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Zero-Tolerance Laws To Reduce
Alcohol-Impaired Driving By Youth

Key Facts
More than 32 percent of all deaths of 15
through 20 year olds result from motor
vehicle crashes. In 1995, 35.5 percent of
the 6,220 traffic fatalities of 15 through 20
year olds were alcohol-related. The
percentage translates to 2,206 traffic
fatalities in this age group that were
alcohol-related last year.

In 1995, 20 percent of 15 to 20 year old
drivers involved in fatal crashes had some
alcohol in their blood. The alcohol
involvement rate for young drivers, based
on the total licensed driver population, is
about twice that of the over 21 age driver.

NHTSA estimates that 851 lives were saved
in 1995 by minimum drinking age laws.
Since l975, it is estimated that almost
15,667 lives have been saved by these laws.
However, young people are still greatly
over-represented in alcohol-related crashes
and fatalities.

Contents
Key Facts

States With Special Laws For Youth

How The Laws Work

Benefits

Section 410 of the Highway Safety Act

National Highway Systems Designation
Act of 1995

Information Sources

The U.S. Department of Transporta-
tion’s National Highway Traffic

Safety Administration (NHTSA)
encourages States to enact zero
tolerance laws designed to reduce
drinking and driving among younger
drivers. Such laws should:

establish that any measurable
amount (a maximum of 0.02) of
alcohol in the blood, breath, or
urine of a driver under age 21
would be an “illegal per se” offense;
and,

provide for immediate driver
license suspension periods for
those under age 21 who exceed the
applicable blood alcohol concen-
tration (BAC) limit.

All 50 States and the District of
Columbia now have laws that prohibit
the purchase and public possession of
alcoholic beverages by those under the
age of 21. Therefore, it would seem
reasonable to expect drivers under the
age of 21 to have no alcohol in their
systems, and the appropriate BAC for
these drivers would be zero. However,
for enforcement purposes, some States
have enacted laws that establish a BAC
level of 0.02, at which it is illegal for
those under the age of 21 to operate a
motor vehicle. NHTSA supports those
laws.

Younger drivers place a high value on
their drivers' licenses, and the threat of
license revocation has proved to be an
especially effective sanction for this
age group.



Key Facts (continued)

Driver license revocation or suspension has
proven to be an effective deterrent in reducing
crashes and the reoccurrence of alcohol-related
driver offenses in the general population. Some
State licensing officials believe sanctions have an
even greater effect on younger drivers, since
they value their drivers' licenses so highly.

States with Special Laws for Youth
Thirty-seven States and the District of Columbia
have set the BAC limit at .02 or lower for drivers
under age 21: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas,
California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of
Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa,
Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts,
Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana,
Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New
Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma,
Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee,
Utah, Virginia, Washington, and West Virginia. To
correspond to age 21 alcohol purchase laws, NHTSA
supports the use of age 21 as an appropriate
threshold for lower BAC limits and longer
suspension periods.

How The Laws Work
Typically, zero tolerance laws provide that any
amount of alcohol in the body of a driver under age
21 (generally measured as 0.02 percent BAC or
greater) is an offense for which the driver’s license
may be suspended for a period of time. These laws

should allow a police officer to require a
breath test from any driver under the age of
21, if the officer has probable cause to believe
that the individual has been drinking (and
should not require that the officer have
probable cause to suspect actual impairment).
Refusal to take such a test should result in
license suspension under implied consent or
administrative license revocation (ALR) laws.

Benefits
Several studies show conclusively that zero
tolerance laws save lives. For example:

Maryland's zero tolerance law produced an
11 percent decrease in drinking drivers
under age 21 involved in crashes.

In a study of four other States, fatal crashes
at night involving young drivers dropped by
eight percent more than comparison States
after zero tolerance laws were adopted.

A recent study compared fatal crashes in 12
states that enacted zero tolerance laws for
some young drivers to crashes in 12 nearby
states without these laws. In the 12 zero
tolerance States, single vehicle nighttime
fatal crashes involving young drivers
dropped 16 percent, while in the
comparison states they rose one percent.

Making any amount of alcohol in the body of
an underage person an offense can make the

States with Lower BAC Levels for Youthful DWI Offenders
September 1996

Drivers under age 21:
.00 BAC (AZ, DC, IL, ME, MN, NC, OK, OR, UT)
.01 BAC (CA, NJ)
.02 BAC (AL. AK, AR, CT, DE, FL, IA, ID, IN, KS,
KY, MA, MD, MI, MO, MT, NE, NH, NM, NY,
OH, PA, RI, TN, VA, WA, WV)

The criteria for state laws to qualify under
the National Highway Systems Designation
Act of 1995 are listed on the following page.
Some states with lower BAC levels for
youthful DWI offenders must amend their
laws if they are to meet the federal criteria.

.00 BAC (WI for drivers under age 18)

.02 BAC (VT for drivers under age 18)

.04 BAC ( GA, LA for drivers under age18)

.07 BAC (TX for drivers under 21)

.08 BAC (MS for drivers under 21)



These reports and additional information are available through your State Office of Highway Safety,
the NHTSA Regional Office serving your state, or from NHTSA Headquarters, Traffic Safety Programs,
NTS-21, 400 Seventh Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20590, 202-366-9588.

A self-sustaining drunk driving prevention
program;

A program to prevent drivers under age 21 from
obtaining alcoholic beverages;

A mandatory sentence of 48 consecutive hours
in jail or not less than 10 days of community
service for any person convicted of DWI more
than once in any five year period; and

A law that deems a "0.02 BAC (or less)" to be
driving while intoxicated for drivers under 21
years of age.

To comply with the 0.02 BAC criterion, the State
law must:

Apply to all persons under the age of 21;

Set 0.02 percent BAC or less as the legal limit;

Establish 0.02 as a "per se" offense (without
having to prove intoxication);

Provide for primany enforcement; and

Provide for a mandatory "hard" driver's license
suspension or revocation for any violation of
the State "0.02 BAC" law of not less than 30
days.

Information Sources
A number of national organizations and reports have
supported legislation of this type. The organizations
and reports are as follows:

Lower BAC Limits For Youth: Evaluation of the
Maryland .02 Law.  NHTSA Report Number DOT HS
807 860, March 1992.  (Technical Summary. DOT
HS 807 859, March 1992.)

“Reduced BAC Limits for Young People (Impact on
Night Fatal Crashes)”, Alcohol, Drugs, and Driving,
R. Hingson, et al., Vol. 7 No. 2, pp 117-127.

"Lower Legal Blood Alcohol Limits for Young/Drivers". R.
Hingson, et. al. Public Health Reports, January 1994.

"NHTSALINE - Zero Tolerance", 11-minute video
produced by USAA.

Benefits  (continued)

enforcement effort easier. If the officer has any
reason to suspect that the individual has been
drinking, he or she can demand a breath test and
take action to arrest the underage driver. Passive
sensors, which can detect low BACs, permit the
police to identify individuals with small amounts of
alcohol in their bodies. This has the potential to
reduce enforcement and adjudication time and
expense, particularly if handled in an administrative
process.

National Highway Systems Designation
Act of 1995
States that do not consider a 0.02 BAC (or less) to
be driving while intoxicated, for drivers under age
21, will be subject to the withholding of Federal-Aid
Highway Funds beginning in fiscal year 1999. To
comply with the Federal law, State laws must:

Apply to all persons under the age of 21;

Set 0.02 percent BAC or less as the legal limit;

Establish 0.02 as a "per se" offense (without
having to prove intoxication);

Provide for primany enforcement; and

Provide that license suspensions or revocations
are authorized as sanctions for any violation of
the State zero tolerance law.

Section 410 of the Highway Safety Act
States that consider a 0.02 BAC (or less) to be driving
while intoxicated, for drivers under age 21, may be
eligible for Section 410 drunk driving incentive grant
funds. To qualify for a basic incentive grant under Section
410, a State must comply with at least five out out seven
criteria. The criteria include:

An expedited system for suspending the license
of drunk drivers;

A law that deems a 0.10 blood alcohol concen-
tration to be driving while intoxicated (after three
years, it must drop to 0.08);

A statewide program for stopping motor vehicles;


