot. 

Table A-3 compares the implementation procedures in Franklin and Hamilton 
Counties. 
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Table A-3

Comparison of implementation procedures in Franklin and Hamilton Counties


Fran f Carynty' , Momlliton'Counta/ 
Procedures (incudesGbluiri s)'' (includws Cini~#r"i 

Method of enforcing law Vehicle impoundment followed Vehicle impoundment and 
by immobilization with club plate removal 
device and plate removal 

Pretrial practices Some pretrial immobilization or Vehicle remains impounded 
vehicle remains impounded 

Use of impoundment City-owned lot and multiple Mainly city- and county-
facilities private towing companies owned lots , 

Fees charged for storage $7 to $8 per day $3 to $8 per day 

Procedure for getting title Registered owner notified by Same as Franklin County, but 
for abandoned vehicles police by certified mail after 7 court order also required 

days and given 20 days to 
respond 

Method for tracking Court-based immobilization Clerk of Courts sends court 
immobilization cases coordinator handles paperwork orders to police 

between courts and police departments (or police 
departments departments pick up court 

orders from clerk) 

Recipient of $100 Goes to the city or county Goes into city general 
immobilization fee police department that fund-specific fund for 

immobilizes the vehicle county sheriff's department 

Start-up issues that were •­ Communication between • Interpreting BMV record 
resolved for the most part courts and police and vice ­ to determine eligibility for 
(some solutions discussed in versa arrest 
Section A-3 of this 
appendix) 

•­ Timely execution of the court 
order by police 

•­ Determining court 
disposition of vehicles in 

•­ No court entry for dismissals 
impound lot 

and for vehicles that had •­ Getting abandoned 
served time before vehicles released for sale 
conviction or salvage 

•­ Pretrial sale of vehicles •­ Overflowing impound lots 

•­ Loss of income by impound 
lot owners who could not 
recover costs 

Appendix A-12 



A-3. IMPLEMENTATION ISSUES 

A. Overview 

The application of any new sanction inevitably creates new work for one or 
more of the agencies in the driver control system-the police department, the court, 
the motor vehicle department, and the jail system. The implementation processes 
described in the previous section allude to several implementation issues created by 
vehicle impoundment and immobilization and plate confiscation: 

• Variations in application of the law 

• Establishing and maintaining lines of communication 

• Disposing of abandoned vehicles 

• Additional workload 

• Public Awareness 

Court staff and law enforcement officers were periodically interviewed 
throughout this study about their experiences relating to implementing the VA law. 
These included judges, prosecutors, police officers who enforce the law, and those 
who manage the police impound lots in Franklin and Hamilton Counties. The court-
based immobilization coordinator in Franklin County provided information and 
insight on process issues on a regular basis to inform the study. This section 
describes some of the issues that arose during implementation of the law and some 
proposed or implemented solutions. Even though there were start-up problems, 
support for the law from court and law enforcement officials in both counties 
continues to be high as the law is felt to be effective. 

B. Variations in Application of the Law 

As with all new legislation, the Ohio law was subject to differing 
interpretations. There were some objections to certain provisions of the law by 
police, prosecutors, judges, and Bureau of Motor Vehicle officials. These differing 
interpretations led to variations in the treatment of offenders during the first 2 
years of the program. 

In some cases, police officers decided to use alternate, simpler charging codes 
rather than the more complex procedures involved in impounding and immobilizing 
a vehicle. In other cases, police officers had difficulty accessing and interpreting 
driver records, causing either errors of omission or commission in charging 
motorists. A long lag time between the occurrence of a driving offense and entry into 
the driving record also contributed to missing some eligible offenders but this 
problem has been resolved. 

Prosecutors reduced or dismissed cases to ease caseloads and paperwork. If 
verifying driver records and license status at the time of the offense for trial was 
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difficult, this increased the workload and contributed to additional reduced or 
dismissed cases. As noted in the previous section, the Cincinnati City Prosecutor's 
office has a stated policy of not reducing or dismissing arrests made under the VA 
law. 

The law originally provided that all vehicles were to be seized at the time of 
arrest including those belonging to innocent or nonoffender owners. When it could 
be demonstrated that the nonoffender owner was or should have been aware that 
the offender was unlicensed, vehicles belonging to them could be immobilized or 
remain impounded, but the burden of proof was on the prosecutor. Some judges and 
prosecutors narrowly interpreted the innocent owner exception while others did not. 
Further, over time, some nonoffender owners and their lawyers learned what to say 
to invoke an innocent owner exception. 

As previously described, the seizure portion of the law relating to non-
offenders was later overturned by a District Court decision, citing insufficient notice 
to vehicle owners. Later, the Ohio Supreme Court upheld the District Court 
Decision but did not prohibit the immobilization or forfeiture of the nonoffender 
owner's vehicle after conviction of the driver of the vehicle. In practice, however, 
neither county usually impounds or immobilizes a vehicle owned by a third party 
after the conviction of the offender. 

As of this writing, there was a trend in Franklin County for judges to order 
the immobilization of non-offender owners in DWS cases when the owner is a 
spouse of the offender. Much of this variation in the application of the Ohio law is 
inherent in all justice and motor vehicle systems. However, information about 
procedures presented in a clear and direct way can and did improve consistency in 
applying the law in Ohio. 

C. Lines of Communication 

Successfully implementing the VA law required that clear lines of 
communication be established. Both Hamilton and Franklin Counties used a 
committee or task force consisting of representatives from police agencies, judges, 
prosecutors, and other court personnel to coordinate implementation of the VA law. 
The state also conducted training conferences for judges and prosecutors to 
introduce the VA and other new laws. 

Despite these efforts, both counties initially experienced problems when the 
lines of communication between agencies were not clear. As these are large 
jurisdictions with many players, a certain amount of confusion was expected. The 
counties acted quickly to clear the confusion by calling meetings with key 
participants to answer questions about procedures. 

The immobilization coordinator in Franklin County was particularly helpful 
in keeping the lines of communication open between the police, judges, court staff, 
the BMV, defense attorneys, and offenders. He created new forms when needed to 
facilitate communication and was instrumental in the passage of amendments to 
improve implementation processes. The prosecutor in Cincinnati took a lead role in 
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problem solving and coordinating with the police and other court staff as 
implementation issues arose in that jurisdiction. 

A standardized BMV form used by all courts in Ohio for immobilization 
orders was helpful. It included all the pertinent information about the offense, court 
outcome, the offender, the vehicle, and location of the vehicle. It is a four-part form 
with copies going to the offender, BMV, police agency, and the court (see Appendix 
D). 

A technical handbook with a series of updates on Ohio's DUI laws, published 
by the Ohio Department of Public Safety, was a valuable tool for keeping the police, 
courts, and BMV abreast of procedures and amendments to the VA law. 

D. Abandoned Vehicles 

Traditionally, abandoned vehicles in impound lots for any reason create a 
problem. When storage fees accumulate in excess of the vehicle's value, the owner 
abandons the vehicle. Most of the vehicles impounded under the VA law are valued 
at less than $500, thus often making them worth less than the total costs required 
for release. Storage fees can range from $3 to $8 per day, and it is not uncommon for 
a case to take 90 days to come to trial. The longer the vehicle sanction period, the 
larger the abandoned vehicle problem becomes. The Hamilton County Sheriffs 
Department offers a half-priced discount ($3 per day) for vehicles in the impound lot 
under the VA law. Theoretically, this practice can reduce the abandoned vehicle 
problem, although this issue was not studied. 

Abandoned vehicles can cause a loss of income for impound lot owners, the 
private operators in particular. Some city and county police agencies are liable for 
storage fees of vehicles abandoned at private lots. The police agencies in the two 
counties studied have their own impound lots but also use private lots to impound 
vehicles. During this study, one of the private lots reportedly sued the city of 
Columbus for unpaid fees, while another lot refused to accept vehicles under court-
ordered immobilization holds. 

Immobilization can alleviate the abandoned vehicle problem to some extent. 
The club device is relatively inexpensive and the offender pays a $100 fee for the 
installation and removal of the device. (The Office of Traffic Safety, Ohio 
Department of Public Safety, provided the club devices to start the immobilization 
effort in Franklin County.) In Franklin County, long periods of impoundment are 
sometimes avoided with immobilization with a club device either pre- or post-trial. 
The percentage of abandoned vehicles was lower in Franklin County; 23% compared 
to an estimated 33% in Hamilton County. 

Originally, the VA law allowed owners 60 days after the sentence completion 
date to claim their vehicle before it was forfeited. This created a heavy financial 
burden on impound lot operators who had to hold the vehicles until the 
immobilization period (30-180 days) had been served plus an additional 60 days. 
The title of a vehicle with an immobilization hold was blocked by the BMV until the 
vehicle sentence had been completed and the $100 immobilization fee had been 
paid. These policies prevented lot owners from getting the vehicle title for sale or 
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salvage for several months in some cases. This problem was addressed with a 
legislative amendment to the VA law that shortened the time allowed to claim a 
vehicle (after the required written notification 7 days after the immobilization 
expiration date) from 60 to 20 days. Further, the title block provision has been 
replaced by a registration block on the vehicle owner. 

Another complication arises when a vehicle owner voluntarily agrees to 
forfeit the vehicle as it is not worth paying the fees to retrieve it. Vehicles forfeited 
under the law trigger a 5 year registration block for the owner. Some provision yet 
needs to be made to distinguish between a voluntary vehicle forfeiture and a vehicle 
that is forfeited due to an eligible offense. 

E. Workload 

1. Police 
As described previously, the increase in ° workload for police officers to 

impound vehicles and later immobilize and deimmobilize (in Franklin County) or 
release vehicles can be significant, but it is thought to be worth the effort. Some 
departments assign one or more "immobilization officers" to follow-up on impounded 
and/or immobilized vehicles. If the police department operates its own impound lot, 
tracking vehicles under court-ordered immobilization holds creates additional work. 
Additionally, extra work is required when police do not have easy access to 
computerized court records to determine the current status of vehicles in their lots. 
Unlike Franklin County, the Hamilton County police agencies had no 
immobilization coordinator to monitor the flow of information about vehicles, which 
added to their workload. They did not, however, have the additional work involved 
in making appointments with offenders for the immobilization and 
deimmobilization of vehicles. There has been a trend in Ohio to opt for impounding 
vehicles for the length of the sanction period rather than immobilize with a club 
device. Franklin County, however, successfully continues its fourth year of 
immobilizing vehicles. Another significant workload issue for the police impound 
units are the many inevitable abandoned "junker"vehicles that require removal or 
disposal. 

Although the increased workload can be substantial for police agencies, it is 
offset by the income generated from the $100 immobilization fees. In Franklin 
County, the $100 fees go directly to the police departments while in Hamilton 
County, the fees generated by city police agencies go into a general city fund. Fees 
generated by the Sheriffs Department in Hamilton County go into a special fund 
designated for the Sheriffs Department. In calendar year 1994, jurisdictions in 
Franklin County were reimbursed $46,000 in immobilization fees and, in Hamilton 
County, $68,000 in fees. 

2. Court 
Immobilization cases take additional courtroom time for such issues as 

determining if the vehicle was seized appropriately, for separate hearings for 
innocent owners, and (in Hamilton County) to transfer title of abandoned vehicles. 
Judges, prosecutors, clerks and bailiffs have to complete additional forms, and extra 
time is required to check the computerized driving record system to determine the 
appropriate sentence. 
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Not all jurisdictions will be able to fund a position such as the Franklin 
County court-based immobilization coordinator to keep records and manage the flow 
of paperwork between the court and the police departments. Consequently, the 
burden of paperwork and tracking vehicles usually falls to the court clerk's office 
and the police departments and/or police impound lots. 

3. Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) 
There is additional work for the BMV to record the dates of immobilization 

(received from the courts) on an offender's state vehicle registration file. Since 
legislation prohibited the sale of immobilized vehicles, the BMV put an automatic 
title block on the vehicles until the sanction period was completed and the $100 fee 
was paid. However, some owners continued to sell vehicles that were in impound 
lots, causing problems for the new owner who could not get the title or had to pay 
the $100 immobilization fee. Consequently, title officials complained and a new 
legislative amendment prohibited title action. The same amendment now provides 
for blocking the vehicle owner from registering any vehicles until the sanction 
period is complete and the $100 fee is paid. Extra work is also involved for the BMV 
to collect the $100 immobilization fees and distribute these funds to the police 
agency or jurisdiction that was responsible for carrying out the VA order. 

F. Public Awareness 

There was a significant public information campaign about the changes to 
Ohio's DUI laws that was initiated prior to the original July 1 effective date of the 
legislation and continued through the actual implementation date of September 
1993 and beyond. The Swift and Sure campaign included information about the new 
ALS law and the VA law, or as referred to in Ohio, the Immobilization Law. A press 
conference was held by the Governor, and a series of radio and television ads were 
aired statewide. The ads focused on ALS, but there were also public service 
announcements and on-going news releases on the risk of vehicle impoundment, 
immobilization, and forfeiture. Two Swift and Sure informational brochures and the 
BMV form used by the police to record ALS and immobilization actions, which has 
information on the reverse side of the form for the offender about the risk of vehicle 
immobilization, are included in Appendix E. 

In addition to this statewide publicity directed at the general driving public, 
some localities implemented educational activities focused more specifically on 
offenders at risk for the immobilization sanction. In Franklin County, for example, 
posters (Appendix E) were displayed in the local offices of the BMV and leaflets 
(Appendix E) were circulated to drivers convicted of driving under the influence 
warning of the vehicle impoundmentlimmobilization penalty for DUI and DWS 
offenses. 

In addition, some of the court mandated educational programs (DUI schools) 
for first DUI offenders included information on the immobilization law in their 
curricula, as did Franklin County. The majority of attendees at these programs are 
first-time DUI offenders who would be at risk of impoundment and immobilization 
for driving with a suspended license as a result of a DUI conviction and/or for a 
subsequent DUI conviction. 
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Appendix B.


Immobilization Forms

from


Franklin County




FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT 
VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION COORDINATOR 

375 S. HIGH STREET, 9TH FLOOR 
COLUMBUS, OHIO 43215-4520 

TO: 
Law Enforcement Agency 

FROM: Elwin Rasmussen, Phone 645-5962; Fax: 645-1806 

DATE: 

RE: Defendant: 

Case No: 

ATTACHED ARE COPIES OF THE FOLLOWING: 

Court order to immobilize vehicle 

Court order to release vehicle and license plates to vehicle owner 

Confirmation of Vehicle Immobilization Form** 
**A copy of the completed form is to be returned to this office 

Information sheet to be given defendant 

DO NOT TOW NOTICE; place it in immobilized vehicle on dash or front seat where 
it can be read from outside the vehicle 

De-immobilization notice 

Pre-trial release order authorizing re-location of vehicle 



RETURN COMPLETED COPY OF THIS FORM TO VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION COORDINATOR


CONFIRMATION OF VEHICLE

PRE-TRIAL SEIZURE CONTINUED


AT NEW LOCATION


Date: 

From: 
Law Enforcement Agency 

To: Franklin County Municipal Court 
Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator 
375 South High Street, 9th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215-4520 

Phone: 645-5962 
Fax: 645-1806 

Defendant: Case # 

Address: 

Home Phone # Work Phone# 

VehicleOwner: 

Address: 

Home Phone# Work Phone # 

Vehicle: Year Make Color 

License# Vehicle ID# 

Type device used to immobilize: Club Other 

Odometer mileage when immobilized 

New location of vehicle: 

Date vehicle immobilized at new location: 

License plates recovered: yes no 

SIGNATURE -& BADGE OF OFFICER IMMOBILIZING VEHICLE 

Distribution: 
(1) Law Enforcement Agency 
(2) Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator, F.C. Municipal Court 



CONFIRMATION OF VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION


RETURN COMPLETED COPY OF THIS FORM TO VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION COORDINATOR 

FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT


Date:


From:

Law Enforcement Agency


To: Franklin County Municipal Court

Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator Phone: 645-5962

375 South High Street, 9th Floor Fax: 645-1806

Columbus, Ohio 43215-4520


Defendant : Case #


Home Phone # Work Phone#


Address:


Vehicle: Year Make Color


License# Vehicle ID#


Vehicle registered to:


Vehicle to be immobilized at


Vehicle currently at location indicated below:


Residence Impound lot	 Other 

Name & address


Type device used to immobilize: Club Other


Odometer mileage when immobilized


Date vehicle immobilized


Period of immobilization


License plates recovered: yes no


Comments:


SIGNATURE & BADGE # OF OFFICER IMMOBILIZING VEHICLE 
Distribution: 

(1)	 Law Enforcement Agency 
(2)	 Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator, Franklin County Municipal 

Court 



DE-IMMOBILIZATION NOTICE

RETURN COMPLETED FORM TO VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION COORDINATOR


Date: 

From: Elwin Rasmussen 
Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator 
Franklin County Municipal Court 
375 South High Street, Ninth Floor 
Columbus, OH. 43215 

Phone: 

FAX: 

(614) 

(614) 

645-5962 

645-1806 

TO: 
Law Enforcement Agency 

SUBJECT: Case # 

Home Phone Work Phone 

Address: 

Vehicle: Year Make Vin # 

License Plate # Registered Owner: 

Vehicle Location: 

Mileage when de-immobilized: 

Mileage when immobilized: 

The above vehicle was immobilized on for a period of 

days. THE DEVICE USED FOR IMMOBILIZATION SHOULD BE REMOVED ON 

IF PROOF OF PAYMENT OF THE $100.00 FEE TO THE BMV VERIFIED. 

***** PLEASE RETURN THIS FORM INDICATING ACTION TAKEN ***** 

(A) Immobilization device removed on above date. 

(B) Vehicle cannot be located. 

(C) Bureau of Motor Vehicles notified of (B). 

(D) Immobilization device is missing or evidence of tampering. 

(E) Unable to contact defendant or owner. 

Name Badge of icer Removing Device 

***REMINDER, pursuant to R.C. 4503.233 (d) (3) , seven days after expiration of 
immobilization period, vehicle owner must be notified in writing law 
enforcement agency o e the vehicle that vehicle owner has 20 
days from expiration date of immobilization period to pay fees and obtain 
release of vehicle or vehicle will be forfeited to the state. 



IF YOU ARE THE VEHICLE OWNER AND THE DEFENDANT IS FOUND GUILTY OF

THE CHARGE WHICH CAUSED YOUR VEHICLE TO BE SEIZED, THE BELOW LISTED

INFORMATION AND PROCEDURES WILL APPLY. 

SALE OF VEHICLE: Approval of court must be obtained to'sell vehicle. If sale or 
transfer of vehicle occurs without court approval, between the time of arrest of 
the person operating the vehicle and the time of the immobilization of the 
vehicle, the court will direct the BMV that the vehicle owner cannot register a 
vehicle in his/her name for two years from the date of the court entry. 

FEES: IMMOBILIZATION FEE OF $100.00 MUST BE PAID TO THE BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
TO OBTAIN RELEASE OF VEHICLE AT THE END OF THE IMMOBILIZATION PERIOD. IT CAN NOT 
BE PAID AT A DEPUTY REGISTRAR. IF THE $100.00 FEE IS NOT PAID, THE BUREAU OF 
MOTOR VEHICLES WILL PLACE A REGISTRATION BLOCK ON ALL VEHICLES OWNED BY THE 
VEHICLE OWNER UNTIL THE $100.00 FEE IS PAID. 

IMMOBILIZATION AND IMPOUNDMENT PERIOD: BEGINS ON THE DAY THE VEHICLE IN QUESTION 
IS IMMOBILIZED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT OR PERSONNEL DESIGNATED BY THE COURT. PERIOD 
OF PRE-TRIAL SEIZURE.OF VEHICLE IS CREDITED TO THE PERIOD OF IMMOBILIZATION. 

EXPIRATION OF IMMOBILIZATION: THE VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION COORDINATOR WILL INFORM 
THE POLICE AGENCY, WHICH IMMOBILIZED YOUR VEHICLE, THE DATE ON WHICH YOUR VEHICLE 
CAN BE RELEASED. YOU WILL NEED TO PROVIDE THE POLICE AGENCY EVIDENCE THAT YOU 
HAVE PAID THE $100.00 FEE TO THE BUREAU BEFORE THEY WILL DE-IMMOBILIZE THE VEHICLE 
OR RELEASE THE VEHICLE TO YOU. 

LICENSE PLATES: IF VEHICLE IS IN CUSTODY OF INDIVIDUAL, PLATES MUST BE PRESENTED 
TO THE COURT AT TIME OF SENTENCING OR WITHIN TWO DAYS AFTER SENTENCING OR 
SURRENDERED TO THE OFFICER AT TIME OF IMMOBILIZATION. The license plates will be 
forwarded to the BMV where the plates will be destroyed. YOU WILL NEED TO 
PURCHASE REPLACEMENT PLATES FOR APPROXIMATELY $5.00 WHICH WILL TAKE YOU TO YOUR 
NEXT ANNIVERSARY, IF THE PLATES WERE STILL GOOD. 

ORDER OF FORFEITURE: **Forfeiture of vehicle may occur by order of the court for 
first offense of driving a vehicle that is immobilized and plates impounded by 
court order. Other offenses that may cause criminal forfeiture of vehicle are: 
fourth OMVI offense within 5 years; third offense within 5 years of driving under 
OMVI or financial responsibility suspension; second offense of owner knowingly 
permitting a person who is under driving suspension to drive a vehicle they own. 



LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY 

Date 

TO:	 Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator, Phone 614-645-5962 
Franklin County Municipal Court Fax 614-645-1806 

FROM: 
Officer/Deputy 

RE: Defendant 

Vehicle Owner 

Home phone #	 Work phone 

Case # 

This agency has been unable to contact the defendant/vehicle owner 
or locate the vehicle. Three attempts have been made on three 
different days and at three different' times, to contact the 
defendant/vehicle owner and locate the vehicle. Listed below are 
the dates, times and the name and badge # of the officer (s) who 
attempted the contact. 

(A)	 Vehicle cannot be located 

(B)	 Defendant unable to be contacted 

Dates and times attempts were made to locate 
vehicle: 

Dates and times attempts were made to contact 
defendant : 

Comments: 



IN THE FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

COLUMBUS, OHIO


STATE OF OHIO, 
CITY OF COLUMBUS, 

V. : Case No. M TF 

Defendant.


NOTICE


Upon information supplied by the agency designated to enforce the immobilization 

order, notice is hereby given that the vehicle owner has failed to comply with the court's order of 

immobilization and impoundment dated 

Attached to this notice is information provided by the law enforcement agency in their 

attempts to contact the vehicle owner and locate the vehicle. 

The BMV-2270 Form will be sent to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles with an 

INDEFINITE date commencing this date. This will place a Registration block on the vehicle owner 

and a message in LEADS which instructs Law Enforcement to seize vehicle if found being operated 

on the roadway. 

DATE VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION COORDINATOR 

Form 12: Notification of Non Compliance/Order of Immobilization & Impoundment 



VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION COORDINATOR 
Franklin County Municipal Court 

375 South High Street, Ninth Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215 

Dat e 

To: 

Street 

City, State Zip Code 

Enclosed are your copies of the BMV-2270 form. The Court records 
indicate that you did not receive this at the time of your 
hearing/trial on 

If you are found guilty of the charge which caused your vehicle 
to be seized, the Court is required by law to create an 
Immobilization and Impoundment Entry and complete a BMV 2270 form 
and send copies to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. When the BMV­
2270 form is processed by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles it places 
a registration block on all vehicles registered in your name. It 
also prevents license plates from being purchased or renewed on 
any vehicle. registered in your name. THIS REMAINS UNTIL THE 
IMMOBILIZATION PERIOD ENDS AND A $100.00 IMMOBILIZATION FEE IS 
PAID TO THE BMV. 

The required period of immobilization on your vehicle was/will be 
complete on 

I would suggest that you take your copies of the BMV-2270 form to 
the Bureau of Motor Vehicles on Kimberly Parkway in Columbus and 
pay the $100.00 fee to prevent the above. 

Enclosed is an Information Sheet that will hopefully answer some 
of your questions. 

Sincerely, 

Elwin Rasmussen 
Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator 



Appendix C.


Court Entry Forms




CHECKLIST OF ENTRY FORMS FOR CHARGES

INVOLVING VEHICLES IN DUST ENTRUSTMENT AND


REPEAT OMVI CASES


DUS: 
Charges eligible for immobilization: 
*	 FRA Susp- ORC-4507.02(B)(1) ** 

- Cols-2135.01(b)(1) *** 
DUI Susp- ORC-4507.02(D)(2) ** 

- Cols-2135.01(d)(2) *** 
*	 Leads codes requiring seizure/immobilization 

SJ----Judgement Suspension 
SR----Failure to File Crash Report 
SS----Security Suspension 
NC----Non-Compliance 

1st off-30 days; 2nd off-60 days; 3rd off--forfeit 
Unlawful Entrustment ORC-4507.33 ** 

** - Cols-2135.04 *** 
1st off-30 days; 2nd - forfeit 

**- -OR EEQUIVALENT MUNICIPAL CHARGES 
***- -City of Columbus Codes 

OBI: 
Charges eligible for immobilization: 

Second & Third Offense w/in 6 years 
2nd off-90 days Immob; 3rd off-180 days Immob; 

4th off-vehicle forfeiture 

ENTRIES INVOLVING DISPOSITION OF VEHICLE: 

Form #2 Notice to non defendant owner 
Form #3 Denial of request to release vehicle 
Form #4 Return of vehicle & plates 
Form #4A Relocation of Seized Vehicle 
Form #5 Charges amended/dismissed, etc 

(No further action involving vehicle) 
Form #9 Notice to non defendant owner of hearing 
Form #10 Immobilization Entry 
Form #10A Immobilization Information Sheet 

BMV #2270: Notification of Immobilization 
Form #14 Innocent owner relief order granted Vehicle Released to Owner 
Form #15 Innocent owner relief denied Vehicle Released to Owner 
Form #16 Order of Forfeiture 

BMV-2269: Notification of Forfeiture 
Form 16A Certification of Compliance 
Form #17 Vehicle transfer w/o Courts consent; two year restriction to register vehicle 

Rev 4/97 



FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

COLUMBUS, OHIO


STATE OF OHIO, 
CITY OF COLUMBUS, 

V. 

DEFENDANT.	 CASE NO. M TF 

NOTICE 

TO VEHICLE OWNER: 

NAME:	 YR: VIN# 

ADDRESS:	 MAKE: 

CITY:	 STATE MODEL: 

ZIP:	 PLATE NO: 

The Clerk of the Franklin County Municipal Court has determined that the above named 
defendant is not the owner of the vehicle used in the commission of the offense(s) charged. 
Information filed with the Clerk indicates that you are the owner of the vehicle. 

You are hereby advised that the vehicle used by the defendant during the offense for which 
he/she has been charged and its identification plates have been seized pursuant to R.C. 4507.38 
or R.C. 4511.195. You are further advised that: 

1.	 If the defendant is convicted of the charge which caused the vehicle to be seized, the 
court must generally order the immobilization of the vehicle and impoundment of its 
license plates, or the forfeiture of the vehicle subject to R.C. 4503.235 (Rights of an 
innocent owner). 

2.	 Seven days after the end of the period of immobilization, a law enforcement agency will 
send the owner notice informing him that if he does not obtain the release of the vehicle 
(within 20 days of the notice), the vehicle will be forfeited R.C. 4507. 38 (C) (2) (a) . 

3.	 As the vehicle owner, you may be charged expenses or charges incurred in connection with 
the immobilization of the vehicle. 

4.	 If the vehicle operator pleads guilty to or is convicted of the offense for which the 
vehicle operator was arrested and the court issues an order of immobilization, the vehicle 
may not be sold, assigned or transferred during the period of immobilization without court 
approval. 

5.	 If the title to the motor vehicle that is subject to an order of forfeiture is 
Or the court may fine the offender the value of the vehicle. 

You may wish to seek legal assistance to protect your interest in the vehicle. The initial 
appearance on the charge(s) pending against the defendant is scheduled for 
at a.m./p.m., in the Franklin County Municipal Court Courtroom 

This is to certify that a copy of this notice was mailed to the above named vehicle owner 
this day of , 19 

Paul M. Herbert, Clerk 

By 
Deputy Clerk 

Form 2: Notice/Initial Appearance/Non Defendant Owner-REV 10/96 



FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

COLUMBUS, OHIO


State of Ohio, 
City of Columbus, 

V. 

Defendant. Case No. M TF 

ENTRY 

This matter came before the Court on the motion of the vehicle owner filed 
pursuant to R.C. 4507.38 or R.C. 4511.195. The court makes the following 
Findings: 

For the foregoing reasons, the motion for release of return of the vehicle 
is DENIED. The court hereby orders the vehicle and its identification plates 
retained or the vehicle immobilized and its identification plates retained until-
final disposition of the charges against the above named defendant. 

Identification of Vehicle Owner Identification of Vehicle: 
(if other than defendant): 

Name: Yr: 

Address: Make: 

City: State Model: 

Zip: Plate No: 

A copy of this Entry was served upon the vehicle owner or counsel this date. 

or 

The Clerk is hereby directed to serve a copy of this Entry on the vehicle 
owner. 

Date JUDGE 

Form 3: Entry/Continuation of Vehicle Seizure 



TRAWMIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT 
COL U3, O8Io 

State of Ohio/City v.	 Case No. M TF 

This matter came before the Court on the motion of the vehicle owner filed pursuant 
to R.C.4507.38 or R.C. 4511.195. Finding good cause to do so, the court hereby orders the vehicle 
and its license plates released to the vehicle owner immediately upon presentation of a copy of 
this Entry, and payment of expenses and charges incurred in the removal and storage of the 
vehicle. The vehicle owner is further advised: 

1.	 If the defendant named herein is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violation of divisions 
B(1) or D(2) of R.C.4507.02, R.C.4511.19, R.C. 4507.33, or substantially equivalent 
municipal ordinances, the court, subject to R.C.4503.235 and depending on the defendant's 
prior record, will issue an order for the immobilization of the vehicle and the 
impoundment of the license plates or an order for the forfeiture of the vehicle. 

2.	 If the vehicle is immobilized, the court will determine location. Most city ordinances 
do not allow parking on streets over 72 hours. If the vehicle owner rents or leases a 
residence, the court will require written permission from the property owner before 
approving the residence as the location where the vehicle will be immobilized. 
Immobilizing the vehicle at the residence of the vehicle owner's spouse, parent, or child 
does, not require written approval if the property is in their name. 

3.	 Seven (7) days after the end of the period of immobilization, a law enforcement agency 
will send the vehicle owner notice advising that if the owner does not obtain the release 
of the vehicle within 20 days of the date of that notice, the vehicle will be forfeited. 
The owner may be charged expenses and charges incurred in connection with the removal, 
storage and immobilization of the vehicle. 

4.	 The vehicle may not be sold or transferred without permission of the court. if the vehicle 
is sold, assigned or transferred without court approval, the court may order the Registrar 
not to accept any application from the vehicle owner identified herein for a period of two 
years. If the title to the motor vehicle that is subject to an order of criminal 
forfeiture is assigned or transferred, the court may fine the offender the value of the 
vehicle. 

5.	 If the vehicle has been subject to pretrial seizure for the period of immobilization 
required to be imposed as a penalty for conviction of the offense charged, the vehicle 
released pursuant to this Entry is still subject to the conditions and the sanctions 
described in paragraphs 1-4 above. The issuance of an order of immobilization at the time 
of conviction will be reported to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles and will result in a 
registration block until the $100.00 immobilization fee is paid to the Bureau of Motor 
Vehicles. 

6.	 Other: 

vehicle owner:

Name: Year:


Address:	 Make: 

City:	 Model: 

Phone No:	 Plate No. 

A copy of this Entry was served upon

the vehicle owner or counsel this date.


OR

Owner's/Counsel for owner's signature 

The Clerk is hereby directed to serve a 
copy of this Entry on the vehicle owner. 

DATE	 JUDGE 



FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT 
COLUMBUS, OHIO 

State of Ohio, 
City of Columbus, 

Plaintiff, 

V. : Case No. M - TF 

Defendant. 

RELOCATION OF IMMOBILIZED VEHICLE ENTRY 

This matter came on before the court upon the oral motion of the below 
stated vehicle owner pursuant to R.C. 4507.38 or R.C. 4511.195. The 
vehicle operated by the above stated defendant and designated below has 
been ordered seized and retained pending/as a disposition of this case. 
The said vehicle is subject to possible immobilization and the impoundment 
of identification plates upon the disposition of this case. 

The applicant desires the seized vehicle to be relocated and 
immobilized at 
and agrees to pay all pending costs for towing and storage as well as the 
towing costs to relocate the said vehicle. 

Upon motion of the applicant, the court orders the below designated 
vehicle immobilized with a "Club" device and towed at the applicant's 
expense to the above stated location upon payment of all pending towing 
and storage costs. The OPERATION, SALE, OR CONVEYANCE of the below 
designated vehicle requires approval of the court. Failure to comply with 
this order may result in further sanctions by the Court. Confirmation of 
the relocation of the immobilized vehicle shall be made immediately to the 
Court Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator (Phone: 645-5962). 

Vehicle Owner: 
Name: Year: 
Address: Make: 
City: State: Zip Model: 
Phone No: Plate No: 

Arresting Agency:


Agency to attach "Club".at above location


A copy of this Entry was served upon the vehicle owner or counsel 
this date. 

OR 
Owner's/Counsel for Owner's Signature 

The Clerk is hereby directed to serve a copy of this Entry on the 
vehicle owner. 

Copy to Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator 

DATE JUDGE 



IN THE FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

COLUMBUS, OHIO


STATE OF OHIO, 
CITY OF COLUMBUS, 

V.	 Case No. M TF 

Defendant. 

SRI 

q	 The defendant has been found not guilty of the charge which caused the vehicle at issue 
to be seized pursuant to R.C. 4507.38 or 4511.195. 

q	 The charge has been dismissed which caused the vehicle at issue to be seized pursuant to 
R.C. 4507.38 or 4511.195. 

q	 First offense OMVI penalties were imposed pursuant to R.C. 4511.99(A) (1), despite evidence 
of a prior conviction. Defendant proved that a prior OMVI conviction was uncounseled. 

q	 The Court finds the vehicle owner innocent relative to the violation in question pursuant 
to R.C. 4503.235. 

q	 Other: 

Vehicle Owner:	 VIN #: 

Name:	 Yr: 

Address:	 Make: 

City:	 Model: 

Phone No:	 Plate No. 

It is therefore ORDERED, that the vehicle be released and its 
identification plates returned to the vehicle owner or a person acting on 
behalf of the vehicle owner immediately upon presentation of a copy of this 
Order. Payment of any towing and storage fees may be required to obtain 
release of vehicle, if vehicle is impounded. 

Date	 JUDGE 

q	 A copy of this entry was served q The Clerk is hereby directed to serve 
upon the vehicle owner or counsel. a copy of this Entry on the vehicle 
owner. 

By	 By 

q Copy provided the Vehicle Immobilization Coordinator. 

WHITE-COURT FILE YELLOW-DEFENDANT PINK-VIPC 
Form 5; Rev 3/97 



FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT 
COLUMBUS, OHIO 

State of Ohio, 
City of Columbus, 

v. Case No. M._TF 

Defendant. 

To: Vehicle Owner: 

Name: Yr. VIN# 

Address: Make: 

City/State Model: 

Plate No. 

The above named defendant has entered a plea of guilty or has been found guilty of a violation, the 
consequences of which include the immobilization of the vehicle used during the commission of the offense and the 
impoundment of the identification plates or the forfeiture of the vehicle to the State. The Court has determined that the 
defendant is not the vehicle owner and that the vehicle owner was not present at the defendant's initial appearance. 
The court file indicates that the vehicle owner was not provided adequate notice of the initial appearance and/or of 
subsequent hearings before the court. 

The Court shall refrain from issuing any order regarding the vehicle used in the commission of the offense 
until the hearing at which time the vehicle owner or a person acting on his behalf appears before the court to present 
evidence as to why the court should not order the immobilization of the vehicle or the criminal forfeiture of the 
vehicle. If the owner fails to appear, immobilization or forfeiture will be ordered. 

The vehicle owner identified herein is ordered to appear at a hearing relative to the proposed order of 
immobilization or forfeiture on the day of , 199 at a.m/p.m. in 
Courtroom of the Franklin County Municipal Court. 

The Clerk is hereby instructed to serve a copy of this Entry on the vehicle owner by ordinary mail. 

Date Judge/Magistrate 

mgstr\traffic\# 9: Notice to Non Defendant Owner of Impending Order of Immobilimtion REV 2/97 



IMMOBILIZATION INFORMATION CASE # 

DEFENDANT'S NAME


ADDRESS


HOME PHONE WORK PH


VEHICLE OWNER 

ADDRESS 

HOME PHONE WORK PH 

PRESENT LOCATION OF VEHICLE 

LOCATION TO BE IMMOBILIZED 

ATTORNEY'S NAME 

ATTORNEY'S PHONE 

DOES VEHICLE OWNER INTEND TO CLAIM VEHICLE 
AT END OF IMMOBILIZATION PERIOD? YES NO 

DATE 
SIGNATURE VEHICLE OWNER 

Form 10A 



IN THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF FRAN2Q.IN COUNTY 
COLUMBUS, OHIO 

City of Columbus, 
State of Ohio, 

V. 

Defendant. Case No: M TF 

IMMOBILIZATION ENTRY 

Having found the defendant guilty of (Section(s) 
the Court hereby ORDERS the immobilization of the motor vehicle. 

Year Plate No. Make Model VIN# 

Date Vehicle Seized: Date Vehicle Released from Seizure: 

Name of Arresting Agency: 

Present Location of Vehicle: 

Period of Immobilization: days from date immobilized by law enforcement (pretrial 
seizure period credited in full. 

Location of Immobilization of Vehicle: 

Person/Agency designated to immobilize vehicle: appropriate law enforcement agency or 

Vehicle Owner: Home Tel.# 

Address: Work Tel.# 

At the time of immobilization, the agency/person designated above shall seize the identification plates and forward them directly 
to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. if vehicle is seized and the court orders the vehicle immobilized at a new location, the vehicle 
must be towed to the new location. The vehicle owner will ensure that this order is carried out. If the vehicle owner has any 
questions concerning the enforcement of this order, the owner my contact the Vehicle Iaobilization Coordinator for this court 
at 614-645-5962. Vehicle cannot be operated/driven. 

#tttt##tttttttttttttttt###t#t##ttttttttttttttttttttttt#ttt#tttttt#t#t#ttttttt#t#tttttttttt 

IF THE VEHICLE OWNER FAILS TO COMPLY WITH ANY PROVISION OF THIS ORDER, THE COURT MAY IMPOSE 
SANCTIONS UPON THE OWNER. AT THE TERMINATION OF THE IMMOBILIZATION PERIOD, THE VEHICLE OWNER WILL 
BE REQUIRED TO PAY A FEE OF $100.00 BEFORE THE VEHICLE IS RELEASED. The Registrar will not be 
permitted to accept an application for the license plate registration of any motor vehicle in 
the name of the vehicle owner until the $100.00 fee is paid. 
IF THE VEHICLE IS IMMOBILIZED AND FOUND TO BE OPERATED IN VIOLATION OF THIS ORDER, IT MAY BE 
SEIZED AND CRIMINALLY FORFEITED TO THE STATE OF OHIO. 
tt4ttt##tttt##t#tt#t44##ttttt#t+tttttt#tt#tttttttttt4##tttt#ttttt###t#ttt#ttt#ttt#ttt##ttt 

Date JUDGE 
tttttt+ttttttt+t#ttttttttt+ttttttttttttt#tttt+tttt###tttttttttttttttt###tt#ttttttt#ttt#t:: 

A copy of this ENTRY was served The Clerk is hereby directed 
upon the vehicle owner or counsel, to serve a copy of this Entry on 
this date. the vehicle owner. 

By By 

Form 10:Immobilizatlon Entry )/96 

WHITE-COURT FILE YELLOW-BMV PINK-DEFENDANT GOLD-VIPC 



        *

OHIO BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

COURT ISSUED IMMOBILIZATION NOTICE (4503.233 ORC)

1COURT HEARING DATE / / COURT CASE NUMBER: VIOLATION DATE

NAME OF COURT COURT CODE

OWNER NAME LAST FIRST MIDDLE SOC SEC NO.

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY COUNTY CODE

LICENSE NUMBER STATE ISSUED EXPIRATION DATE CONVICTED OF
/ / q ORC

SEC. . q MUNICIPALITYOFFENSE CONVICTED OF

MUNI NAME

Is the vehicle owner the same as the offender? q YES q NO q JOINT OWNER If no, complete offender information.

OFFENDER NAME LAST FIRST MIDDLE D.O.B. SOC SEC NO.

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY COUNTY CODE

LICENSE NUMBER STATE ISSUED EXPIRATION DATE CONVICTED OF
/ / q ORC

SEC. q MUNICIPALITYOFFENSE CONVICTED OF

MUNI NAME

* Who Is the post conviction immobilizing agency?

AGENCY I. D. # TAX I.D. S

ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

** Where has the court ordered the vehicle to be immobilized? (post conviction)
STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

Length of Immobilization: From to

List vehicle to be immobilized.

STATE OF MAKE/MODEL PLATE
REGISTRATION VEHICLE I.D. NO. OF VEHICLE PLATE NO. TYPE

COURT SEAL HERE

Deputy Clerk of Court's Signature X

City of County of
........................................................................................................................

Information to be completed by post conviction immobilizing agency for reimbursement

Plates turned into court? q YES q NO Plates turned into BMV? '0 YES q NO

Note: After the vehicle has been immobilized, the immobilizing agency must sign and return its copy of this
completed form to the BMV.

VERIFY THE ACCURACY OF THIS INFORMATION IN ORDER TO RECEIVE IMMOBILIZATION PAYMENT.
 * 

** I certify that the vehicle is now immobilized per court order at the location indicated above. X
Signature of Agency

*

White - BMV Green - Law Enforcement
Blue - Court Yellow - Vehicle Owner

BMV 2270 2/94 OVER Pink - Offender



FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

COLUMBUS, OHIO


State of Ohio, 
City of Columbus, 

V. 

Defendant. Case No. M TF 

ENTRY 

This matter came before the Court on the motion of the vehicle owner 
pursuant to R.C. 4503.235. The court makes the following Findings: 

For the foregoing reasons, the court finds that the vehicle owner was 
innocent of any wrongdoing relative to the offense or violation in question. The 
Court orders that the vehicle owner be relieved of the effect of any 
immobilisation order. The vehicle at issue shall not be immobilised and its 
identification plates shall not be impounded nor shall it be forfeited. 

It is further ordered, that if the vehicle is in the custody of law 
enforcement pursuant to R.C. 4507.38 or 4511.195, the vehicle and its 
identification plates shall be released or returned to the vehicle owner upon 
presentation of a copy of this order and upon payment of any towing and storage 
fees if vehicle is impounded. 

Identification of Vehicle Owner Identification of Vehicle: 
(if other than defendant): 

Name: Yr: 

Address: Make: 

City: State Models 

Zip: Plate No: 

A copy of this Entry was served upon the vehicle owner or counsel this date. 

or 

The Clerk is hereby directed to serve a copy of this Entry on the vehicle 
owner. 

Date JUDGE 

Form 14: kmocmt Owners 1/96 



FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

COLUMBUS, OHIO


State of Ohio, 
City of Columbus, 

V. 

Defendant. Case No. M TFD 

ENTRY 

This matter came before the court on the motion of the vehicle owner 
pursuant to R.C. 4507.38. The Referee makes the following Findings of Fact: 

For the foregoing reasons, the referee finds that the vehicle owner was not 
innocent of any wrongdoing relative to the offense or violation in question. The 
vehicle owner's request for relief pursuant to R.C. 4503.235 is denied. 

Identification of Vehicle Owner Identification of Vehicle: 

Name: Yr: 

Address: Make: 

City: State Model: 

Zip: Plate No: 

DATE REFEREEE 

***,t+r*tr**********************s*,t***rtw*,t,t*,ttr**+r**,e*,t,t**,t*,tw***,trt,t********,r****,r** 

ENTRY 

The referee's report is hereby adopted. The vehicle owner's request for relief 
pursuant to R.C. 4503.235 is denied. 

DATE JUDGE 

A copy of this Entry was served upon the vehicle owner or counsel this date. 
or 

The Clerk is hereby directed to serve a copy of this Entry on the vehicle 
owner. 

Ref 15: Innocent Owner/Re ief Denied (5/95) 



IN TSE MUNICIPAL COURT OF FRANELIN COUNTY

COLUNBU , OEIO


City of Columbus, 
State of Ohio, _ 

s 

V.	 _ 
: 

: 
:


Defendant. : Case No.M TF


.: . _ . w 0. M 

Having found the defendant guilty of (Section ), the Court 
further finds: 

that the vehicle owner had written notice prior to trial or entry of a plea of 
guilty or no contest that the vehicle in question would be subject to forfeiture if the 
defendant were found guilty; 

or 

that the affidavit or complaint charges the offense listed above; 

and 

that the law enforcement agency that will either receive the vehicle or share 
in the proceeds from its sale has conducted a search of the records for those who may have 
an interest in the vehicle and has notified those holding an interest of the potential 
order of forfeiture. 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT THE 1IOTOR VEHICLE DESCRIBED BELOW IS CRIMINALLY FORFEITED. 
The appropriate law enforcement agency shall take possession of the vehicle and dispose of 
it in accordance with R.C. 4503.234(D). 

Year Plate No.	 Make Model VIN# 

Vehicle Owner:	 Home Tel.# 

Addresst	 Work Tel.# 

DATE	 JUDGE 

ww•^t**,► +► +► **ww,t*^s+► **w**^^w#w*+► +► ^w:+► ww ► ̂ rr► *rwr+► ^^*^^^*^,^^*^***r,rr****^*^*+ ► **s*w^► w*w+r**+rs*^ 

A copy of this ENTRY was served The Clerk is hereby directed 
upon the vehicle owner or counsel to serve a copy of this Entry on 
this date. the vehicle owner. 

By	 By 

Form 16 Forfcimrc & my 



CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE OF NOTIFICATION 
OF VEHICLE OWNER OR INTERESTED PARTIES 

VEHICLE SUBJECT TO FORFEITURE 
R. C. 4503. 234 

DEFENDANT CASE # 

VEHICLE MAKE YEAR 

VIN# PLATE # 

VEHICLE OWNER 

If defendant is vehicle owner: BMV Form 2255 marked "yes" to 
Yes No to question: "Is vehicle subject to forfeiture 

If non-defendant vehicle owner: FCMC Form 9 Notification to 
Yes No defendant vehicle owner on file dated 

Records have been searched for interested parties, as required 
Yes No by O.R.C. 4503.234 with negative results. Attached is copy of 

certificate of title. 

Interested parties were notified by certified mail or personal 
Yes No	 service that vehicle would be subject to forfeiture if no 

response received within 10 days and that the vehicle would 
either be sold, junked, or kept by law enforcement. Copies of 
the certificate of title and the notice are attached. 

Inquiry has been made of the defendant if he has any knowledq_ 
Yes No of any parties with an interest in the vehicle. 

COMMENTS 
Date 

LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY 

NAME, RANK, BADGE # _ 

******* le iE'^4 **** iF *** ********* k ii it is of ****#*** ieie * iE^F* ****** * iF k-i^** iEr. OF*i ******k 

_ Inquiry has been made of the defendant and defendant's attorn_y 
Yes No whether either has any knowledge of any parties with an interest 

in the vehicle. 
Dat e 

Prosecutor 

Comments 

Form- I &A 



        *

OHIO BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

COURT ISSUED FORFEITURE NOTICE (4503.234 ORC)

ICOURT HEARING DATE: / / COURT CASE NUMBER: VIOLATION DATE: / / I
NAME OF COURT COURT CODE

OWNER NAME LAST FIRST MIDDLE D.O.B. SOC SEC NO.

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY COUNTY CODE

Is the vehicle owner the same as the offender? 0 YES ONO 0 JOINT OWNER If no, complete offender'information.

OFFENDER NAME LAST FIRST MIDDLE D.O.B. SOC SEC NO.

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY COUNTY CODE

LICENSE NUMBER STATE ISSUED EXPIRATION DATE CONVICTED OF
O ORC

SEC. O MUNICIPALITY
OFFENSE CONVICTED OF

MUNI NAME

COURT ISSUED FORFEITURE NOTICE INFORMATION BELOW: (4503.234 ORC)

Has the court ordered criminal forfeiture of the vehicle the offender was operating at the time of the
offense? 0 YES 0 NO

Was the vehicle seized (pre-conviction)? 0 YES 0 NO

Vehicle Information:
PLATE NUMBER PLATE TYPE STATE ISSUED EXP. DATE VEHICLE I.D. NO.

COURT SEAL HERE

Deputy Clerk of Court's Signature X

City of County of

White - BMV
 * 

Green - Law Enforcement
Blue - Court

Yellow - Vehicle Owner
BMV 2269 7/93 OVER Pink - Offender



FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

COLUMBUS, OHIO


State of Ohio. 
City of Columbus, 

V. 

Defendant. : Case No.M TF 

This court finds that the motor vehicle which is subject to an 
immobilization and impoundment order has been sold, assigned or 
otherwise transferred without court approval. Pursuant to 
R. C. 4503.233(D)(5), the court hereby orders that for a period of 
two years from the date of this'order neither the Registrar nor any 
deputy registrar shall accept any application for the registration 
of any vehicle in the name of the following person: 

Name: 

Address: 

City: State Zip 

SS# DL# D.O.B 

Other: 

The Clerk is hereby directed to serve a copy of this Entry on 
the Registrar and the vehicle owner. 

Date JUDGE 

Form 17: Ychick Tranafcr w/o Coosca -Two Year Prohibition 



IN THE FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

COLUMBUS, OHIO


Plaintiff, 

V.	 : Case No. M 

Judge 

Defendant. 

MOTIO 

I the undersigned hereby move the court in this case to delete 

my name as the titled or registered owner of the vehicle used in 

the commission of the offense because I was not the vehicle owner 

on the date of the offense. I waive my appearance on this motion. 

Name 

Address 

AFFIDAVIT 

I hereby swear or affirm that on the date of the offense set 

forth in this case, I was not the registered or titled owner of the 

vehicle used in the commission of the offense. Prior to the date 

of the offense I sold the stated vehicle. 

Date	 Signature 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of 
19 

NOTARY PUBLIC 
&:\96icrnt noury.cl 



IN THE FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

COLUMBUS, OHIO


Plaintiff, 

V. : Case No. M 
: 
• Judge 

Defendant. 

ENTRY 

Upon motion of the alleged owner of the vehicle, that was 

involved in commission of the offense(s) charged, to wit: 

the court finds that this individual was not the 

vehicle owner of the subject vehicle on the date of this offense. 

Therefore, the court directs the assignment commissioner nQt 

tQ send any further notification on this case to this individual. 

Date Judge 

Approved by Prosecutor 
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APPEAL PROCESS FOR
ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE
SUSPENSION (ALS)
The court must hold the administrative license suspension hearing
within five days of arrest. The appeal is heard at this initial appearance
if requested. The scope of appeal is confined to four issues.

1. Was the arrest based on reasonable grounds?
2 Did the officer request the person to take a test?
3. Was the violator made aware of the consequences if

he/she refused or failed the test?
4. Did the person refuse or fail the test?
Note: A court may still issue a suspension even if 1.4 is proven
by defendant if court finds the person is a threat to public safety.

DRMNG UNDER DUI SUSPENSION OR
DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION
WITHOUT INSURANCE
The court is authorized to order vehicle immobilization and
impoundment of the license plates at the time of sentencing for:

Driving under Drivin under
DUI Suspension FRA Suspension

First Offense: 30 days First Offense: 30 Days
Second Offense: 60 days Second Offense: 60 Days
Third Offense: forfeiture Third Offense: forfeiture
Note: For multiple DUI offenders under suspension, the court may also
impound the plates of any other vehicle owned by the offender.

Permitting person with no legal right to drive to
operate

First Offense: 30 Days

VEHICLE FORFEITURE
Permanent loss of vehicle shall be ordered by the court for any of the
following which occurs within five years, except "C":

A) Fourth offense of DUI
B) Third offense or more of Driving Under Suspension (DUS)

for DUI or driving under suspension for financial
responsibility (FRA)

C) Second offense of owner knowingly permitting a person
who is under suspension to drive their vehicle

D) First offense of driving a vehicle that is immobilized and
plates impounded

e
There is a provision for a court review to protect an innocent vehicle
owner from a vehicle forfeiture or immobilization. If forfeiture occurs,
offender cannot register or title any vehicle in his or her name for
five years.

Governor George V. Vovovich • LL Governor Nancy P. Holster • Director Charles D. Shipley

AN EQUAL OPPORTUN Y EMPLOYER
Funded by NHTSA, US DOT

Ohio DaparNbnt of Public Safety
P.O. Box 7167, Cotumbu6. Ohio 43205-0167

Phone 614/466.2550
HSY 7147 (rev.11/66)

toJhm.oNo.gov/odps/

T p.a.i.a move wmeeem -- wr
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IF YOU DRINK AND

DRIVE, YOU ARE

COMMfTTING A


SERIOUS CRIME

WHICH HAS


SWIFT AND SURE

CONSEQUENCES


THAT ARE HARD TO

IGNORE.


In the last ten years. 7.239 people were killed and 
286.768 injured in alcohol-related crashes in Ohio. 

Beginning September 1, 1993, sweeping reforms 
of Ohio's drunk driving laws will go into effect which 
will make it tough for drivers who make the wrong 
decision to drink and get behind the wheel of a 
motor vehicle. 

NEW 
Administrative 

License Suspension 
(ALS) 

If you are stopped for drunk driving and you'efuse to 
fake the sobriety test. or if your test results exceed the 
egal limit of .10 Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC). 
the officer can take your driver s license on the spot, and 
the suspension begins immediately. 

Depending on previous offenses or refusals. you can 
have your license automatically suspended for a period 
of 90 days to five years. 

The administrative suspension is independent of any jail 
term. fine or other criminal penalty imposed in court for a 
DUI offense. 

©'OFFENSE 
• Administrative License Suspension (ALS) for 90 Days 

for. 10% or above BAC 
ALS for test refusal = one year license suspension 

• Jail:	 Minimum of three consecutive days or 3-day

driver intervention program


• Fine: Minimum $200 and not more than $1,000 
• Court License Suspension: 6 months to 3 yrs. 

©' OFFENSE 
• ALS for one year for. 10% or above BAC 
• ALS for test refusal = two year license suspension 
• Jail: Minimum of 10 consecutive days or five days jail 

+ minimum 18 consecutive days of electronically 
monitored house arrest combined, not to exceed 
6 months 

• Fine: Minimum $300 and not more than $1500 
• Discretionary driver's intervention program 
• Vehicle immobilization and plates


impounded for 90 days

• Court License Suspension: 1 yr. to 5 yrs. 

©RD OFFENSE 
• ALS for two years for .10% or above BAC 
• ALS for test refusal = three year license suspension 
• Jail: Minimum 30 consecutive days to one year 
• Alternative sentence: 15 days of jail + minimum 55


consecutive days of electronically monitored

house arrest combined, maximum of one year


• Fine: Minimum $500 and not more than $2500 
• Mandatory attendance in an alcohol treatment


program paid for by offender

• Vehicle Immobilization and plates impounded for


180 days

• Court License Suspension: 1 yr. to 10 yrs. 

OR MORE OFFENSE 
OR MOTOR VEHICLE 
RELATED FELONY 

• ALS for three years for.10% or above BAC 
• ALS for test refusal = five years license suspension 
• Jail:	 Minimum of 60 consecutive days and up to


one year in jail

• Fine: Minimum $750 and not more than $10,000 
• Mandatory drug/alcohol treatment program paid for 

by offender 
• Vehicle Forfeiture:	 Mandatory criminal forfeiture of 

vehicle operated by offender, imposed by court 
• Court License Suspension: 3 yrs. to Permanent Revocation 
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REAL CASE STUDIES:

25-year-old single female with child

• First-time DUI offense

• BAC.197%

• On-the-spot license suspension
for 90 days

AFTER GOING TO COURT:

• Found guilty of DUI

• License suspension of 90 days and
probation for six months

• Mandatory attendance at Mothers Against
Drunk Driving (MADD) impact panel (at
least twice).

• Attorney fees of over $850

• 12 weeks of counseling

• Missed five days of work

• Counseled by employer

LICENSE REINSTATEMENT PROCESS:

• Must pay $250 Administrative License
Suspension reinstatement fee

• Must pay $250 first offense DUI
reinstatement fee

• Must have insurance agent complete BMV
Form 2083 to confirm high-risk insurance
for Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Governor George V. Voinovich

It. Governor Nancy P. Hollister • Director Charles D. Shipley

An Equal Opportunity Employer
Funded By NHTSA, US DOT

Ohio Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 7167 Columbus. Ohio 43205-0167

Phone (614) 466.2550

HSY 7748

Tout won proud: 50.000 tux NO: $033 Pu 5011100 0pu: 1100
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IF YOU ARE ARRESTED FOR 
SUSPECTED IMPAIRED DRIVING, 
UNDER OHIO LAW YOU WILL... 

•­ Be asked to take a sobriety test. If you 
take it and fail, by testing at. 10% blood 
alcohol concentration (BAC) or above, 
you will be charged with DUI under 
Ohio's new laws. 

• Immediately have your. license taken away 
by the arresting law enforcement officer, 
and you are under immediate suspension. 

•­ Lose your driver's license for at least 90 
days and face other penalties when you 
go to court. 

There will be no occupational

driving privileges for at least 15 days!


IF YOU REFUSE TO TAKE A SOBRIETY 
TEST, YOU WILL... 

•­ Automatically lose your license on the 
spot for one full year! Even if you are 
found NOT GUILTY at a later date, under 
Ohio law you still lose your license for 
the full year. 

You also face other court requirements! 

IF FOUND GUILTY BY THE COURT, 
YOU FACE... 

•­ Jail: Minimum of three consecutive days 
or three-day driver intervention program 

•­ Fine: Minimum $200 and not more 
than $1,000 

•­ Court License Suspension: Six months 
to three years 

REAL CASE STUDIES: 

30-year-old male, married with children 

•­ First-time DUI offense 

•­ BAC .171 % 

•­ On-the-spot license suspension 
for 90 days 

AFTER GOING TO COURT... 

•­ Found guilty of DUI 

•­ Fined $500 and court costs, 
with $250 suspended 

•­ 180 days probation and 177 days sus­
pended upon attendance at a three-day 
drug & alcohol intervention program. 

•­ Mandatory attendance at Mothers Against 
Drunk Driving (MADD) impact panel 
(at least twice). 

•­ 12 weeks of counseling 

•­ Attorney fees of over $700 

• Missed two days of work 

LICENSE REINSTATEMENT PROCESS: 

•­ Must pay $250 Administrative License 
Suspension (ALS) reinstatement fee 

•­ Must pay $250 first offense DUI 
reinstatement fee 

•­ Must have insurance agent complete BMV 
Form 2083 to confirm liability insurance 
for The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. 
A conviction may result in higher insurance 
rates for the driver. 

Occupational driving privileges 
may be requested from the court 

but not necessarily granted. 



        *

OHIO BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

REPORT OF PEACE OFFICER
ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE SUSPENSION/NOTICE OF POSSIBLE CDL DISQUALIFICATION

0 IMMOBIUZATION/FORFEITURE
NAME DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER CLASS STATE

I I
CURRENT STREET ADDRESS (AS VERIFIED BY OFFICERI

CITY COUNTY OF RESIDENCE STATE ZIP CODE

DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
MONTH DAY YEAR _

DATE AND TIME OF VIOLATION O AM DATE AND TIME OF 0 REFUSAL /0 TEST D AM COURT CODE COUNTY OF VIOLATION

/ / D PM / / DPM

VIN: YEAR MAKE LICENSE PLATE NO. TYPE PLATE STATE

VEHICLE OWNERS NAME STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

The arresting officer to answer the following: COMPLETE FOR ALL ARRESTS: (circle one)
Reasonable grounds were: YES NO Ucense was seized.

YES NO Was provided a copy of this firm at the
(ADVICE MUST BE SHOWN AND READ TO DRIVER. TEXT IS ON BACK) time of arrest.
I requested the driver to submit to a blood, breath or urine test for alcohol VEHICLE SANCTIONS:
concentration and/or for the presence of any controlled substance. The driver: YES NO Were license plates seized?
Circle one:

YES NO Was the vehicle seized under
YES NO Refused to submit to test(s). 4511.195 (OMVI?
YES NO Submitted to test(s). YES NO Was- the vehicle seized under

% concentration level 4507.38 only (DUS or wrongful
(Circle one) Blood, breath, or urine. entrustment)?

YES NO Was placed under an administrative license suspension (4511.191). YES NO Is vehicle subject to forfeiture?

The advice (4511.191) on the back of this form was read and shown tome In case of a commercial vehicle, the advice (4506.17) on the back of
and I have received a copy of this form.' this form was also read and shown to me.

x x
Signature of Driver (OMVI arrest only) Signature of Driver (Commercial vehicle arrest only)

COMPLETE ONLY IF OFFENDER WAS OPERATING COMMERCIAL VEHICLE

Arresting Officer to check the items that apply: q SAC content of .04 or above with OMVI charge
q O 24-hour out-of-state service orderREAD AND SHOWED ADVICE (4506.17) TO OFFENDER
q REFUSAL q CDL to be disqualified

O CDL seized
ALCOHOL TEST RESULTS • % O Violation of previous 24-hour out-of-service order
O Commercial driver license q Hazardous material
O Commercial vehicle O Operated a motor vehicle under the influence of a
O SAC content of .04 or above without OMVI charge controlled substance

COMPLETE BELOW ONLY ON OMVI ARREST:
We. the undersigned. certify that the advice prescribed by the Legislature (under 4511.191), was shown to the person under arrest and read to him or her in the presence of
the arresting officer and one other police officer or civilian police employee or employee of a first aid station. clinic, or hospital, at a police station, or at a fhospiW, first-aid
station. or clinic to which the person was taken for fast-aid or medical treatment

x OH
SIGNATURE OF ARRESTING OFFICER ENFORCEMENT AGENCY N.C1C. NUMBER
x
SIGNATURE OF WITNESS OFFICER'S BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS

TITLE/POSITION CITY STATE ZIP CODE......................................................................................................................

COMPLETE BELOW ONLY ON OMVI ARREST OR
xARREST INVOLVING COMMERCIAL VEHICLE

AFFIDAVIT OF ARRESTING OFFICER: ARRESTING OFFICER'S SIGNATURE

STATE OF OHIO, COUNTY OF
I certify the following: I had reasonable grounds to stop or detain the Sworn to before me this day of 19-.
person listed above. After Investigation. I arrested the person, having
had reasonable grounds to believe the person was operating a vehicle
upon a highway or upon public or private property used by the public for NOTARY PUSUC'S SIGNATURE
vehicular travel or parking in the State of Ohio under the Influence of
alcohol and/or drugs of abuse, or with a prohibited concentration of
alcohol In the blood, breath or urine. I advised the person in the DEPUTY CLERK OF COURTS SIGNATURE
prescribed manner of the consequences of a refusal or a test The
person either refused the test, or took the tot and had a prohibited City of
concentration of alcohol In the blood, breath or urine (dl as described * 

above). In the case of a commercial vehicle (if applicable) I had WMN/OrlpnW - Bert/ Yellow - court
reasonable ground to believe. after investigation, that the person was Green - Law Erdwewnwut Pink - Driver
driving a commercial motor vehicle in the State of Ohio in violation of
section 4508.15 of the Ohio Revised Code. The information contained Copy to be mailed to HMV on refusal, .10% test and commercial vehicle arrest.
on this form is true to the best of my knowledge and belief.



TEST AND REFUSAL CONSEQUENCES (MUST BE READ TO OMVI OFFENDER) 
4511.191 
"You now are under arrest for operating a vehicle while under the Influence of alcohol, a drug of abuse, or both alcohol and a drug of 
abuse and will be requested by a police officer to submit to a chemical test to determine the concentration of alcohol, drugs of abuse, or 
alcohol and drugs of abuse In your blood, breath, or urine. 

"if you refuse to submit to the requested test, or If you submit to the requested lest and are found to have a prohibited concentration of 
alcohol in your blood, breath, or urine, your driver's or commercial driver's license or permit or nonresident operating privilege 
Immediately will be suspended for the period of time specified by law by the officer, on behalf of the Registrar of Motor Vehicles. You 
may appeal this suspension at your Initial appearance before the court that hears the charges against you resulting from the arrest, and 
your initial appearance will be conducted no later than five days after the arrest. This suspension is independent of the penalties for the 
offense, and you may be subject to other penalties upon conviction. 

"You may make an appeal of this suspension In court at the time of your Initial appearance. Even though you may appeal this 
suspension, your driving privileges will be suspended." 

4506.17 (MUST BE READ TO OFFENDER DRIVING A COMMERCIAL VEHICLE IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE) 
"You have been stopped or detained based on reasonable ground of driving a commercial motor vehicle In violation of section 4506.15 
of the Ohio Revised Code. It will be requested that you submit to a test or tests of your blood, breath, or urine for the purpose of 
determining alcohol concentration or the presence of any controlled substance. If you refuse to submit to the test or tests, you will 
immediately be placed out-of-service for twenty-four hours, and you will be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a 
period of not less than one year, and you will be required to surrender your commercial driver's license." 
(Signature of driver on front of form) 
............................................................................................................. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION FOR OFFENDER 
IMMOBILIZATION OR FORFEITURE UPON OMVI ARREST. 4511.195. If you have previously been convicted of operating a motor vehicle under 
the influence, OMV1, 4511.19, or similar municipal ordinance, the vehicle and its identification license plates will be seized. The vehicle will be towed and 
kept by the law enforcement agency or will be immobilized. The period of time for which the vehicle and license plates will be kept or immobilized will be at 
least until the initial appearance in court At the initial appearance the court may order that the vehicle and license plates be returned or released to the 
vehicle owner until the disposition of the charge. If you are convicted of or plead guilty to OMVI, the court may issue an order of immobilization of the 
vehicle and the impoundment of its license plates, or an order for the criminal forfeiture of the vehicle to the state. If you are not the vehicle owner you must 
Immediately inform the owner that the vehicle and its license plates have been seized and that the owner may be able to obtain the return or release at the 
Initial appearance In court 

OFFENDERS ARRESTED FOR DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION OR WRONGFUL ENTRUSTMENT. 4507.38. if you are charged for driving under an 
FRA suspension, 4507.02(B)(1) or driving under an OMVI suspension, 4507.02(D)(2), or wrongful entrustment, 4507.33, the vehicle and identification plates 
will be seized, and the vehicle will either be towed and kept by the law enforcement agency or will be immobilized. The period of seizure or immobilization 
will be at least until your initial appearance in court. At the initial appearance the court may order the vehicle returned to you or released to the vehicle 
owner. If you are convicted, the court may Issue an order of immobilization of the vehicle and impoundment of its license plates. Upon a second conviction 
of wrongful entrustment 4507.33, or a third conviction of driving under an FRA suspension or an OMVI suspension 4507.02, or a municipal ordinance 
similar to one of the above, the court, upon your conviction, may order the forfeiture of the vehicle. If you are not the vehicle owner, you should immediately 
inform the owner that the vehicle and the license plates have been seized and that the owner may be able to obtain return or release of the vehicle and 
plates at your Initial appearance in court 

If you have a COMMERCIAL DRIVER license and you were OPERATING A COMMERCIAL VEHICLE: 

A. You may request an Administrative Hearing for your DISQUALIFICATION by: 

1. Preparing a WRITTEN request 

2. Submit the request by REGISTERED or CERTIFIED MAIL within 30 days of your refusal or test date (see reverse side). 

3. Mail to. 

OHIO BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Attention: Drivers CDL 

P.O. Box 16784 
Columbus, Ohio 43266-0084 

B. You may make an appeal of this SUSPENSION in court at the time of your initial appearance. Even though you may appeal this suspension, your 

driving privileges will still be suspended. 

NOTICE OF SUSPENSION (4511.191) 
Independent of any penalties or sanctions imposed upon you pursuant to any other section of the Revised Code or any other municipal ordinance, your 
driver's or commercial driver's license or permit or nonresident operating privilege Is now suspended. The suspension takes effect immediately. The 
suspension will last at least until your initial appearance on the charge that will be held within five days after the date of this arrest or the issuance of a 
citation to you. You may appeal the suspension at the initial appearance. 

LENGTH OF SUSPENSION (depending on prior Instances within 5 years) 

FOR REFUSAL FOR PROHIBITED CONCENTRATION OF ALCOHOL 
No prior refusals 1 year No prior convictions 90 days 
One prior refusal 2 years One prior conviction 1 year 
Two prior refusals 
Three or more prior refusals 

3 years 
5 years 

Two prior convictions 
Three prior convictions 

2 years 
3 years 
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DON'T JOIN "THE CLUB"

IF YOU ARE CONVICTED OF:

DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED LICENSE
OR

DRIVING WHILE IMPAIRED
TWO OR MORE TIMES WITHIN 5 YEARS

THE CAR YOU WERE DRIVING

WILL BE IMMOBILIZED FOR BETWEEN
30 AND 180 DAYS

THE BEST WAY TO AVOID LOSING YOUR VEHICLE:

DON'T DRIVE WITH A SUSPENDED LICENSE.
DON'T DRINK AND DRIVE.

 * 



DON'T JOIN "THE CLUB!"


If you have already lost your driver's license, 
don't take the chance of losing the use of your 
vehicle, too. 

The State of Ohio has a new law: 

If you are convicted of driving while your license 
is suspended for: 

•	 Operating a motor vehicle while impaired, 
or 

•	 Operating a motor vehicle without 
mandatory insurance 

The car you were driving will be immobilized 
using a "club" or "boot" device. 

The immobilization period will be: 

•	 30 days for a first offense driving on a 
suspended license 

•	 60 days for a second offense driving on a 
suspended license 

ALSO... 

If you are convicted of driving while impaired 
again any time in the next five years, your car 
will be immobilized. 

The immobilization period will be: 

90 days for a second offense within five 
years for impaired driving 

180 days for a third offense within five 
years for impaired driving 

If you get a third offense for driving with a 
suspended license or a fourth offense for driving 
while impaired, you won't need to worry about 
your car being immobilized... 

YOUR VEHICLE WILL BE IMMEDIATELY 
CONFISCATED. 

If you try to avoid these penalties by borrowing a 
car from a friend or relative ... 

THE SAME PENALTY WILL BE APPLIED 
TO THEIR CAR. 

The best way to avoid losing your vehicle: 

Don't drive while your license is 
suspended. 

Don't drink and drive. 
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